We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9704 Beaver Dam Road, Lutherville Timonium, MD 21093   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

first I must say that the staff was friendly and efficient. All downhill from there. Two rough looking residents hanging around front entrance. Lobby worn and dated and felt weird. Desk closes at 11pm. Hallways narrow and dark. Whole place smells old. Room spacious but worn out and dirty. Stains on furniture, sheets yellowed and did not seem fresh. Pullout sofa mattress was crunchy and slanted. First floor window lock was broken, but a maintenance man did come right away to fix it. Doors and walls thin, you can hear everything. A woman in a nearby room was screaming on the phone about the drug dealers and alcoholics who were living there and the poor condition of her room. Seems like a low rent place for weekly renters. We were looking for a hotel room for three nights. Nothing nice about the place except the desk clerks. She did not seem surprised when we told her we would not be staying and canceled the reservation without a charge or a problem. we did not feel safe or clean there.

Room Tip: There are not any good rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally apologize for your experience. Our company prides itself on excellent guest service, so it was gratifying to read your feedback about our staff. I would like to give you my most heartfelt apology regarding the part of your stay that was not satisfactory.

Please know that we have strict quality control standards that are meant to prevent a situation like yours from occurring. Specifically, standard operating policy is that linens are always replaced with fresh, clean new bedding before a guest checks in. In addition, all rooms are inspected prior to being made available to the public. That having been said, I recognize the issue you have brought to my attention and discussed it with hotel staff and management.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    5
    8
    16
See reviews for
10
2
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

This room is so dirty I can't barely stand to be the room. This room hasn't been cleaned thoroughly in years greasy dust, blood on bathroom walls, ants crawling the room, smells like an ashtray, stains on the floor, furniture has food stains. I had low expectations given its an Extended Stay has limited service but basic cleaning should be priority focus of management. I am calling the front desk to see if I can get out of my room now.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Tony,

I recently received a copy of your review of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We have strict quality control standards that are meant to prevent a situation like yours from occurring. Standard cleaning procedures include a thorough cleaning and disinfecting of kitchens and bathrooms. Additionally, prior to making any room available, we inspect it to ensure that our normal procedures have been followed. Given the account you described, there was clearly an unacceptable breakdown in our regular operations, so I have met with my staff to determine a system for preventing a repeat occurrence.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lutherville Timonium hotels

Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I was not impressed but I didnt expect the world for this class of hotel. I expected old, but everyone can clean! I do not like seeing the previous persons hair around the room and dirty dishes in the cabinet. The Manager is a rude grumpy old man. Avoid this location and pay a few dollars more or stay at the Red Roof Inn down the street that has been updated on the inside.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Extended Stay America Baltimore - Timonium. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

I am grateful for the opportunity to respond to your concern. I have spoken with my staff and reviewed the importance of being professional and polite with each and every guest, no matter how busy we may be. In addition we apologize for the quality of your room upon check-in. Your experience is not our norm.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This is a very uncomfortable place to stay. When we checked in we went straight to our room only to be greeted with A LOT of stink bugs. I do not recommend storing groceries in their filthy, infested kitchen. There's barely a closet area and the bathrooms look like they have not been cleaned in ages. There was hair everywhere. For example: our dish drainer, our bathroom, our EVERYTHING. Our room smelled of stale cigarettes and old milk. Their walls are so thin you can hear everything that's going on! I would not be surprised if this place had bed bugs, which by the way you can take home with you if they are present. The shower curtain, which probably hasn't been washed in over ten years, hugs and sticks to you while you try to shower. I also very strongly recommend you bring your own plates, cups and other utensils. The bed is as comfortable as sleeping on a slab or rock. And the TV was 27 inches of nothingness. The staff was awkwardly friendly and highly unhelpful. I am very dissatisfied! I sent the following to corporate about the stink bug infestation:

"To whom it may concern,
My fiance and I have booked a room here at 9407 Beaver Dam Rd. for a week. As soon as we checked in and came up to our room we noticed at least five or six stink bugs around the window. We killed the ones we saw thinking those would be the only ones. The problem is, it's going on our second night in this room and we have already killed more than a dozen. I have talked to few of the other guests and they seem to have the same problem. My fiance decided to call the front desk and complain about this infestation. The man at the front desk told her he wasn't aware of an infestation though he has seen a few himself. He also said it's a problem all of Maryland is dealing with at the moment. We have been staying in the Baltimore area for a month now and have not seen this problem anywhere else. My other problem is we are staying here for another month or so and would like to have a fully stocked kitchen with groceries, but are concerned about the infestation. This is not a good way to start our long term stay. If something is not done soon I will make sure to write a very detailed review about the situation on every hotel site I can. This is the worst experience I have ever had at any hotel I have stayed at. I hope you do not have any kind of inspection coming up soon regarding this hotel's cleanliness because I'm not sure this hotel could pass such an inspection. Thank you for your time."

THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT THIS HOTEL is it's location and price! But I would rather pay an extra $20-30 dollars a night than stay in this very gross hotel another night.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Dirty carpets, cigarette burned bedding, minimal cookware and dish inventory . . . if this is what you're looking for you've found home. Maid service is worse than pitiful -- I can write in the dust that has accumulated on every flat surface in the room. Laundry room is constanly dirty and the TV only gets 8-9 stations, none of which you would want to watch. Not as good as other Extended Atay America locations, which is too bad since this could be an alright hotel with just a little effort.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

After finding most hotels booked in the area where I wanted to stay, I decided to book this location as I have stayed a few times with this chain and had great experiences. This one was no different. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, my room was clean and comfortable. I particularly liked the electronically controlled A/C & heating unit, which allowed me to set a temperature and forget about it the rest of my stay. I did not use their internet service, but it is available for a nominal charge. This hotel was about $20-30 a night less expensive than the other ones I looked at, and the room was a great value for the price.

I have seen terrible reviews of this hotel - don't believe them. If the place had problems before, they are solved now.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach VA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

My stay was arranged by the company I worked for. I had previously stayed at an Extended Stay in Atlanta (business, again) and was not impressed, so my expectations were already quite low. I arrived on a Monday, and was told that my room would not be serviced until Friday. Upon opening the door to the room, I noticed the bathroom fan was on ( a clue) and that the room was very dark. The bedspread had three burn holes in it, there were two flat pillows on the queen sized bed.
There is an apt sized fridge, and stove with a sink in the "kitchenette". There are exactly 3 or everything, glasses, cutlery, etc. and a few pots. There are two ice cube trays in the freezer..
Being on the first floor was the reason the curtains were drawn. When I opened them, the windows were so filthy it looked as though it had been hit with a tornado. The chair with ottoman was nice, but the upholstery stains turned me off. I was able to exchange my towels at the front desk for fresh ones( which I did) . When "cleaning" day arrived I was quite excited to have the place "spiffed". When I returned that evening, I was disappointed there were dirty dishes left in the sink. I check with the "manual" and it cleary states that they do not wash dishes. That is fine, I asked one of the housekeepers the next day if I could use her dishwashing liquid, and she said she had none. So, that leads me to believe that they do not wash the dishes between patrons...What do you think? The sheets were changed, bathroom cleaned and stocked with fresh towels, but the room had not be dusted or vacuumed, nor the mirrors cleaned. Although the staff at the hotel were friendly, they were limited. The internet (which you pay for) was intermittent due to the weather (?), and you call India for service.

Of course, a place like that invites the type of clientele you normally would not want staying in a room next to you. It took me one day to discover why the bathroom fan was on. The patron in the next room was smoking and the smoke would come through my vent. Also, there was always activity in the halls way past the time most of us call it a night.

Try to avoid the EX Stays if you can. My review will be followed by a note sent to the corporate offices in SC. PS There is a Holiday Inn Express across the street, as well as a Crown Plaza around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium

Address: 9704 Beaver Dam Road, Lutherville Timonium, MD 21093
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Lutherville Timonium
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Lutherville Timonium
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Lutherville Timonium
Lutherville Timonium Extended Stay
Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium Lutherville Timonium, MD, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Baltimore - Timonium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.