We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a dumpy strip mall.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Christopher Daniel Restaurant

Christopher Daniel Restaurant
106 W Padonia Rd, Lutherville, MD 21093-2106
410-308-1800
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Christopher Daniel Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 36 restaurants in Lutherville
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Broad Ave.
Transit: Lite rail located on Timonium Rd., approximately 2 blocks from the restaurant
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food in a dumpy strip mall.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

If it's location, location, location Christopher Daniel doesn't have it. The food was nice, good wine, but strip mall ambiance just kills it.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    8
    9
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over priced steak, food was not special in anyway..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Over priced steak, food was not special in anyway... could have gone to Outback for less and has a bloomen Onion

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great food, spotty service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our party of five dined here on July 6th. The food was very good, especially the soft shell crabs (two very large ones per serving) and the crab cakes. Two appetizers were brought out first but no other dishes arrived. As the appetizers sat, getting cold while we waited for others to be served, I had to flag down our waitress. She said since these two patrons were the only ones to order three courses, the salads and other appetizers were waiting for the first two to finish! It would have been nice to know her plan up front. I sensed a bit of an attitude at her having to explain this - as if it was our fault for the miscommunication. Other than having to get help finding our waitress another time, the experience was nice. All our main dishes were very good. Reservations are recommended. Pricey but worth it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Don't let the location fool you! The food was delicious and we had a great experience at Christopher Daniels. We were a little skeptical when we first walked because of thw atmosphete but I would highly recommend it based on the food! The Greek flat bread was delicious!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockeysville, Maryland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Wine Tasting at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

This is my sixth wine tasting, hosted by Christopher Daniel and Cranbrook Liquors. Christopher Daniel puts together a 5 or 6 course menu built around wines by a selected winery. This last event was excellent - Elyse Winery was the featured company, and their wines were superb. The first course was pan-seared filet of sole, followed by black pepper encrusted Tuna, then Roasted Leg of Lamb, and finally a Venison Stew, Dessert was warm chocolate cake with white chocolate mousse. It's so interesting to sip the wines before the food arrives, then compare how it tastes with the food selection. And you get to try such a variety of wines, and unusual food pairings. The Lamb was my favorite this time. The only negative was the Hors D'Oevres - I was not a big fan of the deep-fried taquito-like things. Another (small) negative was some of the wait staff was not as helpful as could be, but it was made up by one young man who couldn't do enough for us, even bringing us coffee (which was not part of the service) to make us happy!

What a great way to try a selection of wines, have a creative meal prepared by a great restaurant, and enjoy your friends while meeting new ones... And everyone gets really friendly as the evening wears on - could it be the wine?

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christopher Daniel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Christopher Daniel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christopher Daniel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.