We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hike, enjoy the beach and look for fossilized sharks teeth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Calvert Cliffs State Park

Calvert Cliffs State Park
9500 H.G. Trueman Parkway, Lusby, MD 20657
301-743-7613
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Attractions in Lusby
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hike, enjoy the beach and look for fossilized sharks teeth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

There are a variety of hiking trails in the park. The one from the parking lot to the beach area is about 2 miles long and passes through woods, a marsh, and past a freshwater pond where you can see the evidence of beaver activity. It's important to note that you do not park close to the beach so be sure to have bug spray, water, etc. for the hike. The beach itself is next to the cliffs and offers some great views of the cliffs, the Chesapeake Bay, a distant island and unfortunately Dominion's LNG plant offshore. It's fun to look for the fossilized sharks teeth although they can be a bit hard to find.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
orange
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Educational, relaxing and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

There is a lot of wisdom in all the reviews written here. It's a great place to spend an afternoon if you prepare your journey. 1. Educate yourself on what shark's teeth look like. 2. Prepare your 2 mile trek with bug spray and good walking shoes. 3. Bring your camera and a towel. 4. Wear you bathing suit. 5.Bring a bucket and an old sieve or colander. 6 You want to go during the week...weekends are too crowded...period. 7. Watch the tides...you want to go during low tide in the bay. 8. September/October on sunny days are great....bring sun screen and a hat if you burn. 9. The beach is surprisingly smail and the cliffs, while in view, have never been open for picking...too dangerous. 10. You will find rocks with imprints of shells in them and I have found scallop shells the size of your extended hand. 11. Pack a lunch and a couple of bottles of water.
I've been there a couple of times (weekdays) and there have been very few people. I have never found a shark's tooth but that is only because I am a bad picker. Everyone around me found at least a couple. All the prehistoric artifacts are buried in the cliffs and the tides wash them into the bay and they up on the beach so there always will be fossils to be found. It's just a matter of timing. If you follow this advice, you will have a fantastic time. Oh! If the Discovery Channel airs "Shark Week," people flock to the cliffs so don't go then. Enjoy!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A ton of fossils IF you know what to look for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

It's a good idea to go to the Calvert Marine Museum before going to Calvert Cliffs. I went in the past and didn't see fossils. When I went to the museum, I found out what to look for and where to look and found a lot.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice walk, good view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

An easy "hike" to the beach below the cliffs. The possibility of finding some fossilized sharks teeth is always a fun draw. $5.00 admission to the park.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Easy hike to beautiful views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

A wonderful hike through the woods, past a beaver dam to the cliffs! You cannot go on or below the cliffs, but it is a worthwhile view all the same and an easy hike on the red trail. Don't bother going back a different trail though - nothing exciting to see along the way and not challenging either. We were there in April, midweek, so no parking fees, and no crowds - only saw 2 other people which was nice because there are so many birds you can see and hear along the way. I must admit, it was also nice to have a porta-pottie near the end - not pretty, but helpful!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Calvert Cliffs State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calvert Cliffs State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.