We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Town Hill Bed and Breakfast

Town Hill Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Town Hill Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Town Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
31101 National Pike, Little Orleans, MD 21766   |  
Hotel amenities
Orinda, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is excellent B&B was a wonderful stay after a long day on the C&O trail, but really is also recommended for those with motors traveling the famous National road. The man and wife team were so friendly - Doug picked us up from Bill's place ( the only place for dinner - they laughed incredulously when I asked for a Chardonnay - but the hamburger and Heineken were great). The rooms are on the small side but lots of thought went into furnishing them to be comfortable and they were very clean. The breakfast was simply astounding - regional dishes such as Alabama pie, baked oatmeal, French toast, ham, eggs, juice, fruit and good coffee (for this area of the country). The even out out a desert before bed with tea. Bill drive us back to the trail, descending from their incredible tri-state view on the mountain ridge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We rode the C & O and GAP bike trains and were fortunate enough to have booked Town Hill well in advance. It's everything the reviews indicated....and more! Dave and Donna are just the ideal people for a bed and breakfast...an excellent team. The breakfast alone was worth the stay but the view from the property and the ambiance is outstanding. Dave picked us up with our bikes promptly. It's a small extra charge but if you're biking the trails don't even think about biking to their property...it's a much prettier ride in a vehicle than it would be navigating the hills and the traffic. Actually, this is as much a destination b & b as it is a convenient one night stop.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked to be quite comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were riding the GAP & C&O trails in the rain and mud, Jodi came to pick us up and was an exceptional hostess from the start. She was so accommodating to our needs and to those of our bikes. The facility was so beautiful and decorated according to the era of this stately bed and breakfast. It is home away from home. The breakfast More than lived up to its name of the best breakfast on the trail. There were three of us and there was enough food for 4 or 5. The quantity was good but the flavor was tremendous. I can not say enough good things about this place. We will definitely come back to enjoy the outstanding service and beautiful aura this place offers.

Room Tip: Any rood you choose is decorated beautifully. You can't loose in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rawlings, mc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have to say my stay could not have been better anywhere else. The hosts, Donna and Dave were the greatests. I had a great peaceful time and that food....Alabama Tomatoe Pie...was the best...I will go back again, again, again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

An old, dear friend and I get together every spring, to just have a "girls getaway" and this time we got it RIGHT - partly by staying at Dave & Donna's B & B. The location is beautiful, yet really easy to get to (right off interstate). I came from outside of Philly, & it was a pretty easy commute. Beautiful old farm house, decorated & appointed thoughtfully, but very clean, very open. You could be as comfortable driving around, seeing the sights (or small towns, as we did) or just taking a walk in the State park, and then curling up to read the rest of the day. Hosts could not have been any more gracious, and the topper? Oh.....just wait til you have breakfast!! Cannot be beat! Thank you again, Dave & Donna. I will (if I have anything to do with it) be back!!

Room Tip: Variety of rooms - talk to the owner as to what you want specifically.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Location, location, location! Beautiful countryside and breathtaking views are the highlight of this B&B, followed ever so closely by the hospitality (and breakfast) of the owners and staff. Most rooms have their own baths, and the owners were able to assign hallway baths to those in our group without baths in our rooms. Definitely need to call for transportation from the C&O Canal Towpath if biking (it's beautiful, but quite a trip). Be sure to stop at "Bill's Place" and hang a dollar with your personal/group name for their ceiling!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The breakfast was incredible ...... The rooms very comfortable and clean... The hosts were very welcoming... We thoroughly enjoyed meeting other travelers in the comfortable family style room with a fireplace! We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Town Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 31101 National Pike, Little Orleans, MD 21766
Location: United States > Maryland > Little Orleans
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Orleans
Number of rooms: 20

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Hill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.