We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Town Hill Bed and Breakfast

Town Hill Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Town Hill Bed and Breakfast
31101 National Pike, Little Orleans, MD 21766   |  
Hotel amenities
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

An old, dear friend and I get together every spring, to just have a "girls getaway" and this time we got it RIGHT - partly by staying at Dave & Donna's B & B. The location is beautiful, yet really easy to get to (right off interstate). I came from outside of Philly, & it was a pretty easy commute. Beautiful old farm house, decorated & appointed thoughtfully, but very clean, very open. You could be as comfortable driving around, seeing the sights (or small towns, as we did) or just taking a walk in the State park, and then curling up to read the rest of the day. Hosts could not have been any more gracious, and the topper? Oh.....just wait til you have breakfast!! Cannot be beat! Thank you again, Dave & Donna. I will (if I have anything to do with it) be back!!

Room Tip: Variety of rooms - talk to the owner as to what you want specifically.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Location, location, location! Beautiful countryside and breathtaking views are the highlight of this B&B, followed ever so closely by the hospitality (and breakfast) of the owners and staff. Most rooms have their own baths, and the owners were able to assign hallway baths to those in our group without baths in our rooms. Definitely need to call for transportation from the C&O Canal Towpath if biking (it's beautiful, but quite a trip). Be sure to stop at "Bill's Place" and hang a dollar with your personal/group name for their ceiling!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The breakfast was incredible ...... The rooms very comfortable and clean... The hosts were very welcoming... We thoroughly enjoyed meeting other travelers in the comfortable family style room with a fireplace! We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Three bros in law biked 60 miles, 1 of the 3 started 18 miles before, so 78 miles for him. Got in late to Bills Place, had some grub and w picked up by Dave and shuttled to the Inn, very beautiful place, hot shower, soft bed, great breakfast and met some very nice people along the way (Dave and Donna - the proprietors and Hugh and Justine, fellow riders 69 & 65). We will be back some day. Finished up 40 miles the next day in Williamsport, MD. Awesome Ride!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

This is one other most pleasant B and B experiences you will ever have. Immaculate, attractive, beautiful rooms, scenic, great location if you want "mountain country". Dave and Donna are great hosts and fantastic cooks ... Unique breakfasts to die for!!! Biking(C & O Canal Trail), canoeing, hiking, quaint towns, antique shopping, Falling Waters, Historic Cumberland, etc. etc . Something for everyone. Right off major highway but up on a hill away from the road.

Regular visitors since 1999 .. And will continue!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Kensington, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had styed there before Dave and Donna took over and thought we would not return. . Now, with Dave and Donna taking care of the place, we enjoyed our stay immensely. The rooms are comfortable. Breakfast is excellent. The B and B is closed to the shooting range of Greenridge State Forest. It was a lovely, relaxing weekend. You can venture out or just sit in the sunroom and read. We will keep returning for our get away and R and R and delicious breakfast. Dave and Donna were great hosts.

Room Tip: If you are a handicapped traveler, room #1 is the closest to the sunroom. I chosed it so that I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The inn is a very nice building on top of the mountain with fabulous views from the overlook across the street. Unfortunately it's about 7 miles uphill from the bike trail. They do have someone that will drive down to the trail with a trailer to bring you and the bike up (for a fee), but in the process they came very close to damaging my bike, so I rode it down to the trail in the morning. As for the accommodations, I think it depends on what you're looking for. The bed was comfortable, the rooms pretty, but the walls are paper thin. I heard every word said within 20-30 feet of my room. The bathroom fixtures are vintage 1950-something I believe. Complete with the rust and corrosion on faucets and surfaces and the heavy smell of iron in the water. I had a room with a tub but no shower. They had a hand held shower attached to the faucet, but no shower curtain and when you turned on the water the hose blew off the faucet anyway. No clock in the room - bring your own alarm if you need one, and as with most B&Bs no phone or tv, but most aren't looking for that when they choose a B&B. The hall light was on all night and there's a glass transom over the door to the room, so the room was lit like daytime all night. For me, personally, it was a little hard to sleep. The food served was very nice. They had a huge, commercial kitchen and set out desserts in the evening and a very nice breakfast in the morning. The owners were out of town, but the lady running it for them was very nice and tried very hard to make it all wonderful for everyone. Bikes had to remain outside in an unsecured location. I really don't think they're set up or located well for people using the C&O trail for a biking trip. For other trips this may be perfect for those who don't mind the feel of sleeping in your grandmother's (great-grandmothers?) spare room. I believe that's exactly what a lot of people are looking for in a B&B and this one is a spectacular old building with lovely furniture and landscaping. It is, however very pricey.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Town Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 31101 National Pike, Little Orleans, MD 21766
Location: United States > Maryland > Little Orleans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town Hill Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Town Hill Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list