We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, great location, fine host” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Orleans Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Little Orleans
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Orleans Lodge
Save
You added Little Orleans Lodge to your Saves list
12814 Appel Road, Little Orleans, MD 21766   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable, great location, fine host”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Excellent place, nice, remote location, yards from the C&O Canal. Steve was a funny and gracious host and even took us in his truck up to a fantastic nearby overlook that we would otherwise have missed and gave us the makings of a packed lunch for a hike in the surrounding woods.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    14
    0
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
8
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Steve was very helpful to me during my recent trip on the GAP and C&O.
It the perfect place for tired, dirty hikers or cyclists to pause and Steve's knowledge about the trail, shortcuts and conditions was way more than helpful!
Be advised that it's hostel/hunting lodge type place and never made any noises about being anything but so as long as you don't go thinking it's some quaint B&B with cute lace curtains where you are waited on hand and foot you will be quite pleased. It's very inexpensive.
I will most definitely stay here again when I come up to finish my ride on the C&O!
Thanks again Steve!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebo, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

After reading some of the reviews about Little Orleans Lodge, I have to come to the rescue of Steve Huebner and his establishment. As a long time hiker of the Appalachian and C&O Canal Trails, I have patronized Steve's establishment since 2009. If you are looking for a B&B style establishment, Little Orleans Lodge is not it. As the name infers, Lodge is somewhere in between B&B and a Hostel. However, I would say that Little Orleans Lodge is more hostel than a lodge. With that said, Steve has managed to maintain and provide what I would call top notch service since opening his doors in 2001. Little Orleans Lodge primarily caters to the hiker/biker crowd along the C&O Canal Trail. Conveniently located between Hancock, Maryland and the terminus of the C&O Canal Trail in Cumberland, Maryland, Steve’s place is the only civilization for sixty miles since the B&B in Paw Paw, West Virginia closed down in 2011. As for the maintenance and cleanliness of the place, I have to salute Steve for his personal efforts here lately since he has been unable to retain qualified and reliable help. Unfortunately, most of the characters Steve has hired on as help turned out to be either alcoholics, drug addicts, or suffering from a multitude of mental ailments ranging from schizophrenic sociopath to bipolar disorder. So in defense of Little Orleans Lodge, and especially Steve, you get exactly what you pay for. A clean room with a bed and clean sheets, laundry for the asking, telephone access, shuttles upon request and a killer breakfast. As for the piles of junk, that is restaurant quality, stainless steel kitchen equipment he is going to install this winter. Oh, yea! A friend of mine said that Steve now has Wi-Fi access. So if you’re on the trail and need a place to stay, get out of the elements and a warm meal, this is the place. If you’re looking for that stuffy, potpourri in the ashtrays, antique museum bed room in a $200 a night B&B, well Little Orleans Lodge is not your cup of tea.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Rooms were very nice for Four guys Riding the GAP trail and C and O Canal to DC. Steve couldn't have been nicer. He took us "Bill's Place" for dinner and picked us up when we were done. Steve made breakfast of French toast, bacon and eggs. It was great. Although the exterior of the place has alot of Steve's personal items, tractor etc. it did not take away from our good experience there. Took our credit cards for one night stay and we had no problems.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We booked our room for two nights and prepaid. When we arrived, Steve informed us that there was a three night minimum and we owed him another $100. We told him were never informed of this and that his website says nothing of the sort. He repled, "I thought you knew." I refused to pay the extra night's fee. He said we owed it. We threatened to leave and asked for a full refund. He refused. He threatened to call the local sheriff. We didn't pay for the extra night. Plus, we rode motorcycles there (he knew that) but the only parking area was an open field. It rained heavily, making entering and exiting dangerous. The dining room and kitchen area were filthy. We wouldn't let our dog eat there. We will never go there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We recently cycled the C&O/GAP trail and stayed at Little Orleans Lodge because it is fairly close to the trail. Yes, Steve the owner is a nice guy and clearly knowledgeable of the surrounding area. The establishment and service though, was very poor. The property and yard itself was strewn with junk and garbage. The room appeared clean, but the carpet was filthy leaving debris on our feet and belongings.The bed was lumpy and squeaked with every move. Chairs on the adjoining deck were laden with green slime. The shared bathroom had only a single towel for our long awaited showers. The shower drain was filled with hair. Though breakfast was advertised as included, no direction had been given for where and when it was to be served. In trying to locate Steve for towels the evening before, I caught a glimpse of a tremendously filthy, junk-laden kitchen; we were very concerned about eating any food prepared there. When morning rolled around (and feeling really hungry), we followed the smell of bacon to a dining table strewn with piles of personal stuff/junk/garbage, including many bottles of medication, all of which were literally shoved to the end of the table so we'd have a place to sit (,,,we all stood in dismay).

We derive no pleasure in reporting this entire experience; it was really quite sad. We do though, feel others need to be aware of what to expect from this business.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Little Orleans Lodge is located approximately 8 miles from US 40 in Little Orleans, Maryland. This lodge is ideally situated near the C & O Rilroad/bicycle path. Steve, the owner of the lodge, was not on the premises very much when I visited. He was busy trying to corral some livestock which escaped!! Katie, Steve's reservation's manager, aptly prepared meals, took reservations, visited with guests, and took care of any of the other numerous bits and pieces required for operating a lodge!! Cory, Steve's son, possesses an innate ability to share enthusiasm with the guests at the lodge. It's a given that he cares deeply about Little Orleans Lodge and its immediate environs. He was able to provide all sorts of information and trivia about the animals, landscape, plants, animals, geological formations plus all sorts of other interesting odds and ends about the locale. Cory immediately sensed that I was averse to the typical "tourist" attractions when I said that I opted to kibitz with the locals near Fallingwater which was designed for the Kauffman family of department store fame. In fact, I waved at the entrance of Fallin gwater and drove on by!! Again, many thanks Katie & Cory!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are comfy!! Katie will do whatever it takes to make you feel right at home!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Orleans Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Orleans Lodge

Address: 12814 Appel Road, Little Orleans, MD 21766
Location: United States > Maryland > Little Orleans
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Little Orleans
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Little Orleans Hotel Little Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Orleans Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.