We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Snyder's Willow Grove

Snyder's Willow Grove
841 N Hammonds Ferry Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090
(410) 789-1149
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: East & West Nursery Rd.
Bangor ME
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Snyder's serves the kind of meal that was prevalent 50 years ago--large quantities of good food without fancy ingredients.
I had the small prime rib which filled my plate and was tasty if fatty. The accompaniments were a non-descript caesar salad, a baked potato, and very good pickled beets.
The wait staff was friendly and service seemed completely adequate.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    22
    2
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitesboro, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not worth it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Went with a group of 15. From the beginning to the end, this was a disappointment. My steak was the worst I have ever had and one of the folks asked for his steak medium rare...it was so well done that he had to send it back. The service was also poor...the staff does not seem like they care...no enthusiasm...no passion. Would suggest any other place than this one.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Avoid - better seafood restaurant 1 block away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011 via mobile

Quaint old restaurant that smells old. Service was extremely slow. Crab cake was marginally acceptable. Broiled shrimp and scallops were like rubber. French fries were barely warm and soggy. Wine serving was kid size. I have to hold my nose on this one.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Horrible service, mediocre food, dated decor. The last two are not that much of a problem, but wait staff that are so obviously put out by having to take your order is unacceptable. It's even worse when said staff mess up your order and then take another 20 minutes to fix it, while the rest of the table has been served.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Prime Rib - Friendly Service - a bit Nostalgic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

The desk cleark at a hotel near BWI told us about Snyder's a number of years ago. We were initiailly surprised by the decor which looks like its from the 60s. Breadsticks are served with a wine cheese spread unique to Snyder's. The food was outstanding and the wait staff made us feel right at home. We go back several times a year since then for the fantastic prime rib. Its a high quality piece of beef cooked just right. Its so big that we split it and still take enough home for another meal. They pride themselves on the crab cakes as well which are excellent as are the sides.

We wish all restaurants had food of this quality.

A great place to take the family, especially your parents!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snyder's Willow Grove also viewed

 
Linthicum Heights, MD
Linthicum Heights, MD
 

Been to Snyder's Willow Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snyder's Willow Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.