We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, It Was Very Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore BWI Airport

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore BWI Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore BWI Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1671 West Nursery Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #15 of 29 hotels in Linthicum Heights
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Yes, It Was Very Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I went to visit a friend in Philadelphia. Unfortunately, after having a great day we were late (horrible Philly traffic in the middle of the day Saturday) getting back to the airport to catch the last flight home. Stand-by seats the next morning would be bad, so we drove down to Baltimore to fly out of there in the morning. We quickly needed to find a hotel in the BWI area, (most of them are good mid-grade hotels). A look on hotels.com revealed prices around $130 and several bids hovering around $50 to $60 didn't work on priceline.com. As we were decided to just drive down and take our chances an Express Deal popped up and I grabbed it at $62.

It turned out to be the Courtyard by Marriott BWI. I'd stayed at the Sheraton BWI four weeks earlier with my 90 year old mother, on our last fun trip together before she passed away. So I knew the Courtyard was just around the corner, less than 5 minutes from the airport. I miss her, so much!!

Location:
The hotel is clustered among similar quality hotels surrounded by small business parks, including an enormous aerospace facility. West Nursery Road and Elkridge Landing will take you to the airport. 2.5 miles away. You can also get to the Inner Harbor from here in about 15 minutes.

Food Nearby:
There are not a lot of restaurants nearby. However, there is a Bob Evans breakfast restaurant (3 out of 5 star food quality) and since our visit to the Sheraton, a new Cracker Barrell restaurant is being built fast, (usually 5 out of 5 stars).

Exterior:
Basically looks like a typical Courtyard, nothing special there. However, the parking lot on the side could use a little bit more lighting.

Hallway:
It could have been more brightly lit.

Interior:
Whoa, it is one of the new remodeled style interiors we experienced at the Courtyard Grand Sandestin, in Destin, Florida. It is very colorful, with strong colors, nice spacing, good furniture and a business area with three large screen computers. There is a separate station with two computers specifically setup for creating boarding passes.

The Staff:
Welcoming and responsive. They handled a lot of activity for the Capital Jazz Festival which was going that weekend (a reason for the high unusual high prices in the area).

Room:
I went, "Whoa", when I saw it, for it was also quite colorful and bright. Red and earth tones seem to be the dominant color, but it it blended in well with all of the other colors. More importantly, my wife liked it and said, "this is great", and she is much harder to please. Carpeting looked good, nice size combination desk-tv stand-work area. Wallpaper, painting, etc., all looked good and very new.

Bed:
It was not one of those plush super soft, hold me in splendor type beds. But it was still good and we slept well.

Bathroom:
Was good with no rusted surfaces, torn or worn facilities, stains or the like. It was kind of small when viewing it from the perspective of a wheelchair having to move around in it.

Other Items:
The safe in the room would not lock, so we had to keep our valuables with us when we went exploring the Inner Harbor in the morning before our flight.
The wi-fi in the room was pretty strong and was complimentary. In the lobby the wi-fi was much faster and stronger.

My question is always did I get value?
At a $90 price-point I would consider it good. However, at $72 (with taxes), I considered this an very good hotel stay spot.

TIP: Since my wife had never been to the Inner Harbor, I got her up early to get over there. 1) Before about 9am, there is hardly any crowd in the area, so you have much easier accessibility. 2) That time of morning you can usually find some free parking about 10 minutes walk away on Aliceanna Street, between S. Carolina and S. Broadway. 3) There's a breakfast restaurant on Aliceanna St., that has a good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roody C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore BWI Airport, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hello Lifetraveler1

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed and thorough review of your stay with us. It's an impressive amount of detail. I'm sure this will be beneficial for other visitors to the site.

We are currently addressing the lighting in and around the building to make them more energy efficient and brighter.

We are pleased that given the reason for your having to stay with us you were able to go and see our city while here.

Again, thank you for you’re in depth observations of your visit with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Roody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    55
    19
    2
    7
See reviews for
23
16
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Rooms are clean, and inviting. Nice little Bistro/snack counter in lobby. Free WiFi and pool. Friendly Staff. Close to BWI. Lots of dining choices nearby for all price ranges. Short drive to National Aquarium and Camden Yards. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roody C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore BWI Airport, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hello Khec

Thanks for taking a moment to review your stay. We are pleased we provided the type of accommodations you have grown accustomed to at Courtyard by Marriott.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future while in the BWI region.

Regards
Roody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The room was impressive. Beds were very comfy. Had the usual, iron/board, microwave, coffee maker, refrig. The room was very nice. If I had to say the least favorable thing about our stay.....the bathroom was very teeny. It served its purpose, but it's the smallest hotel bathroom I've ever been in. We didn't have time to visit the breakfast buffet but others have told me it is impressive at this location. We got a good nite's rest and were back on the road the next morning, bright and early.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roody C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore BWI Airport, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hello Carole N

Thank you for your recent feedback about your stay with us while in Baltimore. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room in addition to our comfy beds. Additionally, after your stay, we changed our mattresses to a 9" pillow top mattress throughout the hotel.

I’m sure that you would agree that a good night’s rest is one of the most important parts of our guests stay.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving your travel needs in the future.

Regards
Roody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Free WiFi, clean rooms, lots of pillows on the bed. This hotel has a shuttle and a place in the lobby to grab some food and drinks. I would stay here again when flying into BWI. There is also a pool which is nice. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roody C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore BWI Airport, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello cubcaptain

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and provide feedback during your most recent stay with us. Our team strives to deliver an exceptional stay for our guests.

We look forward to serving your travel needs in the near future while in the BWI area.

Regards
Roody C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was there for only 1 night. The room was really nice, clean,quiet. Big area around, nice, but nothing close was to this hotel. Not many people were there at the time. Not too many choices for breakfast. Nice person in the shuttle bus, polite and helpful. This hotel was expensive. This was booked from my company side, it wouldn't be my choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roody C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore BWI Airport, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hello girl_from_belgrade

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us while in Baltimore. We are pleased that you enjoyed the service, cleanliness and nice quiet room. I would like to speak with you further about our exciting breakfast choices and discussing more about your experience at your earliest convenience.

Thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Roody C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is one of the old style Courtyard's with the central courtyard that is located very close to BWI. For being by the airport, it was surprisingly quiet. I love this original layout and always ask for a room facing the courtyard. This property has gone through the Courtyard renovation and was in fine shape. Amenities are relatively close, but require driving.

We had a few hiccups, but they were addressed. Our first room assignment was supposed to be on the courtyard, but was not. We went back to the desk and got a new room assignment. The room was fine, but when I walked out onto the balcony the screen fell out of the door and there was no outdoor furniture.

When we left for dinner, we informed the front desk of the problem. We did not expecting anything to be done on a Sunday night. When we returned from dinner, the screen was installed and we had outdoor furniture. A nice surprise.

This is a solid property and worthy of consideration if you need to stay in the BWI area.

Room Tip: Room on the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roody C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore BWI Airport, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello Bulldog82

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. My sincere apologies for the incident you encountered with your balcony screen door and furniture. I'm pleased that these items were resolved quickly and efficiently.

Again, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Roody C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with family before a flight from BWI and it was great. People were extremely nice. Bistro was great. Rooms were clean and quiet. Highly recommend. When on business I also stay here and it has been great on all those occasions also.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roody C, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore BWI Airport, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hello NASASTEVE

Thank you for the positive comments about your experience at our Courtyard BWI Airport. We are pleased that you choose us for both your personal and business travel needs.

Our team strives to provide the utmost in our Bistro dining, guestroom cleanliness and professional service to make your stay as pleasant and productive as possible.

Thank you for your repeated business and we look forward to being of service in the near future for your travels to the BWI area.

Regards
Roody C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore BWI Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore BWI Airport

Address: 1671 West Nursery Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Linthicum Heights
#16 Business Hotel in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore BWI Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find that the new state-of-the-art lobby at our Courtyard Baltimore BWI Airport hotel provides greater flexibility and choice. Located just minutes from Baltimore Washington International Airport, our new lobby features inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. Plus, experience The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. The Bistro provides healthy offerings in the morning, plus dinner service with cocktail selections in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore BWI Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Baltimore Bwi Airport Hotel Linthicum
Courtyard Linthicum
Courtyard Hotel Linthicum
Linthicum Marriott
Linthicum Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Baltimore BWI Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.