We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks like a bomb went off...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn BWI Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn BWI Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn BWI Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   815 Elkridge Landing Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090 (Formerly Comfort Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Looks like a bomb went off...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I had reservation here with a co worker and needed to be in late and out early. We arrived to the mentioned renovation which looked terrible. In addition to the renovation our booking wasn't held and we ended taking a room with one bed. Not a pleasant experience. There are many other hotels in the area. I would recommend going to one of them.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey S, General Manager at Holiday Inn BWI Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your time in reviewing your stay with us. I appreciate the kindness in knowing you did stay with us despite the renovations. We are truly concerned with our guests safety and comfort and are trying to make the renovations go as smoothly as possible. We are in a stage of renovations that well, yes, looks like a bomb went off. We are just a little over a month away from a beautiful new full service hotel but we must rebuild our lobby and front of the hotel to get there.

Please give us some thought if you return to the area to see how the renovations turn out. I would love for you to see the progess when you return.

Sincerely,
Stacey Schuhardt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    65
    25
    15
    11
See reviews for
50
47
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Room was clean, and rate was good. Wireless internet worked fine. Property is undergoing extensive renovation (February 2013), but work is 8 am - 5 pm weekdays, so impact on me was nil. Good signage inside during construction. Parking (at a lot adjacent to hotel) is free during renovation. "VIP" room had refrigerator, which made a bit of noise, but didn't bother me at all. As in old Red Roof Inns, the bottom of the shower/tub is somewhat higher than elevation as the bathroom floor, so be careful when stepping out.

Room Tip: "VIP" room has refrigerator and microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey S, General Manager at Holiday Inn BWI Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
I want to thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am greatful that you were so understanding of our attempt to offer our guests a new full service hotel soon. Yes, we limit the construction noise to working hours so thankfully you were not affected by the renovations and have made every attempt to make our guests feel as comfortable as we can despite the level of renovations happening at this time. The majority of this will be complete by the end of March.

Please come back and stay with us as a new hotel!

Best Regards,
Stacey Schuhardt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joppa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel for one roomnight prior to an early morning departure several times in the past. It's conveniently positioned next door to our favorite off-site parking lot, FastTrack (now FastTrack & Relax) and within close proximity to Chili's and a few other restaurants. Our stays have always been comfortable and the hotel seemed to be an efficient and bustling operation with pleasant and professional staff.

It's been a few years since our last stay and we expected to find it as we last saw it, but arrived to find it was undergoing an extensive renovation. In fact, the outside of the hotel was under construction and you had to enter through a side door and follow signs through areas you typically don't travel in a hotel to get to the makeshift reception area, which is a small room with some snacks and a refrigerated case of soda and a freezer case of ice cream inside. There was barely room for the two of us behind the "counter" the sole employee was manning.

We then had to navigate our way to the elevator, which had wood placed on all three sides for protection during the renovation. Our trip to the elevator was complete with signs that showed us what the rooms would look like when they were finished. This was all well and good, but while our room was adequate, it was obviously not among those who had been renovated - so you wondered why you were paying good money to have less than a great hotel experience. Frankly, it was creepy and almost scary since we arrived in the dark and left in the dark.

I am hopeful the current trend of mini-pillows has almost run it's course. NOBODY likes these pillows and while they're real cute all lined up for your arrival, they are uncomfortable and provide a poor sleep experience

When we left our room to check out, there was a line of guests down the hallway, as there was no room in the reception area for more than one couple at a time. As a prior reviewer indicated, there was no mention by either employee - the AM or the PM shift - of the reduced circumstances, amenities - or - well, Comfort at this Comfort Suites. They acted like this was quite normal when it was more like something you'd expect in a third world country.

I would recommend that Choice Hotels post something on the home page of this location that would give guests some advance information on the current condition and state of renovation of this hotel. In fairness, we paid a fairly low rate, but this is largely a business hotel and we stayed a Friday night, as we have in the past, and we paid a similar rate to past stays when the hotel was in full operation. My guess is that only a small portion of the hotel is in use, as the hotel always had 3-4 staff members in reception and were operating with only one person at 6:30 PM on Friday night and 6:00 AM on Saturday morning. The other 6 guests lined up in the hallway outside the reception "desk" seemed to have similar impression to ours - bemused but not impressed. On one hand, I give them credit for remaining in operation in less than the best of situations. On the other hand, it was a less than great experience for guests and I question whether they should really stay open during a renovation of the front of the hotel, lobby and rooms. Ironically, we flew to another city, only to find that hotel was also in a state of renovation and that chain had failed to note this on that web site either, so we did not have use of all the amenties we believed were going to be available when we booked our stay.

There are several other hotel choices in the BWI Airport area and for those looking for a hotel in the next month or two, I would definitely recommend that you check on the current state of renovation by either calling the hotel or reading new reviews before you book if you're counting on all the normal amenities and comforts. The inconveniences are mostly cosmetic, but are less than the usual experience or appearance of a Choice Hotel.

Room Tip: As of 2/22/2012, this hotel is undergoing an extensive renovation of the front entrance, lobby and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey S, General Manager at Holiday Inn BWI Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to mention your stay with us. Your comments are well taken and I appreciate your understanding of what the property is undertaking at this time. We are doing everything possible to accommodate our guests. I am sorry you did not get a chance to stay in one of the new rooms. We just completed the first floor during the week you were with us. We will be completely renovated in April.

Please give us a thought if you return to this erea once we are renovated and a beautiful new full service hotel! Feel free to contact me if you come back so I can assure a wonderful stay in our new hotel.

PS...new pillows are coming. You will like them much better!

Sincerely,
Stacey Schuhardt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hall, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times, typically on the night before an early flight out of BWI. So, as usual we booked the room for Friday night, February 15. We pulled up and the entrance was under construction and a shoddy looking tent was leading up a side walkway into the building. The signage inside were not very good but we finally made it to the desk to check in. The clerk made no attempt to thank us or pardon their appearance at all. We were informed that we would now be charged to leave our car in the lot for our trip, which was fine. When we went outside to put the slip in the car window, we noticed a sign on the exit door that said, "Be careful opening door, water may fall on you." Lovely. In the room there were three SMALL pillows in cases on the bed- not even one full sized one. Right then and there we decided that our relationship with this hotel would be done. It would have been great to receive an email stating that they were under construction, just as a heads up! We would have stayed anyway. Not anymore.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey S, General Manager at Holiday Inn BWI Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I am so sorry you were unaware of the renovations. Several months ago we did place it on our website and it does print on all confirmations prior to arrival. We wanted to make all guests aware of the renovations as early as we could.

We do understand it is not the most ideal situation however, we are in the process of major improvements to the hotel. By April we will be a beautiful full service hotel and would love to have you stay with us again in the future once we are finished.

I want to thank you again for staying with us under the circumstances.

Best Regards,
Stacey Schuhardt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Hotel needs an update badly. This is what I hate about Comfort Suites hotels are properties like this that are inconsistent. Room décor, bed, walls, about everything I can think of needs to be updated.
One nice thing is they have on-demand shuttle service to BWI and available on site parking for $5/day. This is almost if not easier then the economy lots at BWI.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey S, General Manager at Holiday Inn BWI Airport, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hello Craig,

I want to thank you for your time in sharing your thoughts of our hotel. It does mean a lot that you cared enough to let us know how your stay was. As the manager of this hotel, I do take all comments seriously and want you to know that we heard what our guests were saying and we began renovations on this past Monday to become a beautiful new full service hotel by April.

Please visit us when you are in the area again and enjoy the new look!

Best Regards,
Stacey Schuhardt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

I've stay at this hotel several times. They will pick you up from the airport or MARC/Amyrak. Clean suites with WiFi, multiple work tables, big flat screen, micro and fridge. Exceptional service from all the hotel staff.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey S, General Manager at Holiday Inn BWI Airport, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hello Chuck,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our hotel! It is always nice to have a frequent guest of ours mention our wonderful staff. Our goal is to make each guest feel welcome and comfortable. Great news when you come back next...we will be a newly renovated full service hotel.

Hope we see you soon!

Best Regards,
Stacey Schuhardt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel was very nice overall. I liked how the rooms were layed out. The bed was very, very comfortable. The only negative I saw was the couch in the room looked a little worn - I could see some barron spots where the thread was gone near the edge and the sofa seemed to sag in the middle. Other than that, it was quiet and a clean place to stay. Nice linens and comfortable surroundings.

The hotel is a bit difficult to reach from the highway but far enough away from the noise of the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey S, General Manager at Holiday Inn BWI Airport, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hello,

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay during your visit. I did note where you mentioned the only down side was the hotel was a bit worn...we listened! On Monday we began renovations and by April we will be a beautiful new full service property!

Thank you for taking time out of your day to recognize our hotel which always strives to offer a warm, friendly and clean place to stay.

Best Regards,
Stacey Schuhardt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn BWI Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn BWI Airport

Address: 815 Elkridge Landing Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Linthicum Heights
#4 Romantic Hotel in Linthicum Heights
#8 Family Hotel in Linthicum Heights
#16 Business Hotel in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn BWI Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a newly renovated full-service hotel located just 1.2 Miles from Baltimore Washington Thurgood Marshall International Airport. The Holiday Inn BWI Airport hotel is your Baltimore suburban gateway location for getting around the Baltimore and Washington, D.C. Areas. Business and leisure travelers alike can experience the convenience of our BWI Hotel District location on the corner of West Nursery and Elkridge Landing Road. We are the closest IHG hotel to the BWI Airport and we offer a 24-hour complimentary on demand BWI Airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn BWI Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Bwi Airport Hotel Linthicum
Bwi Airport Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Linthicum Heights
Linthicum Heights Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn BWI Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.