We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel near the BWI airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Plus+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Plus+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport to your Saves list
Red Roof Plus+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   827 Elkridge Landing Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
619 reviews 619 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
461 helpful votes 461 helpful votes
“Good hotel near the BWI airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Red Roof Inn BWI Airport is a good place to stay for a night or two while in Baltimore. There is a free shuttle from/to the airport which makes it convenient if you don't want to drive. I arrived late at the airport around 2300, but the area where the shuttles enter was still extremely crowded. As such it took about 30 minutes for the shuttle to arrive. Once at the hotel I was checked in quickly and found my room on the third floor. There is an elevator in the middle of the hotel or a set of stairs adjacent to the reception.

The room had two beds and a small work table along the wall. The lighting was somewhat dim, but wasn't an issue. The television was mounted on the wall in between the beds. The pillows on the bed could be softer as they were not comfortable at all. The bathroom is small which made it hard to move around, however wasn't much of a concern. The shower had plenty of hot water and pressure. A unique thing about the room was that the air conditioner and heating were two separate systems. The air conditioner worked well and wasn't that noisy.

You could hear the traffic outside and some noise from the adjacent rooms, but it was minimal and wasn't a distraction. The only noise problem you will have will be from guests outside at 0300 in the morning yelling and laughing at each other who could care less that they are at a hotel.

The best part of this hotel was the staff and shuttle. Not only will the shuttle take you to the airport, but it will also take you to the nearby light rail station and nearby restaurants. The shuttle is at no extra cost.

I would definitely recommend the hotel. It is simple, but is clean and conveniently located as long as you are not looking at staying downtown. Public transport (minus a taxi) will take awhile depending on timing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you wbullseye for taking the time to review our hotel! The staff will be delighted to hear your kind words. Everyone at the Red Roof Inn BWI Airport strives to give our guests a confident, significant and delighted stay from the moment you call or enter our front door. We appreciate you choosing the Red Roof Inn and look forward to your next trip to the BWI area!

Best Regards,

Shawn Smith
General Manager
Red Roof Inn BWI Airport
i0149@redroof.com
410-850-7600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    92
    49
    19
    16
See reviews for
60
56
61
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qingdao
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

red roof inn BWI recently renovated. parquet floors add a touch of class.

full tub and nouveau wash basin with small shampoo sachet & soap. f

full thick towels.

2 king size beds.

32 inch LCD TV wall mounted makes RRI a class act.

only drawback is that convenience store such as 7-11 is 3 miles walking distance up a steep hill.

that 7-11 does not sell beer

without a car, those who stay @ RRI have to walk long distance to buy basic amenities.

airport shuttle leaves every 20 minutes from RRI; but one would have to call in to RRI for pick up from airport to Red Roof Inn.

Italian restaurant is 200 yards away; quite pricey ($16 for spaghetti with meat balls, salad & garlic bread).. food is good; but draft beer is even better

the only good value is their beer. ask for the Baltimore local brew

Room Tip: afternoon sun can be very glaring. ask for rooms facing restaurants 200 yards away
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you maxus88 for taking the time to review our hotel! As you have mentioned our newly renovated Inn provides that "touch of class" all our guests deserve. Upon your next stay our shuttle drivers can take you to many of the fabulous restaurants in the area such as G&M crabcakes and Los Portales mexican restaurant. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Shawn Smith
General Manager
Red Roof Inn BWI Airport
i0149@redroof.com
410-850-7600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Booked this for a 10 hour layover and couldn't fault it for an airport hotel. Rang for the shuttle using free phones in the terminal and it took less than 10 minutes to arrive. Room was clean, tidy and spacious and no problems with an early call or shuttle back in the next day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you Steve028 for your review! I am happy to hear how efficient our shuttle service was for you during your stay. We strive to ease the stress of travel by providing a shuttle that transports guests not only to the airport but also to the movie theatre, local restaurants and train stations. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Baltimore!

Best Regards,

Shawn Smith
General Manager
Red Roof Inn BWI Airport
i0149@redroof.com
410-850-7600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Jennelle checked me in very quickly... sometimes it takes awhile red roof inns. The rooms are NICE!!! Everything looks and smells brand new! I wish all red roofs were like this! Very close to the airport and also close to one of the premier restaurants in the nation. If you stay here you must visit G&M restaurant, a world famous top notch place to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mubryan, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the opportunity to tell us about your experience! I am glad to hear that Jennelle was efficient and got you into your room quickly. We have recently completed a full renovation of our property and we still in the process of upgrading all of our hotels in the brand to the new look. I agree that G&M is a Baltimore tradition, which in my opinion have the best crabcakes around. Our complimentary shuttle will take you to this restaurant, along with other area restaurants. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next trip to the BWI area!

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn BWI Airport
i0149@redroof.com
410-850-7600
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nice place to stay, I had to spend a week in BWI and the Red Roof Inn was my choice as it was one of the better value places that accepted pets (albeit only 1 per room)!
On arrival the free shuttle to the hotel was unable to fit my dog kennel in, and the driver wouldn't allow the dog out - I got a taxi to the hotel and the manager paid for it, so the problem was resolved, it was however an annoyance on arrival in BWI.
The rooms have been recently renovated (and were still in progress, could occasionally hear the noise), they were very nice and up to date. The rooms have free Wi-Fi, it's probably free as it is quite slow and you have to go through the log in process each time so they couldn't really justify charging for it! The worst part of staying in the BWI hotel area is the lack of places/choices of food, also there are no "decent" stores local if you have no transport to get basics, such as soda etc!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mubryan, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am happy to hear that you found our new rooms to your liking. I apologize for any wifi issues that you may have experienced. We are in the process of securing an upgrade to our wifi systems which dramatically increase the speed for our guests. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to your next stay.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn BWI Airport
410-850-7600
i0149@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed 3 nights for $240 tax incl. and it was as expected except for one little thing, the washroom in the accessible rooms are furnitur less, no table or anything to put a glass, brush, tooth paste... matress was very comfotable and the room was quiet, loved the wide LCDscreen, Fridge and microwave were usefull.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mubryan, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
I wanted to take this opportunity to thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated NextGen rooms. When designing our rooms, we took guest feedback to heart. As you mentioned, there was no shelf built in with the renovation in the ADA rooms, but based on feedback like yours, we are currently in the process of installing shelves in the bathrooms of these rooms to better serve our guests. We appreciate you choosing Red Roof Inn and we look forward to seeing you again next time you require lodging in the BWI area.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn BWI Airport
410-850-7600
i0149@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Rooms look upscale, staff has personality; and after a full day layover at BWI, I needed the care and concern I received from the front desk staff and shuttle bus drivers. For an airport location, this hotel was surprisingly suitable. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mubryan, General Manager at Red Roof Plus+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our brand new, modern NextGen rooms. I will be sure to share your positive feedback with my team as I know they will be happy to hear your kind words. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Bryan Lawyer, CHA
General Manager
Red Roof Inn BWI Airport
410-850-7600
i0149@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Plus+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Plus+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport

Address: 827 Elkridge Landing Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Linthicum Heights
#13 Business Hotel in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Plus+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Newly Renovated Red Roof PLUS+ BWI Airport, located off of the Baltimore Washington Parkway (I-295). We're in the quiet BWI Gateway Community, just 1.5 Miles from the Baltimore Washington International Airport. Enjoy the comfort of our brand new shuttle on your complimentary ride from the Airport, Amtrak or Light Rail( Mon-Fri 4am-1am and Sat-Sun 5am-12am). You can sleep longer, knowing it's only a short 5 minute ride from the hotel to the airport. Take the light rail to Baltimore's Inner Harbor to see an Orioles game at Camden Yards, or visit M&T Bank Stadium for a Ravens game. Be sure to visit the National Aquarium, the Baltimore Museum of Art and the Walters Art Museum. We are also within 20-40 minutes from the US Naval Academy in Annapolis, and Washington DC. If you are here on corporate or government business, it's easy to get to the Baltimore Convention Center or major government and corporate offices such as the National Security Agency and Northrop Grumman. You can also enjoy the free wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. We are convenient to area hospitals such as University of Maryland-Baltimore and Johns Hopkins. You are always welcome at the Red Roof PLUS+ BWI Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Red Roof Inn, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Plus+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Bwi Airport Hotel Linthicum
Red Roof Inn Linthicum Heights
Linthicum Heights Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Plus+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.