We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Heroine to the Rescue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BWI Airport Marriott

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BWI Airport Marriott to your Saves list
BWI Airport Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1743 West Nursery Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hotel Heroine to the Rescue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The BWI Airport Marriott is a garden-variety "captive audience" airport hotel - garden variety as compared to other airport hotels, but in my opinion below the usual average for Marriott properties, which are normally outstanding. I stayed there for one night because airline scheduling required me to take a super-early flight and I would have had to get up way too early if I had stayed in downtown Baltimore.

I will say this - the airport shuttle worked well, both coming from the airport and going back in the morning. My room was certainly serviceable - quiet and comfortable. I didn't really use any of the airport amenities due to lack of time, other than room service. As is often the case with a captive-audience location, the food was mediocre and overpriced.

The hotel imposed a charge of $12.95 for me to use wireless internet in the room, although I am a "silver elite" member of Marriott's frequent traveler program. When I checked out at an ungodly early hour I mentioned my dissatisfaction with this to the clerk on duty. Initially she told me that hotel policy was that only gold and platinum members got internet for free. But a few minutes later, as I was just about to get on the shuttle, she came running out and gave me a new bill with the internet charge deleted.

At that moment this hotel went way up in my estimation. I appreciate that the desk clerk had discretion to make this change and that the hotel had hired someone for this position who used good judgment to keep the business of a regular Marriott customer. I don't know if she was actually acting consistent with hotel policy, but in my opinion she deserves a medal for excellent customer service. I rarely have to stay at an airport hotel but I'd come back to this one just because a great staff can do a lot to iron out the wrinkles of an otherwise mediocre property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    111
    56
    22
    7
See reviews for
30
54
22
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
763 reviews 763 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were staying at another Marriott property on a Sunday night before a flight and wanted just a small bite on a Sunday evening. Since our hotel did not have a restaurant and we didn't want to search for one, we remembered that the BWI Airport Marriott had a bar. We stopped in at the bar and asked if they had a bar menu. The bartender indicated that we could order from the bar menu or the restaurant menu even though the restaurant was closed -- very helpful! We ordered some appetizers, cocktails, and salads that were delicious. The bartender was the perfect server as well. We were very contented.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff... everyone says hello! My king bed room was luxurious, super clean , and smell free... the only negative was the crack in the bathroom sink. Also has 40" flat screen, , dorm fridge... open plan bar in lobby, a starbucks location in the AM.... huge parking lot and looks like they do a lot of banquet business.... pricey at $181/nite ...AAA rate....especially with a cracked sink! Platinum members get breakfast at concierge floor and light snack at night....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Led by General Manager Willy Wright, this airport property is truly superior. Upon arrival, the Front Desk folks met me with warm smiles and great attitudes. They gave me a very spacious, over-sized room on the Concierge Level, though the Concierge Lounge was not open at any time, during my all-too-brief stay. I was met by a fabulous array of healthy goodies, including apples, bananas, gluten-fee crackers with Mediterranean spread, yummy Go Macro bars, a couple of juice and/or tea drinks, and a huge bag of gluten-free Exotic Chips. (For those not familiar with this brand, they are blue potato, kabocha pumpkin, and carrot chips---quite addictive---and much better for you than plain old potato chips!) Two of the excellent aspects of staying at this property were the bathtub and the bed. The bathtub was wonderfully deep and the bed very comfortable. But by far, besides meeting Willy Wright, the highlight of my stay was the crab soup in their Champions Sports Bar. This award-winning concoction has real crab in every bite of this thick, cream soup. Don't order a whole lot of other food, though, because the soup is so rich you won't have room. This crab soup was one of the best soups I have had on the road---ever! All told, it was a very enjoyable stay that was just to short. The GM's attitude of "Service first" is reflected in every aspect of their guest-centric culture. It is impossible to stay at this property and not feel taken care of. As USA TODAY's First Road Warrior of the Year, I travel a lot. Take it from me, if you're looking for a property near BWI, this Marriott property is well-worth considering.

Room Tip: I always prefer a higher floor away from the elevator; that way, I get a little more exercise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our spacious room on the 10th floor (a Quiet Zone) had been recently renovated--new carpet, new bedside lamps with outlets, and other touches. The king size bed was very comfortable. The only slight negative was that our toilet started running early in the morning. My husband easily fixed it so we never called maintenance. My husband recommended that I flush the toilet more gently than usual. That seemed to do the trick. So perhaps some aspects of the room did not get renovated.

The front desk staff was very helpful at check-in and recommending local restaurants. The hotel is in an area with lots of hotels, restaurants, and parking lots due to its proximity to BWI airport. The Marriott is located next to Hilton and Aloft hotels, and across the street from a La Quinta. It's not the most scenic location but the rate was very reasonable on the weekend.

Unusually, the concierge lounge is open on Saturday and Sunday morning for breakfast. This was very welcome. At most Marriott hotels the lounge is closed at these times.

There is a very nice pool area which leads to an outside seating area with chairs shaded by umbrellas. I wish we had more time to take advantage of that. Finally, during most of the day, the hotel shuttle runs to the airport every 15 minutes. The front desk has a small paper schedule for your information. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some/all of the 10th (top) floor is a Quiet Zone.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is an airport hotel and a lot of airport hotels do not have the freshest decor. The comfortable rooms at this airport Marriott are pretty fresh feeling though even if it is a standard Marriott decor. If you are doing business in the BWI area, this hotel is a good option. If you are staying for leisure travel, you might want to consider another hotel because this hotel is pretty far from Baltimore and really far from DC.

Pros: Comfortable rooms that do not feel outdated, free parking, good service

Cons: Location is not that convenient to Baltimore or DC, room rates can be expensive here depending on what is going on in the area

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very close to BWI and with my Marriott VIP rate the price I paid made it very worth it!! Went to the bar and requested a cold glass of ice water and was served in a very polite manner. Parking is the only issue at night, because it tends to be very dark, drop your bags off in room and then move your car to a designated spot!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BWI Airport Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BWI Airport Marriott

Address: 1743 West Nursery Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BWI Airport Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the comfort and convenience of a prominent full-service hotel near Baltimore-Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport when staying at the stylish BWI Airport Marriott. Conveniently situated in the heart of the Washington, D.C./Baltimore government business district, this BWI hotel features complimentary shuttle service to the airport and Baltimore Light Rail so guests can enjoy convenient access to downtown and the Inner Harbor. Nearby attractions include Maryland Live! Casino, National Aquarium, Baltimore sports stadiums, historic Annapolis and Washington, D.C. With its easily accessible location and 18,000 square feet of flexible event space, the hotel is an ideal choice for business and social gatherings, maintaining a staff of event professionals that stand ready to ensure every detail is perfectly executed for outstanding events. Whether traveling for business, vacationing with family or planning a romantic weekend, this BWI Airport hotel is a remarkable destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BWI Airport Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bwi Airport Marriott Hotel Baltimore
Marriott Bwi Airport
Marriott Hotel Baltimore
Marriott Baltimore
Baltimore Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BWI Airport Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.