We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceiving Japanese Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matsu Japanese Restaurant

Matsu Japanese Restaurant
517 S Camp Meade Rd, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090-2736
410-850-0009
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Deceiving Japanese Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

So deceiving from the outside; but do not let it fool you. Amazing sushi, very fresh. Server Orion beer (which is getting more distribution stateside now), and I would actually par the scallop I had with some that I had in Okinawa a few weeks prior. The takeout sushi is the best. We drive an extra 15 minutes to get this over the 3 or 4 places near our house.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    17
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McLean VA
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A real find in the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Thanks to the good reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to try this little Japanese restaurant while staying at an airport hotel near BWI. From the outside it doesn't look very promising, but don't let that fool you. Once you step inside, you find yourself transported to Japan. The sushi is quite excellent, the sake selection is extensive and the shrimp tempura is very authentic. We liked it so much we returned two days later when we flew back to BWI. The restaurant would have merited five stars if not for the Chicken Teriyaki, which tasted a little off.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The place is away from major roads, from outside looks like nothing interesting. As soon as you open pair of doors you get a very friendly greeting and a smile. Waitresses are patient, knowledgeable about food the restaurant servers and able to make recommendations, despite some minor language problems. Food, if you like Japanese cuisine is great, and prices are affordable. Food is delivered to table quickly, and this is specially important when you eat on the way to the airport (bwi airport is 6 minutes away via back roads). Maki rolls are small, with lots of fish and only small layer of rice around, just the way I like it. Hot food is yummy. Highly recommended place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Don't Do Raw? Still Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We've been going to Matsu fairly regularly since about a year after they opened. I was very pleased with how they had transformed a mom 'n' pop pharmacy into a Japanese Restaurant. While neither my wife nor I eat raw sushi (tuna tataki is our limit) I love the cooked sushi and we both enjoy Bento Boxes, soups and the occasional fried rice (it's just too greasy oily) for us.

That said my son and daughter don't have out hangups and devour the just about anything they serve. None of us have ever had anything we didn't enjoy (well almost...)

I tried smoked salmon once and it was a bad experience, not that there was anything wrong with it (the remaining salmon was picked off my remain pieces and inhaled by the kids) I just couldn't stand it. I made a choice to try something new and it didn't work out... I even tried to conceal my dislike from the staff but, they noticed and offered to refund the dish, I respectfully declined.

We really enjoy the decor, how the staff takes care of us and oh, yeah the food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The best I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My girlfriend suggested Matsu and to be honest, I'm not a super fan of Asian food. I went in with little or no expectations... It turned out to be the best Japanese dish I've ever had in my life. I ordered the fried rice with beef and what a wise choice. The beef was more tender than I've ever had (I'd like it noted that I spent four years stationed in Yokosuka, Japan) and the rice was hot, seasoned and well made... Truly a culinary unexpected treat! If you find yourself anywhere in the area of the airport or surrounding areas, this is a MUST STOP for a pallet pleasing experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matsu Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Matsu Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matsu Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.