We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the road.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Szechuan Hot Wok

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Szechuan Hot Wok
831 Nursery Rd, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090-1303
410-636-0102
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Angeles City, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Middle of the road.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I stopped by the restaurant on April 5th (a Saturday afternoon) and ordered the Pepper Steak lunch special (Free soup, egg roll OR can of soda) for $5.25. It was about 50% onions, 30% bell pepper and 20% beef. The vegetables weren't cut very well and in my opinion, too large. A little disappointing, but I suppose somewhat typical. The flavor was good, but it tasted like it was missing something. I opted for the egg roll for my combo. It was above average.

The restaurant itself is geared for takeout/delivery exclusively, but does have 2 tables in a cramped waiting area. The lady who took my order was nice and she spoke decent English.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

This amazing restaurant in Linthicum Heights really made an impression on me! Their food was one of the best I`ve had in a very long time. The egg rolls were just divine! Also, their portions were really big, making sure you don`t leave there wanting more. And all of that tasteful food is really inexpensive. The service was also great, and the overall atmosphere was really welcoming and friendly. I really can`t say enough good things about this place. To sum it up, you should really check it out because you be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“A wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This amazing restaurant in Linthicum Heights really made an impression on me! Their food was one of the best I`ve had in a very long time. The egg rolls were just divine! Also, their portions were really big, making sure you don`t leave there wanting more. And all of that tasteful food is really inexpensive. The service was also great, and the overall atmosphere was really welcoming and friendly. I really can`t say enough good things about this place. To sum it up, you should really check it out because you be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Fresh Chinese Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you are in the Linthicum area, including BWI, and you want some, good, plentiful and reasonably priced Chinese food, this is the place to get it. Their delivery is quick and we have never had any mistakes. The food is good, my favorite is the Orange Chicken, with actual orange peels cooked with it, something you don’t see very often. Can’t beat the $5.25 price. The way I always judge Chinese places is by the rice, if it’s fresh the place is good, theirs is fresh.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“So much food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed at a hotel and had the food delivered.....was quick, hot and the most Chinese food ever. The portions was extremely large....enough for two plus leftovers! The delivery man was great...brought it right into the room! Definitely would order again!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechuan Hot Wok also viewed

Linthicum Heights, MD
Linthicum Heights, MD
 

Been to Szechuan Hot Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szechuan Hot Wok, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.