We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spur of the moment staycation that ended on an unhappy note!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inns & Suites BWI Airport

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com CountryInns.com
and 9 more sites!
Country Inns & Suites BWI Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1717 West Nursery Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Spur of the moment staycation that ended on an unhappy note!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My family and i decided that even though school was session that we wanted to get away for a weekend of relaxation and a little fun.We normally stay at The Marriott or Marriott brand hotels so this was our first time at Country Inn and Suites. The rate was great which lead us to give them a try. When we arrived to check in there was a little bit of a wait but the lady who checked us in was very nice and was eager to check us in. The room was very clean. The bathroom was average size but very clean as well.The televisions in the rooms are the old tube kind and we didnt find any options to order movies to in room checkout. However we were provided with FREE internet. Parking was also FREE which is always a plus. There is also FREE breakfast which consisted of waffles, eggs,sausage, pastries, muffins, fruit, cereal and other breakfast items. I must say that I was very impressed with the breakfast offerings. The business center/ computer in the lobby was out of order. I normally dont rate hotels on customer service alone but because the sole purpose of this trip was relaxation, customer service was a key factor here.

My children were eager to make there way to the pool. My sister and I were also ready to hit the hot tub. There is where our stay went horribly wrong. As soon as we entered the pool area we noticed the lifeguard sitting by the door. As we walked in I smiled and said "Good morning." He didnt reply and just turned his head and went back to using his tablet. Wow. After we were ready to get in, I walked over to the hot tub with my 1 year old on my hip. I just wanted to stick my foot in to feel the temp of the water. The Lifeguard yells out "No, you cant get in there! Puzzled i said "I'm sorry?" He yelled again (only about 3 feet from me) "You yes! Baby No and pointed to the sign behind him that stated that she needed to be 4 to use the hot tub" I said Ok . I then asked him if the pool was heated and what the temp was, He replied in a loud voice "huh! I dont know 82? At this point i felt as though i was bothering him or something. There were several times that he yelled out at the kids in anger because the were playing "Marco Polo" because it seemed as though they were distracting him from using his tablet.The final straw was when I inquired as to whether or not the lifeguard was available during all pool hours.He replied with a look of anger and disgust "Yes! the pool cant be open without one and went back to looking at the tablet again. There were many other times during out time at the pool that he kept making faces at us as though were annoying him! I just decided that we would just go back to the room and get ready for lunch. This may not seem like a big deal to some but his demeanor and interaction with us ruined out whole weekend. The kids just wanted to enjoy themselves but instead they found themselves trying not to disturb the lifeguard!!! i he didnt want to work that day, he should have called out sick. Period! This experience really left me with a sour feeling of Country Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnStevenHock, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites BWI Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We wish to let you know that your voice is of utmost importance to us, and it means a lot to us to know that you have made an effort to inform us of the things we may need to improve on to better our services in total. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and pin pointing the deficiency you found with regards to the staff demeanor. We wish to let you know that this is definitely not a common occurrence and we also believe that such exhibited behavior is unacceptable. Rest assured that such matter will be evaluated accordingly and be given prompt actions so that it may be corrected in the best possible way. Thank you for the opportunity to grow and improve more and we certainly hope that we may be given the chance to give you a far better experience should you reconsider and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    52
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
68
34
9
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milford, DE
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Check-in went flamlessly and was greeted by friendly staff. Everything was as described in the web site. The desk clerk promised "breakfast bags" will be at the desk since we had an early fkight out and would miss complementary breakfast. In the morning there were no bags and the coffee was luke warm at best. Front desk was told twice by two guests and was not refreshed the 20 minutes I was there.
All-in-all it was a pleasent comfortable stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Sign up for airport shuttle as you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnStevenHock, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites BWI Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
It has always been our goal to make the stay of our guests as pleasant as possible; and to hear that we have achieved that during your stay is indeed heart-warming. We are also grateful for the fact that you gave us an opportunity on how to serve you better. We apologize for our shortcomings and for failing to promptly give you the breakfast bags. Thank you for making us aware of the needed improvements and you can be assured that we will definitely give due attention to details so that we may avoid such matters to ever occur again. We hope that this will not deter you from giving us another chance should you ever revisit the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent a Saturday night here. Our room was a king size bed was very clean and comfortable. We did not use the microwave or refrigerator but it was nice that they were there. Our room was very quiet. The parking lot seemed full yet I didn't hear any noise from the other guests or overhead airport traffic even though we were only a mile from BWI. There is a Chili's next door so we went there for dinner. They have a nice breakfast buffet which was a bit more than a continental breakfast. My husband wanted a full hot breakfast so we went to the buffet at the Marriott next door. I did a cup of coffee and juice early in the morning.
I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnStevenHock, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites BWI Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
To hear such an inspiring feedback from our valued guest is indeed heart-warming. We couldn’t thank you enough for appreciating all the hard work we put into serving you well. The notice you gave to our reliable staff as well as the liking for the cleanliness of the accommodation and the breakfast served motivates us to strive harder than hard to excel more in this line of work. We sincerely hope that we could be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night before flying out of BWI the next morning. The shuttle driver picked me up at the airport quickly and he was extremely nice. It is a quick free shuttle ride from the airport to the hotel. The front desk manager was great and helped me to get my boarding pass printed out, even though the business center printer wasn't working. The room was large and clean, and despite being so close to the airport I did not notice any airplane noise. They have a very nice free breakfast in the morning that had a good range of items to choose from. If you are looking for a clean, convienent place to stay near BWI then I reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnStevenHock, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites BWI Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We truly bank on giving our guests the best service they deserve and we ensure that we go above and beyond what is needed, for you to notice and appreciate all our hard work is indeed heart-warming and very inspiring. Thank you for making the effort to share to us your valuable feedback pertaining to the overall accommodation and the served breakfast. We couldn’t be more pleased to know that we are doing a great job in making our guests happy. We certainly hope that we could be of service to you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel when we were in town for a training class. The hotel provides a free shuttle to the airport and training facility. They also have a free breakfast consisting of belgium waffles (large and mini sizes), eggs, bacon, country potatoes, oatmeal, cereals, fresh fruit, assorted breads, danishes and juices. Complimentary wifi, coffee/tea and cookies are also available. You can wash a load of laundry for free, which is nice for the amount of time we were here. There is a Chili's next door. The bed and pillows are comfortable. The room was a little warm, so we ran the a/c at night. I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will be staying next time we are in town for training.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnStevenHock, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites BWI Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
The comfort and convenience of our valued guests means so much to us, and to be able to ensure it without fail is our primary goal. We truly appreciate the time and the effort you gave to share to us your positive experience. To hear that we have served you well is rewarding enough for us already. Thank you for your kind recommendation, and we wish to let you know that your heart-warming feedback, serves as an inspiration for us to further excel in the delivery of our services. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We love Country Inns--and this was no exception with clean facility, courteous and helpful staff, nice breakfast--including make your own waffles! Elevator, AC, apples and cookies in lobby.

However, after walking the capitol all day we hoped fora swim and then soak our feet in the hot tub.
Pool was too cold to even get in and the hot tub was not working.

Still a good visit--otherwise a 5 when it comes to value.

Room Tip: Nice base between DC and Baltimore--visited both for family vacation during summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnStevenHock, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites BWI Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Your satisfaction means a lot to us, and to be able to hear that we have served you well is more than enough to inspire us to work harder than hard to give our valued guests the best service they deserve at all times. Thank you for sharing to us your wonderful experience and it brings us great joy that you appreciated our very reliable staff as well as the hotel cleanliness and the breakfast selection offered. We apologize if the hot tub was not available during the time of your stay and the pool temperature was not of your liking. Thank you for helping us to further improve by giving us your insightful feedback. We hope to serve you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainier, Oregon
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here because of the proximity to the airport, and to a daughter in DC. The property was outstanding in every way - 3 minutes from BWI, newish condition, large spacious rooms, great amenities, hearty breakfast. There were airline crews from several domestic airlines staying here when we did, indicating that it was a good deal. My only concern was with the (male) staff. The young man at the front desk when we checked in appeared to be afflicted with a bad case of "New-York-City I don't care an iota about you" attitude. He was only moderately efficient, but eventually did his job. A different young man the next day was similarly unconcerned about customer service. Finally, on our checkout day, the shuttle driver was positively surly. He may have been up all night, but still he should realize that the customer is the reason his paycheck comes, and at least pretend to be human, instead of a troll.

Room Tip: Even-numbered rooms face the airport and not the hillside behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountryInnStevenHock, General Manager at Country Inns & Suites BWI Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
It is indeed regrettable to hear that we have not met your expectations in the best possible way, and for that we are deeply sorry. We wish to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to inform us of how we may better improve in the delivery of our services. The constructive feedback you gave regarding our customer service in total will not go unnoticed and rest assured that this will be given its due action to correct such deficiency. We sincerely hope that we may be given another chance to make it right on your next visit to the area. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inns & Suites BWI Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inns & Suites BWI Airport

Also Known As:
Country Inns And Suites Bwi Airport
Country Inns & Suites Bwi Airport Hotel Linthicum
Country Inns & Suites Bwi Airport Hotel
Country Inn Linthicum
Country Inn Bwi Airport
Linthicum Country Inn
Address: 1717 West Nursery Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Linthicum Heights
#8 Family Hotel in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inns & Suites BWI Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites BWI Airport hotel in Baltimore is just two miles from Baltimore Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport and convenient to Downtown Baltimore, Annapolis, Washington D.C. and the Baltimore Washington Parkway. Located in the BWI Hotel District in Linthicum, Maryland, this Country Inn & Suites is convenient to a number of area businesses and attractions. Guests are sure to enjoy this Linthicum hotel's convenient location, comfortable accommodations and customer-centered service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Country Inns & Suites BWI Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inns & Suites BWI Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Country Inns & Suites BWI Airport to your Saves list