We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good Choice, Nothing Special But Reasonable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton BWI Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton BWI Airport to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton BWI Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   890 Elkridge Landing Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay, & Go
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
337 helpful votes 337 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Choice, Nothing Special But Reasonable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Booked our room through Hotwire for $59 and thought it was well worth that price.
Located close to BWI with free shuttle to either BWI or the Light Rail system this hotel is a good choice if you are flying or need to go downtown and don't want to drive.
The rooms were in good repair and the staff was friendly. Nothing really amazing, but nothing to complain about either.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    192
    103
    37
    24
See reviews for
129
139
61
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St louis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

It would be nice to have some clean sheets. Especially when your fight gets in at 11:30 p.m. and you have an important meeting that you have to leave for at 6 a.m. It is not nice to notice that your sheets have been slept in by previous guests ( I will spare the gross details). Granted, the front desk attendant offered to give me another room, but I did not feel like putting all my clothes on and gathering all my stuff at 12:30 a.m. It would have been nice to have clean sheets from a get go like I am used to. I am not a picky traveler, but some basic necessities are a must.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

This HI is in the middle of a remodel. They're very conscientious about disturbing the guests, and have well marked the areas being worked on.

This hotel is located near most all of the rest hotels near BWI, necessitating a shuttle (which arrived quickly). You can phone them [for free] from the kiosk in baggage claim near the info desk. The hotel is set up for meetings and conventions, and the downstairs lobby area reflects that. Free parking, if you have your car.

The remodeled rooms are beautiful, if a little small. The bath fixtures are high end and wonderful. A+ to the designer for a very sleek, yet elegant design. The pillow top bed was comfortable and the air conditioner worked well. Oddly, there was no closet in our room. Plenty of drawer space, but no closet.

Our room must have been in the middle of remodeling as a drawer handle was missing, and there were none of the usual things on the desk (hotel info, pen, paper, etc). Other than that, it was lovely.

We got a great deal on Priceline. Three of us checked in, went to the room to find it with one bed. That's okay; that happens sometimes with Priceline. Usually they want another $10 for another bed. I went down to ask if there were any with two beds available and was told that the hotel was 100% booked. Considering that I reserved the room a few hours prior, I find it difficult to believe that they would book their "last" room with Priceline, potentially having to turn away full price customers. The manager offered to bring us some sheets and blankets. Predictably, they never came. It was hard to tell if the night crew was lazy or just not the brightest bulbs on the tree. I think probably a combination of both. (The day crew at checkout was sharp, friendly, and competent.)

The exception was the shuttle driver - a bright, articulate, funny, middle-aged black man full of information about the hotel and the area. HE should be giving customer service lessons to the rest of them (or they should simply make him night manager.)

The business center had three computers; one out of order. The other two CRAWLED. Nothing to write with in there either. Hasn't been remodeled and hopefully they will upgrade at that time; otherwise, it's pretty useless.

Overall, for the price, if you just need a place to crash on your way somewhere else, it's okay for a PL bid. I wouldn't pay full price nor would this be a destination hotel.

Doesn't really matter how gorgeous the rooms become if the staff is lazy.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

Myself and a friend stayed here for a week in late March 09.
I would recommend this hotel to any one heading to this area, the rooms as the previous reviewer said are newly refurbished very nicely, we had a twin room and it was well appointed with a great LCD TV nice desk and very good beds.
The free Internet in room, is a great boost to.
Very good housekeeping, the place was always clean.

The bathrooms are on the small size but unless you're having 3 or so people in there at once its not a problem. Good shower too. Only negative is that the doors (or walls) of the rooms seem to allow a lot of noise in and out, but its a quite hotel and it was never bothersome.

Staff were very helpful and the free shuttle is a life saver. Do make sure you have the hotel number in your cell however since you will need to call for it.

The Amtrak and MARC train station are only a few minutes away by shuttle great for getting to both central DC (union station) and Baltimore. (only Amtrak's sat-sun)

The business center's computer are a little old but i only used it to print out a few forms, and they did the job.
While the hotel restaurant is very good and does some mean pancakes for breakfast, it is expensive. So a word of caution, there is nothing within walking distance other than a Qiznos. If you have a car however there is alot more within a few minutes drive.

Overall at the rate we got it was a super stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

There is always a moment of panic when you book a trip on one of those websites that take your money before they tell you the name of the hotel. Although I have never had a bad experience with Hotwire (And have stayed in some great places like Blue Indigo in Buffalo) there can always be a first time.

When the hotel came back as the Holiday Inn BWI, those fears increased. It seems like that Holiday Inn has been there as long as the airport has! With ALL the new hotels in that area figures I woudl get the oldest building there! I am happy to report though that Hotwire's winning streak continues.

As I pulled up, the reason for the great rate became apparent. Banners were everywhere announcing their renovations! It was apparent that the outside of the building had been redone and seemed as though the lobby had been too. There was a small bar, a restaurant that was not open yet and, conveniently, a small station where you can print out your boarding pass for free.

Check-in was quick. Hotwire covered room and tax so I left a debit card for incidentals. (there was a sign noting that a "hold" of $25/night will be placed on a debit card for incidentals. Although this hold is released on checkout, bank policies vary as to when those fund again become available) I was told that the restaurant and room service is open from 5pm-10pm and that bar food is available until later.

On my way to the elevator, I was able to check out a couple of the meeting rooms, They looked small but very well decorated. On the elevators was another banner indicating that they are being renovated too and to expect a wait . I guess they were done for the week because I had no trouble.

As I reached my floor, it was clear the design team had been at work. The long hallway was broken up evey 10 feet or so by alternating sections of dark and light brown wall paper.

Then I got to my room VERY nice. The room was decorated in the dark woods and earthtones that is the theme for the building, I had a king bed which left room for a sage green loveseat that converts. Along the left wall was the low rise dresser on top of which sat a 36" LCD TV. There was also a small desk and a small coffee take infront of the loveseat. The whole hotel offers free wireless internet,. Cable stations were limited to the networks, the tbs's and usa's several ESPN's and HBO familiy. Pay movies are avail tho.

The bathroom was small - almost cruise-ship small - but nicely decorated in similar earthtones. A vessel sink was hung below a tan marble and chrome vanity, several bath towels were rolled neatly underneath. The shower is not the firehose velocity that I enjoy but did the trick.

The best part of the room however (and the reason this just became my favorite BWI hotel) is how the bed was done. The bed consisted of a high dark wood headboard and 5 pillows were set on the diagonal in front.

The bedding consisted of a white bottom sheet, a white top sheet, a white down comforter, a textured white sheet above that AND a shorter taupe runner that went across the bottom.

It was simple, elegant, but most importantly, CLEARLY designed to be totally laundered on a regular basis. I have never been a big fan of those heavy, smelly, sticky-from-God-knows-what bedspreads that many hotels use mostly because I don't see how they EVER get washed. Not the case here

Check out was friendly and quick.. Its clear that the staff is excited about the changes going on there and thats always a good thing.

There are SOOO many hotels in the BWI area that it is hard to recommend one over another, but I enjoyed my stf at the Holiday Inn very much

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Kind of PRICEY - after tax (WITH my discounts) ONE night came to a hundred dollars Amercan! It AINT CHEAP, folks; this is premium priced for the near-rich. Beautiful new furnishings, though; FABULOUS new HVAC. Best HVAC (other than central) we have seen. Room was very quiet, everything seemed to work. Problem? Cleanliness. We were booked into the first room, and it was "unmade". Dirty towels, unmade bed, etc. We went back to the front desk and were sent to a different room. Much better. Everything looked clean and worked. VERY comfortable and quiet. We sadly learned - at 11:30 PM, wheh we were too tired to move AGAIN - the tub was "less than spotless'. I sprayed it down with hot water from the shower (great VERY HOT water pressure on 5th floor) and took a shower. Desk staff was totally apologetic each time. Their attutude is good, so if you're looking for a premium-priced room near BWI, this is one quiet option. It's not-quite-finished RENOVATING.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
204 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

Booked through priceline for 65$US all inclusive.

This airport hotel is located in the middle of nowhere, as with most of these types of accommodation. It has definitely seen better times, but work is underway to renovate it.

Check in was fast and pleasant. As I associated my priority reward card to this reservation, I got a nice freebie, a 10$ voucher to be used on any buys in the hotel.

The room was big and king bed was large and comfortable. The TV was a regular 27 in. Free internet is provided as with a good work area. Bathroom is typical, smallish but clean. I didnt use the other amenities, a smallish gym, and they have an outdoor pool, obviously closed for the season.

I used my voucher for breakfast, a Egg chesapeake, with fresh crab. Yummy. Shuttle service was fast and efficient. Overall, was pleased by the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton BWI Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton BWI Airport

Address: 890 Elkridge Landing Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Linthicum Heights
#3 Business Hotel in Linthicum Heights
#5 Romantic Hotel in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton BWI Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers expect great atmosphere, amenities and service. Find all this and more at the Doubletree by Hilton Baltimore-BWI Airport Conference Center, where we are poised to meet your every need. Convenient to Baltimore, Maryland, Washington, DC, and Annapolis, MD, our attractive 260-room airport hotel features upgraded high speed Internet and is less than 5 minutes from BWI Airport, and the Amtrak and Baltimore Light Rail stations. The hotel is only 8 miles from Baltimore's Inner Harbor, home of Orioles Park at Camden Yards, the National Aquarium,and the Baltimore Convention Center and business district. We are adjacent to Ciena Corporation offices, Northrop Grumman, Lockheed Martin, and Booz Allen Hamilton. The Doubletree by Hilton BWI hotel is only 4 miles from Arundel Mills Mall where you can shop at well-known stores like Bass Pro Shops, Bed Bath & Beyond then enjoy Dave and Buster's restaurant or the Medieval Times Dinner Theatre. Our Conference Center has meeting space ideal for weddings, receptions and reunions. Start the day at this Doubletree by Hilton in Baltimore with a healthy breakfast at Eden's Landing Restaurant or in our gourmet coffee and sundry shop Props. Then enjoy a work-out at our expanded fitness center or shoot some baskets at our outdoor sports court that includes a swimming pool and volleyball court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton BWI Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bwi Airport Hotel Linthicum
Holiday Inn Linthicum
Linthicum Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton BWI Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.