We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't sleep at all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1510 Aero Drive, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    180
    95
    52
    32
See reviews for
190
127
43
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel needs a good cleaning. My room smelled like wet dog. HVAC is very noisy. The blackout curtains are too short and let in a lot of light. No restaurant in hotel. There are 2 chain restaurants near by, but it was too cold to walk there. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingate12702, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Chris,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm sorry that you felt the room had an odor, we are a 100% non-smoking hotel and do not allow pets (unless they are service animals). Our Chief Engineer will repair the A/C unit. This is the first time I have heard that the blackout curtains are too short, so we will look into that. As for restaurants, you are correct that there are two within walking distance, but our shuttle can also take guests to and from (especially convenient when it's cold or bad weather).

I welcome you to call me directly should you want to discuss your recent stay in more detail, or be willing to give us another chance when you return to our area.

My apologies again,

Jill Porter
Director of Sales
410-859-0003 X 7037
jporter@stevensmanagement.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have had wonderful and unforgettable memories of the wyndham hotel. Being that this hotel was affiliated with the Wyndham franchise I assumed that it was up to par like say the wyndham garden baronne plaza in new orleans. Not really...I must say I was disappointed in the fact that I did not receive a room on the floor that I originally requested (4th or 5th) and was put on the 2nd floor. But nonetheless, I got over it. However, the heating unit was not working properly. We put the heat on 80 degrees and it was still blowing COLD AIR. My boyfriend and I did everything we could think of to rectify this problem before calling the front desk. So finally we called the front desk and the guy at the desk said that maintenance was not on property and would be back first thing in the morning ( on a sunday) and my room would be looked at first. The next day I waited until noon and called the front desk again. I told the lady what the night desk agent stated and she said that he did not even make a work order and maintenance would not be in at all due to it being a weekend. Not surprised. But they moved me to another room (suite). The suite on the surface was nice, but as I looked deeper I began to notice problems here and there. The dining table was sticky and had food residue upon entering, the refrigerator was missing the gage knob, paint was peeling off in the corners of the ceiling, and the tub drained incredibly SLOW leaving dirt and residue behind. The breakfast was pretty good and the fitness area was nice. The hotel i slocated 10 minutes from downtown and 6 minutes Arundel Mills which were both great sources of entertainment. However, I was not thrilled with this Wyndham establishment. I truly expected more of a higher caliber hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quiter and less traffic. But overall there are really no "bad rooms."
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingate12702, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
np0well,

Thank you for the candid feedback. We have discussed your review with our front desk, Chief Engineer, and Executive Housekeeper in detail so that what you encountered isn't repeated.

If you wish to speak to me directly regarding your recent stay please don't hesitate to contact me. Thank you for being a Wyndham customer, and if you return to our area and are willing to give us another chance please contact me so I can ensure you have a much better experience!

Be Well,

Jill Porter
Director of Sales
410-859-0003 X 7037
jporter@stevensmanagement.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

If you require reliable internet, chose another hotel!

This used to be a bearable quick overnight stay because the staff were familiar and the beds quite comfortable.

The current management have cut off so much of the corners, it's now a circle. The place is getting tired and you can't just dust away filth anymore.

They used to offer fruit too - that's gone. I rated them higher previously because the late night guys would grab me a glass of milk for my tea - not anymore.

We had to go to the friendlier Hilton hotel (Garden Inn) across the way to use their internet and drink their coffee because it by far supersedes the coffee flavored toilet water the Wingate offers.

The place probably stays in business because a lot of returning military and stingy airlines put their crew members here over night.

Don't do it. It's not worth the indignity, pay the extra few bucks and stay at the Hilton Garden Inn (for example), you will also be a block closer to the Applebys(?) for a half decent meal.

The only positive left is the new hand lotion they offer - it's lovely.

Shame on you Wingate Hotel!!

* p.s. Do not order take away Chinese from the menu in the room - blech!

Room Tip: Book another hotel, this place has become a dump. Internet trickles like syrup throughout hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingate12702, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Jetlagged,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I want you to know that your feedback has been taken seriously and discussed in detail.

As you know, we provide a hot deluxe breakfast to all of our guests complimentary. In addition, fresh coffee is available 24 hours a day and we receive a lot of possitive compliments about the taste of our coffee. We do provide guests with milk for their tea or fruit if requested, and apologize that our front desk staff did not provide these extra's for you. We will ensure that all guest service agents understand they should provide these for guests, and we will also be adding a small basket of fruit at the front desk.

We take cleanliness seriously and feel that all of our guests deserve the best in hospitality. Should there be anything else we can do for you please don't hesitate to contact our General Manager, Roxanne Rivera, directly at 410-859-0003 X 7003 or rrivera@stevensmanagement.net

Be Well,

Jill Porter
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Awesome hotel great breakfast hot and cold great selection .nice clean room .and i booked with hotels.com and prepaid and that was it give your confirmation number and go get your keys and leave when you check out great process. large room .if your flying out very good location.and friendly helpful staff.

Room Tip: the room is nice and roomy and the heat is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport

Address: 1510 Aero Drive, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport is located just 2 miles from BWI Airport and central to Baltimore, Fort Meade, Columbia, Ellicott City, Annapolis and Washington, DC. Features 129 sleeping rooms and 1000 square feet of meeting space. Hot Deluxe Breakfast, Wired and Wireless High Speed Internet, 24-hour Airport Shuttle, Indoor Heated Swimming Pool and Fitness Center, In-room Refridgerator, Microwave, Hairdryer and safe, Fully Equipped Business Center. Walking distance to Bob Evans & Ruby Tuesday's restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Linthicum / Bwi Airport Hotel Linthicum
Wingate Bwi Airport
Wingate Hotel Linthicum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.