We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Nice Place to Stay - Close to BWI Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport to your Saves list
Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1510 Aero Drive, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pretty Nice Place to Stay - Close to BWI Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The free breakfast was okay - nothing outstanding. The only problem we had was that we were assigned a room with someone already staying there. Needless to say, it was pretty embarrassing! It's a good thing the occupant had the deadbolt engaged. The maintenance lady, that helped us (because we initially did not realize the room was occupied and she was going to try and disengage the deadbolt), lightened the sitation and at least made us laugh - she was great! The free shuttle to the airport was great - we got to the airport on time and in one piece. I would stay here again if I was to fly out of BWI.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingate12702, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Marcia,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. I want to extend an apology for the embarrasing encounter. I'm thankful our employee was able to make you feel comfortable and rectify the situation. I encourage you to call or email me directly so I can learn the details of the error in hopes of training to ensure it isn't repeated. We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,
Jill Porter
Director of Sales
410-859-0003 X 7037
jporter@stevensmanagement.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    180
    95
    52
    32
See reviews for
190
127
43
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Avoca, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My company booked this hotel for an overnight trip. Was impressed with how easy it was to get on and off I-695. Everyone we met was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and very large (my husband and I were in a king room). It was a quiet area, I had to leave at 5am for work and felt safe.

Some downsides they seemed to be a fan of closing ammenities in the hotel early. The night we arrived while at the front desk asking a question the pool guy came up and ask if he could close the pool because there was lightning...it was and indoor pool. I had never heard of that ever being an issue...it did not effect our stay but gave us a good chuckle. Also the next morning I was excited when I got back from my event at 830am to go down and have breakfast. It was about 9am when my husband and I got downstairs and the bagels were litterally packed up while we were standing there. We just barely got our waffles before they too were packed up. There were also no hours listed that I saw. It seemed rather early for a hotel who has check out at 12 noon.

On the plus side the waffles were great! Once again the hotel itself was a great place to stay. I hope they have me stay here again next time I have to come back to Baltimore. Also, I highly recomend trying the G&M seafood place if you get a chance. We got carry out and brought it back with us!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingate12702, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Katie,

We too hope that your company books you at our hotel again! It was wonderful to see that you enjoyed your stay. I did want to address some of the concerns you brought up.

In regards to the pool, it is our procedure to close the pool down during a lightning storm to protect our guests. The National Lightning Safety Institute recommends people be evacuated from the pool when lightning is within 6-8 miles and for at least 30 minutes after the last observed lightning.

Our Hot Deluxe Breakfast is available to our guests Monday-Friday from 6am-9am and Saturday and Sunday from 7am-10am and these hours are posted in the breakfast area. The hours tend to work well for our guests, and since we are mainly an airport/business location this suits the needs of most guests.

As for G&M Crabcakes, they are delicious! Maybe next time you are in town we will indulge together.

Be Well,

Jill Porter
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, AR
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Pros: Close to BWI, a movie house is about two blocks away, the staff is very courteous, complimentary shuttle to light rail station, quiet room w/HBO, free parking, very reasonable prices.

Other: Breakfast is plentiful but so-so in quality. The beds, pillows, and linen thread count are a couple steps down from Hilton/Hampton Inn properties.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingate12702, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
ZedHed,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on our property and for telling others about all of the great reasons to stay at our property. Our hot deluxe breakfast does have a lot of options and most guests really like it. As for our linen, Wingate properties use WynRest and WynDry linens and they are a thread count of 250.

We truly hope to see you again soon!

Be Well,

Jill Porter
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I was thinking to myself when my company booked me here what did Ido wrong. There are many motels in this area and i have stayed at another a couple of years ago. With all of the business travelers staying close to the airport some properties tend to get rundowned. I was surprised at the Wingate property. It was pretty nice, very quiet with a few places to eat just around the corner so my week there was pretty good. The fitness room was clean and for the most part and I didn't have any issues.

Room Tip: I always prefer the ground floor facing away any traffic area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingate12702, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Mr. Jones,

I'm so glad to hear that your "perception" of Wingate was proven wrong by your pleasant stay. We hope to have you as our guest again soon!

Sincerely,

Jill Porter
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This hotel is about a 15 minute drive from downtown Baltimore, in a small hotel district near the Airport. I chose this hotel because I didnt feel like paying for a hotel downtown AND have to pay for parking. The Wingate was very reasonably priced, and had free parking, and decent reviews so I decided to give it a try.

The Hotel itself is pretty nice, has a large breakfast room, small weight room with a few machines, and a small pool. Rooms had flatscreen TVs, and mine even had a couch. The room itself was nice, bed was super hard, but everything was relatively clean, and didnt have any weird odors. Breakfast was nice, had the typical "hot" breakfast you get for free at a hotel. Waffles, Bacon, Eggs...and of course bagels, cereal, fruit, and toast. The only reason I didnt give it 5 stars is because the 2nd night I was there, i noticed some weird stains on the comforter...which skeeved me out a bit. But overall it was a nice stay, the staff was very nice, breakfast was good, and I would stay here again if I was staying in the Baltimore Area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingate12702, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for the detailed review! Overall it sounds like you had a pleasant stay with us, good price, free parking, nice amenities, hot breakfast . . . however the comforter situation is definitely not up to our standards. If you would contact me directly so we can investigate I'd truly appreciate it. Good, bad, or indifferent - feedback is the only way to improve!

Thank you and hope to hear from you soon,

Jill Porter
Director of Sales
410-859-0003 X 7037
jporter@stevensmanagement.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I chose this hotel because of its close proximity to the airport. I was delivering my daughter's car who is attending tech school at Fort Meade and then flew back home. The area has many hotels but when I booked it they offered a good discount provided I agreed to non-refundable conditions. It does not have a restaurant but has an extensive self-service breakfast buffet that is included. The only thing I didn't like is the design of the bathroom. The vanity area was not separate from the bath/toilet area.

Room Tip: You can get a really good deal on a room if you book it as non-refundable. I saved $25 per night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingate12702, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Deb,

Thanks for taking the time to review our property. The bathroom vanity isn't something we can easily fix, but as you mentioned our proximity to the airport and Ft. Meade make us a good fit. I'm so glad you enjoyed our breakfast! We also have two restaurants within walking distance (Bob Evans & Ruby Tuesdays) and our shuttle will take guests within a 5 mile radius.

Look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit your daughter,

Jill Porter
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

we stayed for just one night before flying to orlando. excellent in everyway. easiest, fastest check in ever. very professional and courteous staff. the room was beautiful, very clean and super comfortable beds. we did a park and fly. when returning and calling for the shuttle to pick us up at airport, he was there in just a few minutes and very
friendly. will certainly return whenver we fly out of Baltimore.

we travel often and we are VERY fussy. I would highly recommend. also, a Ruby Tuesday within walking for a nice
dinner.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any "bad" rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wingate12702, Director of Sales at Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel Stevann. We are so pleased to hear about your "outstanding" experience with our property. We look forward to seeing you again on your next flight out of BWI Airport!

Be Well,

Jill Porter
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport

Address: 1510 Aero Drive, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport is located just 2 miles from BWI Airport and central to Baltimore, Fort Meade, Columbia, Ellicott City, Annapolis and Washington, DC. Features 129 sleeping rooms and 1000 square feet of meeting space. Hot Deluxe Breakfast, Wired and Wireless High Speed Internet, 24-hour Airport Shuttle, Indoor Heated Swimming Pool and Fitness Center, In-room Refridgerator, Microwave, Hairdryer and safe, Fully Equipped Business Center. Walking distance to Bob Evans & Ruby Tuesday's restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Linthicum / Bwi Airport Hotel Linthicum
Wingate Bwi Airport
Wingate Hotel Linthicum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham BWI Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.