We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for one night” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1247 Winterson Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“OK for one night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night before flying out of BWI. It was just OK. We used Priority Club points.

The first room we were given smelled very bad, like feces. We went back down to the desk and asked for another room. The desk clerk acted like he knew there was a problem but he still wasn't very pleased we were asking to be moved and he informed us they didn't have any other rooms like we booked with our POINTS. I guess because we were staying in a free room we were just supposed to tolerate the stink. When we pressed the issue we were finally given another room. This one was pretty dusty but at least it didn't smell.

The next morning we asked for a receipt just to make sure nothing was put on our credit card that shouldn't have been. This also seemed to be a problem. There was a $25 charge that was really a charge between the hotel and Priority Club and I still don't understand why this was on my bill. It was never actually charged to my credit card but it was a concern when we initially saw it.

I did not walk away from this property feeling like a valued guest. Yes, I stayed for "free" with Priority Club points but I earned those points by being a loyal customer to their parent company. I would probably only stay here again if I couldn't find a room somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney L, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I apologize that you experienced an issue with your original room while staying with us. Our IHG rewards members are our most valued guests and we try to accomodate them in any way that we can. We have several guests that stay on points, and we are very happy to have them! I undersatnd your concerns about the bill, and assure you that you will not be charged anything. I hope that you will decide to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    27
    19
    9
    0
See reviews for
12
17
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Keedysville, Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here night before flying out of BWI. Great value in the room plus leaving our car here for 12 days. Hotel staff was great and found our room to be great. Stopped my the snack room for the kids snack.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney L, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel! We are glad you were able to take advantage of our great Park and Fly package. I hope you enjoyed your trip and we look forward to seeing you again for your next flight out of BWI!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here the night before we flew out to Jamaica. I thought the price was pretty good and so was the location. We are at Chili's which is only 2 minutes down the road. I thought that there should be more places to eat in the area being that most people stay at the hotels/motels around the area being that they are close the airport. The room was nice and had a kitchen equipped with a full-sized fridge, microwave, dishwasher, toaster and dishware. The bed was small though and with 2 people sleeping in it lets just say its hard to not roll off the bed at night. Also, the curtains did not close which was terrible because the light comes right on and it is as if you are sleeping with the lights on. Furthermore, the water pressure was terrible. Overall though, nice location, nice room, and friendly service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We checked in on a Sunday and our room was ready (3:00pm). We were up on the 3rd floor, not a problem with elevators or stairs. The carpeting is old with lots of stains on it (both hallway and room). The kitchen area is good...having plates, silverware, cooking utensils, etc. and a grocery store a few miles away. They also have washers and dryers which are free to guests, but was very surprised when they were actually selling toothbrushes, combs, razors, etc (50 cents)...which most motels/hotels give you free! Parking was at a premium, although the hotels wasn't full. Only restaurants close by are a Wendy's and Bob Evans. Cracker Barrel is in the process of being built. The front desk did give us a menu from the Szechuan Hot Wok chinese which delivers and I will say it was excellent with the most chicken I have even gotten! Front desk staff was nice but seemed busy all the time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney L, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel. I am glad that you found our rooms accomodating with our full kitchens in every room. I am pleased to say that we are having the hallway carpet replaced very soon. I am happy that you enjoyed the chinese restaurant the front desk recommended. We are very excited for the Cracker Barrel to open soon! Thank you for staying and we hope to see you if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Recently my family stayed at the Candlewood Suites in Baltimore. Although there was one major glitch, out stay was pleasant because of the staff working the front desk, and the shuttle drivers. Our flight arrived far too early to check in, however, the front desk clerk allowed us to leave our luggage at the hotel while we went into DC. The shuttle bus driver was incredible, full of helpful hints, very accommodating, knowledgeable about the area, and even recommended a breakfast place for us. When we returned to the hotel, to officially check in, the front desk clerk was wonderful. When we discovered that our room had been wrongly booked ( we were in a smoking room with 1 bed, and a pull out couch - for 4 adult sized people - absolute non smokers) the front desk person could not make any room switches because it was booked up. Ultimately we had the room sprayed down - very smokey smell that turned my 11 year old daughters stomach.
Over all the hotel met our basic needs. But the cheerfulness, and accommodating staff made the stay enjoyable. Sometimes quality customer service is more important that the service provided.

Room Tip: if you require a non smoking room, check and re check your reservation/confirmation to ensure it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney L, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. I am very pleased that you found our team so accomodating. They work very hard to go above and beyond for our guests! We try to make every guest experience a great one, and I apologize that your reservation was booked incorrectly. Next time you are in the area I urge you to book directly through the hotel so we can assure that your room is booked correctly. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo West, Colorado
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is an average property. The bed was small for a queen; however, the room was clean and comfortable. It is close to everything we wanted to see including Baltimore on a Sunday, the Savage Mill Shops, and numerous other venues. The parking lot gets snug on weekdays One teaspoon in the drawer and no tablespoons. Full sized fridge, microwave, two burner range, and a dishwasher. An okay property, but I would question the size of a queen...perhaps I've been in a king too long.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Jim N,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are very happy that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable.

Please accept our sincerest apologies if you didn't find the size of the bed to your liking. Nonetheless, we are still pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We chose this place mainly for its proximity to BWI airport because we had early morning flights. The room was very clean and comfortable, the staff was very warm and professional. The property was easy to find. They have their own shuttle which travels to the airport every half hour, we got there very quickly. I was surprised how close the airport actually was because I there was no airplane flyover noise inside the building.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum

Address: 1247 Winterson Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Linthicum Heights
#16 Business Hotel in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home™ Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum, the ideal choice for business and leisure travelers, is conveniently located 2 miles from BWI Airport and provides free shuttle service from 7am - 11pm. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range and dishwasher.Traveling on business? The Candlewood Suites Linthicum offers free high speed Internet, local phone calls, two separate phone lines, voice-mail, and a great executive desk. The hotel is convenient to the Baltimore Convention Center and University of Maryland Baltimore. Use our free laundry facility and Fitness Center. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). The Candlewood Suites is 8 miles from downtown Baltimore, Camden Yards-Baltimore Orioles, M&T Bank Stadium-Baltimore Ravens, Baltimore Inner Harbor, Baltimore Zoo, Baltimore National Aquarium and Fort McHenry.Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, the hotel s on-site convenience store. We also offer rates that include breakfast contact hotel directly.Stay at the Candlewood Suites Baltimore and enjoy all the features and amenities this extended stay hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum Hotel Linthicum
Candlewood Suites Linthicum
Candlewood Linthicum
Linthicum Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.