We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below par for a Candlewood property.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1247 Winterson Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Mansfield, Texas
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Below par for a Candlewood property.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

As a frequent traveler, I use the Candlewood properties for business several times a year. I would rate their normal sites pretty highly compared to other extended stay type hotels. My experience at this location was not good.

First off, the rooms are a little dated. Not a big deal, but the bed covers look like they could be replaced soon. The amenities are great. 24 hour fitness, and food pantry is awesome, plus the full size fridge and having a stove and microwave in the room. Always a huge plus.

The big problem I had at this location was the Heater/Air conditioner. It had a very large noise issue. When it cycled on it was like a freight train going through my room. Woke me up out of a dead sleep. After the second round of that, I just threw on the comforter and turned off the heat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Wyomingdan,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret our hotel did not live up to your expectations in many aspects. We have taken note of your valuable comments regarding the noise challenges you experienced and these will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    16
    9
    0
See reviews for
9
12
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were looking for something affordable and decent for a four night trip and everything in DC was outrageous because of the Presidential Inauguration. We hit the jackpot with this place! Affordable,clean, friendly staff, complimentary shuttle service, and rooms with fully stocked kitchen. Whatever pictures may be stored online for this location don't be misled, it has been recently renovated and upgraded and it is very nice!

Room Tip: The hotel was very full and we still didn't hear a lot of hallway traffic or noise from other ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as was getting a flight from BWI the next day. One of the main reasons for booking it was the free airport shuttle which was fast and efficient with lovely driver. On arrival there were 2 friendly gentlemen who were friendly and efficient and gave a welcome arrival.

The room itself was a studio suite which was great in terms of its own little kitchen etc and all utensils and counters were very clean. Bathroom was nice and big and very clean also. There was a stink bug walking around the walls so I caught it in a glass and thought that was the end of it, until i caught another one and then again another one. This then started to freak me out a little and I was starting to run out of glasses. I decided to just head for bed and when pulling back the bed covers found loads of pet hair in my bed. This is a pet friendly hotel which im not keen on. I asked the lady at reception if i could move rooms, which she did straight away and was very professional and friendly about it. My new room was spotless and had a great sleep in a very comfortable bed.

This hotel was perfect for what i needed it for, a reasonable priced room with airport shuttle to airport. Free video rentals was a little extra plus! The fire alarm did go off and there were problems getting it turned off for about an hour and a half but these kinda things are beyond the hotels control.The staff were great throughout. For the price I would stay here again. Oh might want to remove the dead blue fish in the fish bowl from the desk at reception!!

Room Tip: Get non smoking and ask if there are non-pet friendly rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Checked in about 7 or 8 P.M on December 4th. Gentleman at the front desk was courteous, organized and quick. He actually called the room a few minutes after I got in to be sure everything was in order! Room was clean and comfortable. Shuttle to airport runs every 30 minutes on the hour and 1/2 hour. Took shuttle at 5:30 A.M. Driver was timely and courteous---5 minutes from hotel to airport drop off. Best price at $105 including taxes so would highly recommend for an overnight airport stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep Creek Lake, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Displaced by weather, we had to stay here with our dog. The apartment was spacious but cozy. The full kitchen allowed us to cook inside, hospitality suite had free friut, and reasonably priced snacks etc. There was even a laundry. The staff was most helpful and accomodating. Shuttle service is 24 hour and lots of convenient shopping, airport, and restaurants. This is an excellent value for the price!

Room Tip: Loved the one bedroom option. It was an apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here due to a flight cancellation (Hurricane Sandy). Beautiful property and newly renovated, my studio had a full fridge, flat screen TV, and man-sized kitchen.

The dual VCR-DVD player is great for people staying longer than 1-night like me.

The gift bag (an 8 oz water bottle & breakfast bar) I got at check-in for being a Priority Club member was a neat gesture, although I'd prefer my own perk from the cupboard next time.

Clean, spacious and just what I needed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was only there one night until I made it to Baltimore the next day. I checked in at 1am and the lady was so sweet. I had asked if they had shower cap and she looked all over for one but wasn't able to find one. We only stayed one night but the room was beautiful. The parking lot was filled with construction but it is an extended stay hotel what else would it be filled with? They have to stay in business some how. I enjoyed my stay and woudl definatly stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum

Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum Hotel Linthicum
Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum Hotel
Candlewood Suites Linthicum
Candlewood Linthicum
Linthicum Candlewood Suites
Linthicum Candlewood
Address: 1247 Winterson Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home™ Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum, the ideal choice for business and leisure travelers, is conveniently located 2 miles from BWI Airport and provides free shuttle service from 7am - 11pm. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range and dishwasher.Traveling on business? The Candlewood Suites Linthicum offers free high speed Internet, local phone calls, two separate phone lines, voice-mail, and a great executive desk. The hotel is convenient to the Baltimore Convention Center and University of Maryland Baltimore. Use our free laundry facility and Fitness Center. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). The Candlewood Suites is 8 miles from downtown Baltimore, Camden Yards-Baltimore Orioles, M&T Bank Stadium-Baltimore Ravens, Baltimore Inner Harbor, Baltimore Zoo, Baltimore National Aquarium and Fort McHenry.Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, the hotel s on-site convenience store. We also offer rates that include breakfast contact hotel directly.Stay at the Candlewood Suites Baltimore and enjoy all the features and amenities this extended stay hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Baltimore-Linthicum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.