We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad....but....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Baltimore BWI Airport

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Baltimore BWI Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Baltimore BWI Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   899 Elkridge Landing Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast!
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in Linthicum Heights
Hyattsville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not too bad....but....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 1 night as Part II of a 'Hotel Hopping' weekend. Although it was Superbowl weekend in Baltimore; all remained quiet. The hotel is truly older and could do with some updating. The person at the front desk presented as efficient and courteous perhaps as a part of her job description. Genuinity may have suffered. There were some "nice" touches within the Lobby area as: dispenser with some type of lemonade/orangeade, candy, apples in a bowl on a coffee table. The lobby can be considered pleasant and lends itself to wanting to sit around for a while to relax. The room however was a "let down". My thoughts upon entering were: dank, dark, stuffy, old. Upon inquiring I was told the layout of all the rooms was the same. The phone too, appeared to be not working since I could not reach the front desk but rather had to take the elevator. After quietly contemplating whether to stay or check out; and opting for the latter, a gentleman asked whether he could be of any help. I explained my thoughts about the "dingy feeling" of the room (did not mention the stale, stuffy smell). He offered me a change of rooms. I decided to go ahead and stay since there was already some snow on the ground and it was cold outside! Afterall it was only for 1 night. The new room was on the 4th floor and did not have any unpleasant smell to it. Of course it lacked much lighting; but that is because they use lamps in certain areas; rather than lightbulbs. There however was a visible long streak of dirt on the mirror in the tiny sitting area which must have been missed for some time by the cleaning staff. The kitchen area was tiny with a mini refrigerator and older microwave (you have to turn the knob). Although there were real mugs; there was neither dishwashing liquid, paper towels, sponge or anything to wash/dry with. In fact there were paper plates( a grand total of 2) with no cutlery (not even plastic forks/spoons). Unsure whether this was an oversight or if it is the norm. I had never experienced a kitchen/kitchenette in a hotel having paper plates so that was new to me. Nowhere in the unit was there any kind of facial tissue (bathroom or on the nightstand). Did not bother to call down to the front desk since at that point I hoped to return to that hotel only under duress. There is a small pool area with depth up to 4 feet. The lifeguard on duty is a nice touch and there are towels for use in the pool area.

We ordered out that evening....had some great tasting Wings and Pizza from the Deli attached to a Restaurant on Hammonds Ferry Road. I believe its Olive Grove or something like that! Prices were reasonable too. Breakfast bordered on being semi continental with a waffle station for a choice of blueberry or vanilla waffles. The coffee was pretty tasty. There were some hard boiled eggs, cold and hot cereal choices, sausage patties (pork and turkey) as well as bagels, bread and muffins The eggs was truly soooo processed! OOps I forgot the tv channels are free with HBO as the prenium one.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room higher upwards of the 3rd floor??
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Baltimore BWI Airport, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Hello -
I do apologize for the issues you encountered while staying here at the hotel - would love to speak with you about them. I am the new GM here, and can be reached at your convenience by dialing 410.694.0555.
Thank you!
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    83
    36
    10
    5
See reviews for
87
47
22
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival the gentleman working the front desk was a bit rude. I'd include his name but he wasn't wearing a name tag. We got to our room and opened the door to find the room very very HOT. This was not just my room. As I sat at breakfast I heard other guests complaining of the same problem. Once we cooled the room down I opened the sleeper sofa. A Cheerios pop out at us!!! That triggered a room inspection. Hair was found on the blanket for the sleeper sofa. Water was left in the tub because the stopper was down. The pool area was very dim although the water and facility was ok. This review could have been graded "Poor" had it not been for the breakfast. The breakfast was very good and had a lot of choices. Breakfast staff lady was very pleasant. There are a lot of choices around BWI. I think next time I'd look at one of those before coming back here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Baltimore BWI Airport, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Hello -
I do apologize for the issues you encountered while staying here at the hotel - would love to speak with you about them. I am the new GM here, and can be reached at your convenience by dialing 410.694.0555.
Thank you!
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to stay.
We stayed here during inauguration weekend, January 19-22, 2013. With the sold out rooms and extra residents at the hotel our stay was pleasant. The SpringHill Suites staff was always professional, attentive and most helpful for our every need.

Thank you,
Diana H

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin C, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Baltimore BWI Airport, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us - we truly appreciate your business! Glad you had a wonderful stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I just reviewed last year's visit to this hotel and it's really the same. Too hot on entering the room, comfortable after cutting off the heat and it's mid-January. Very good bedding, fine breakfast and better than the run-of-the-mill free breakfasts most airport hotels offer. Nice staff, parking is $6 day not free. This is still our go-to hotel for the night before our trips. Also good anytime for families who need a little more spacious rooms. Good pool too!

Room Tip: Away from main area and elevators are always a good choice for a noise-free night of sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Used their Cruise package before a 12/29/12 cruise. We arrived very early and they let us into our room right away. The room was immaculate and plenty big enough for 4 of us. The front desk staff was very helpful in suggesting restaurants and a pizza place that delivered. The free breakfast was more than enough. Plenty of hot and cold choices and the staff was very nice. We left our car there for the week and used their shuttle to and from the port. My only complaint would be the shuttle service (CS Transportation). A very old cab that barely runs (no shocks at all) and one driver to shuttle back and forth.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My family and I wanted to hang out it Baltimore and check out the Harbor. So we booked a room at this hotel to spend the night. When we got to our room it was wonderful. We placed our things down; it’s a ritual that we check everything out before getting comfortable. When we got to the bathroom, the smell was horrible. It smelled so bad; it smelled like rotted flesh or something. It was BAD. We called the front desk, and they were able to change our room. The guest service rep smelled the bathroom and said the same thing. The new room was perfect!!. We didn’t wake up in time for breakfast. Other than that it served its purpose!

Room Tip: Always Check your hotel room before getting comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papua New Guinea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here during thanksgiving break. A family of 5 all teens which we all know can be a challenge to feed and require space. The hotel was clean and friendly. Rooms are spacious. Breakfast is more than adequate. Free cocoa and coffee through the day. Busy but quiet. The pool is a good size and staff helpful. Slightly off the beaten path but well worth it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swift152, Manager at SpringHill Suites Baltimore BWI Airport, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you Family of 5 for your very nice review. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay recently. Please come and visit us again when in the BWI area. the hotel depends and counts on reviews like yours. we greatly appreciate it. Thanks again, and Happy New Year to you and your Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Baltimore BWI Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Baltimore BWI Airport

Address: 899 Elkridge Landing Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Linthicum Heights
#7 Family Hotel in Linthicum Heights
#16 Business Hotel in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Baltimore BWI Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Baltimore BWI Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Baltimore Bwi Airport Hotel Linthicum
Springhill Suites Linthicum
Linthicum Springhill Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Baltimore BWI Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.