We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Clean......Not Safe!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Baltimore - BWl Airport - International Dr.

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Baltimore - BWl Airport - International Dr. to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Baltimore - BWl Airport - International Dr.
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   939 International Drive, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #25 of 29 hotels in Linthicum Heights
Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Clean......Not Safe!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I had to cut my stay short after 2 nights, because the rooms smelled and needed major repairs. When I arrived I found food in the refrigerator and the bathroom was disgusting. The only thing that was a plus was the lady that checked us in, she was very nice and helpful. I contacted the national office to discuss my concerns and no one returned my call. The pictures will tell the story of how bad the room was......to bad I can't post pictures of the smell........

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Baltimore - BWl Airport - International Dr., responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Homestead Baltimore - BWl Airport. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

Please know that we have strict quality control standards that are meant to prevent an unacceptable situation like yours from occurring. All rooms are regularly cleaned and disinfected upon a guest's checkout as well as during applicable periods of the stay, then inspected by a manager who determines if it meets our quality standards. Obviously, your experience indicates that our system broke down. In response, I have met with hotel management and staff to find out why and to determine a system for preventing a repeat occurrence.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    8
    5
    9
See reviews for
9
3
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Linthicum
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Enjoyed our stay here!!! Family orientated....close & convenient to various places & things to do...cooked a turkey in our microwave...when I needed additional plates, bowls, utensils the staff was very quick to get them...We are pleased to say that once we leave we will be more than happy to recommend to others!!!!! THANK YOU HOMESTEAD!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Baltimore - BWl Airport - International Dr., responded to this review, April 30, 2012
I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such wonderful things about your experience at Homestead Baltimore - BWl Airport. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months. We believe that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayre, PA
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

The rate was what appealed to me since I was staying 4 nights in the area but you get what you pay for. I had to request the sheets be changed right away as found hairs on pillow and maid doesn't bother wiping very visible dirty fingerprints off walls and cabinets. Outside area included a dirty teeshirt laying on ground all day. Room itself isn't very big but adequate for one or two people and fridge is good size. Not much to cook with utensil-wise so take your own if making meals.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Baltimore - BWl Airport - International Dr., responded to this review, April 25, 2012
I recently received a copy of your review of the Homestead Baltimore - BWl Airport. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We know that our guests have multiple hotel choices, which is why our mission is to provide clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price that guests want to come back to. The room condition you describe is totally unacceptable to me and not at all representative of our quality standards. In response to your post, I have met with our hotel staff and used your review to help coach them on room cleaning and inspection policy.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012 via mobile

I checked into this hotel in between travel for my next destination. The rooms could use some updating but none the less it was cozy, clean and extremely coveniently located to BWI Airport. Nice choice of restaurants nearby and best of all it's nice on the wallet. Very reasonably priced for cleanliness and comfort! I would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

The staff was very nice. Here's the BUT: but the room was less than desirable.

My first room had a funny odor and they gladly moved me.

The second room also had a funny smell although not as bad.
The only way the TV would work is if I unplugged then plugged it each time I used it. This was brand new flat panel.
The mattress was like a rock.

I will never stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I was reluctant to keep my reservation after reading the other reviews. Much of the negatives others have written are either false or have been corrected. In either case, this hotel is just fine for a short or longer term stay.
The negatives: Short on frills. No pool, no fitness or business center, no breakfast, no airport shuttle, few restaurants in walking distance. The hotel is an extended stay property and many of the guests are traveling contractors and the like. So it wasn't difficult to find empty beer bottles on the grounds but not to excess. The hotel is in a business park so weekends are very quiet.
The positives: Clean, modern rooms, small kitchen with a full size fridge, relatively comfortable bed, quiet, and a friendly helpfull staff.
I found a weekend rate that was 1/2 of what other hotels in the area were charging.

In short, I would reccomend this hotel if all you need is a safe, clean and reasonable place to stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Here’s what you can expect when you first check in:
The rooms are very small, and the kitchen is hardly useful. There is no dishwasher, no dish soap, no range, and only 2 of each dish. The dishes are dirty upon arrival, and mine had food caked onto them even. The microwave is filthy and most of them barely work. The TV was damaged and you get a dozen different stations. The bathrooms are very dirty and will often still have soap scum, hair, and whatever crap stuck to the sink and tub. The Internet moves extremely slowly, making most things a complete pain to do, like opening pages with a lot of Flash on them, or the like. The rooms smell horrible. They smell like stale cigarettes and body odor. I tried airing out the room for an hour at a time (despite the below freezing weather) and it just doesn’t help. The problem is that the heating unit for all of the rooms is connected, meaning if someone lights up a cigarette down the hall, you will smell it in your room, or if someone burns some popcorn downstairs, you will smell it. Unless you turn the heater off, you get every bad smell in the building right in your room.

The staff is very mixed. Some people are very helpful, some people, not so much. When I first got there, they gave me my room key and I went to my room only to find that someone was already staying there, so they tell me they don’t have a room for me. After a lot of disjointed and confused phone calls, they finally place me in a room.

I had extra charges thrown randomly on my bill and yet no one seems to have any clue as to where they came from. No one seems to know much of anything around here. It's really irritating that they are so disorganized, meanwhile, I've got an extra $500 on my tab that I do not owe and no one has a clue how to get rid of it.

Also, you ever wonder why they don’t include pictures of the rooms online? Maybe it’s because if you saw the rooms, most people would be turned off immediately. They are small, dirty, not well ventilated, and the “kitchen” is a total joke. The rooms look nothing like the floorplan included in the pictures. If you want to save a little money on a place, just go to Motel 6 or something, but this really isn’t worth the money and aggravation.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Baltimore - BWl Airport - International Dr.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Baltimore - BWl Airport - International Dr.

Address: 939 International Drive, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 29 hotels in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Extended Stay America - Baltimore - BWl Airport - International Dr. 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Extended Stay America - Baltimore - BWl Airport - International Dr. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Linthicum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Baltimore - BWl Airport - International Dr., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.