We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible hotel AVOID AT ALL COSTS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1300 Concourse Drive, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates from $119
Ranked #18 of 29 hotels in Linthicum Heights
Sanibel, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible hotel AVOID AT ALL COSTS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We checked in as a Hilton gold member and utilized points. We had a suite with a pull out sofa that had sheets with blood all over them. We have been a Hilton honor member for 15 plus year and never had worse customer service. The room was dirty and we checked out early, told the people accordingly and have never heard back from anyone. We then called and spoke to a supervisor Debbie who was going to discuss with her manager and never heard back. What a surprise we never had a phone call. The breakfast in the morning had no plates, silverware, half and half with a half hour wait for an omelette . AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyna W, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We appreciate your time in submitting your review - due to the nature of your concerns, we would like to address the room condition and your awaiting a call from us as soon as possible. Please contact me at 410-865-8136, my direct line, at your convenience. I apologize for the frustrations you have experienced thus far but look forward to hopefully addressing your concerns once we speak.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    103
    72
    40
    12
See reviews for
121
61
22
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while waiting to take a military flight out to Europe. My husband was sick at the time so that unfortunately overshadowed our stay. We used the shuttle a couple of times to go out and get dinner, which was great. We ate lunch in the hotel once, but it was the same menu as used at dinner so it was overpriced and we didn't do it again. The breakfast was great- lots of selection and the guy doing the egg options was awesome. The room was comfortable. The hotel itself was a little dated - the 'island' style was outdated compared to other Embassy Suites. We asked the front desk for information on places to order in since my husband was sick, and we got pizza which was great! All in all, convenient and comfortable. Nothing special. There was a conference involving children on while we were there so it was noisy and children were running wild up and down the lifts, but I wouldn't blame the hotel on that, rather lazy parents.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyna W, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us! I am sorry your husband wasn't feeling well while here - we hope to have you both with us again under better circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great hotel to stay and park for a week at the bwi airport. Plenty of places to park your car. Reasonable rates. Of course, it has the big breakfast and nice managers reception. 6 min ride to the bwi airport. room was quiet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyna W, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I read the review "Dirty Sheet, Noisy Rooms and Fire Alarms", and would like to share another view.

This is the first time we have ever stayed at this hotel. We also stayed on the 7th floor, and we were also there for the fire alarm on the same date. Obviously, our hotel experiences were totally different!!!

Our room was clean and tidy and well decorated. (Had I found the room in a unclean condition, I would have assumed that there was an error, and the room had not been cleaned. I would have explained the situation, and requested another room. We have had this occur in other hotels; mistakes do happen).

I did hear the children downstairs from time to time, but solved that by going from the sitting room into the bedroom to view TV, or to use my laptop computer. (Problem solved) I do know that there were a number of children at the hotel who were taking part in a bike riding event, and a lacrosse event. My thought is that when you gather children in numbers, it is nearly impossible to contain all noise.

I thought the breakfast was well prepared, and offered a number of different choices, from made to order omelets, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, cereals of all kinds, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, yogurt, pastries, bagels, etc., etc.

As for the fire alarm at 11:45, a fire alarm by virtue of what it is, is inconvenient. I would much rather have dealt with a fire alarm that the prospect of a real fire with no alarm. Over all, I think that the acting manager, Mr. Smith, handled it extremely well. We were awakened by the alarm going off, and then an announcement that we should evacuate the building via the stairs (no elevators), until we were given the all clear to return to the building. We followed those directions, and within about 15 minutes we were cleared to return to the room. Everything was orderly and fairly calm. I congratulate Mr. Smith on his handling of the whole situation! He kept his head during a difficult situation, and did a great job.

Over all, I was very happy with the entire hotel experience, from oure room, the front desk, the waiters in the restaurant, and people who handled the nightly reception, and the helpful information we received from everyone when we asked a question..........and we asked a lot of questions... :-)

If we return to Baltimore, this is definitely where we want to stay again!

Room Tip: There are rooms that do not adjoin other rooms on both sides; if you seek privacy, ask for one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyna W, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments - I apologize you were inconvenienced with the fire alarm but glad you were able to have a pleasant stay. We look forward to hosting your next trip when in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We got a great rate on our weekend stay here, so it's hard to complain too much. I usually stay at the Hampton Inn BWI when in town on business but I was here for the whole family this time and wanted a larger space.

Let's start with the positives:
Decent location, with full shuttle service to BWI and the Light Rail station.
The complementary breakfasts were mostly standard fare (read: you get what you pay for, and they are free), but the cooked-to-order omelettes were a nice plus up from the Hampton Inn.
The lobby/atrium (where the restaurant was also located) were very nice, added to the ambiance and made it feel like you were staying in a pricier hotel.
Indoor pool is staffed by a lifeguard at all times and is very clean and well maintained.
The staff let the kids help feed the fish in the atrium each morning.

But the downsides:
Yes the rooms are technically suites, but only very technically. The layout was such that it felt very cramped. We had to rearrange furniture in order to fit the baby crib into the living space. The fold-out couch is only a double bed. And none of the internal doors in the suite (bathroom, bedroom) had a privacy lock.
The front door of the suite wasn't framed very well, and seemed to constantly rattle with every air gust or slamming door somewhere on the floor. It sounded just like someone knocking, which led to us spuriously checking the door for a visitor over and over. Also, because of the poor framing, sound from the lobby/atrium leaked right in, and made it hard for our kids to first fall asleep and then stay asleep.

So while I can't give this Embassy Suites a glowing review, it's solidly average, and a good place to stay if you can get a deal on the rates.

P.S. Another reviewer mentioned the fire alarm incident on the evening of 6/15 - we were there that night too. I kind of figured out pretty quickly that it was a false alarm because the alarm horn did not continue to sound, but we also were never informed by staff that it we could return to our rooms - we only heard it from other guests when we reached the lobby. The staff should be better prepared for incidents like this and there should be LOUD, CONTINUOUS announcements about what's going on and what the guests need to do about it. There also should have been a simple, photocopied letter from the management slipped under every door by the morning explaining what happened and apologizing for the inconvenience (even if it wasn't their fault, a great hotel still apologizes to its guests when something goes wrong).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyna W, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback. Please feel free to contact me at 410-865-8136 so I can gain more information regarding your assigned room so we can address the door frame issue with your guest room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Embassy Suites at 1300 Concourse Drive in Maryland for the first time on Saturday, June 16-17 because the hotel we usually stay in (Homewood Suites) was booked solid. We travel often, and I have to say this was the WORST hotel experience my family and I have had in quite a while.
** The sheets were dirty, stained with blood or feces.
** The cups in the room had been used.
** An extremely foul odor came out of the air vent, and the A/C unit was noisy.
** The towels and face cloths were stained with lipstick or makeup.
** There was evidence of a leak from the ceiling in the bedroom and the bedskirt was stained with some sort of brown liquid.
** The hotel lobby is an atrium design meaning you can hear ALL of the sounds from the lobby and the adjacent rooms all the time.
** There is a piano in the lobby so we had to listen to little kids and teens banging on the keys until 9pm.
** Someone was smoking in their room, so an 11:45pm fire alarm with an automated hotel evacuation order meant we had to walk down 7 flights of stairs before a GUEST informed us it was a false alarm. NO ANNOUNCEMENT was made by the hotel.
** My husband left his cell phone in the car by accident. I tried to call our room to let him know I'd taken the car - although it was around 1pm in the afternoon, NO ONE ANSWERED the front desk phone. After a second attempt, the hotel phone rang 20X (no exaggeration) before someone answered and transferred the call to our room.
** The "complimentary breakfast" was powdered eggs scrambled, greasy half-cooked sausages and cubed burnt potatoes served buffet style in a cramped dining room.
We won't be staying at this establishment any more.

Room Tip: Since this was our first stay and it was so dreadful, I could not in good faith recommend this estab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyna W, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenienes you experienced. We are very concerned regarding your comments and would like to discuss further with you. Please feel free to contact me by phone 410-865-8136 or via email to nyna.werner@hilton.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was our first stay at Embassy Suites BWI and will not be our last. This was a one night stay prior to our Disney/Cruise vacation in Florida. I was looking for a reasonable hotel that offered parking and shuttle service. Our room was a spacious and comfortable. One of the televisions didn't work. I called down to the front desk and immediately they sent someone up to fix something minor. Loved the front desk workers, Selena Williams and Eric. They were very friendly and helpful. The managers reception was an added bonus. We didn't get a chance to eat breakfast the next morning due to our early flight. When we returned from our vacation we called the hotel for our shuttle. Great shuttle driver who drove us directly to our parked car and unloaded our bags. We will return to this hotel again in the near future for a longer stay and visit Arundel Mills mall and Maryland Live Casino.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyna W, Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback! I will share your comments with Selena and Eric. We are so glad you started your vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport

Address: 1300 Concourse Drive, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Linthicum Heights
#14 Business Hotel in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Baltimore
Embassy Suites Linthicum
Linthicum Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Baltimore BWI - Washington Intl. Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.