We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare & it is not over yet.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport to your Saves list
Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 West Nursery Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
GreenLeadersGold level
VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nightmare & it is not over yet.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Booked for $99 with $10 food credit included & 14 days parking.
Currently they have charged us over $120 yet are refusing to give us our $10 food credit.
Breakfast is now over so we can not even use it & we have not eaten.
This is now 4th attempt to get them to resolve this for us from the 4th floor to reception.
Internet is disgraceful you log on 2 minutes later in the middle of an email you have to log on again.
In the last 12 hours probably logged on 50 times NO help.
NO ethernet cable when we asked where it was the answer was we do not supply them as they get stolen??
Shower has rust stains & dirty grout.
Industrial look results in noisy doors that bang.
I will update this review if they bother to resolve any of this without me filing a dispute with my credit card company. Booked through Hotelnparking....reception told me I got the rate too cheap!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    163
    85
    59
    49
See reviews for
89
119
72
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I check in after a long flight and waiting on the runway in Philly for 4.5 hours. I was stuck in a handicap room...room 424 the room was disgusting, paint on the wall where it did not belong, tiles missing in the bathroom, second bed was lumpy and the light in the room did not work...

Room Tip: Don't stay here..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Bonnie D,
Sorry to hear about your flight delay. Sitting on a runway for 4.5 hours is not fun. We apologize for not being able to accommodate you in another guest room as we were booked up that night. We have forwarded your comments to our management team. We hope you will give us another opportunity to host you in the future. In the future, please give us a call ahead of time and we will be happy to block you in a room of your preference. Thanks again for sharing and we hope to see you again in the future should your travels bring you to the Baltimore area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed here because it was convienent to my realitive's house. Small property tucked behind the Marriott near the airport. Plenty of places to eat close by as well. Typical of an Aloft, amenities are not the same as a "big" hotel, but they had free wi-fi in the room, a health club and on-site bar.

Staff was very friendly and able to accommadate any request we made. If you're looking for a quiet place to stay near the airport, this is the perfect spot!

Room Tip: Not much to offer for views, most rooms seem to be the same.
See more room tips
Green Features: Participate in their Make a Green Choice program in order to earn bonus SPG points!
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear JonYerf,
Thank you for your positive review! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us over the holidays. We hope you will visit us again soon the next time you're visiting your relatives. We hope you have a great New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a very nice hotel for the price! The one by the casino in arundel mills was sold out so my hubby and I stayed here for one night. Nice little oasis away from the kids and traffic. This hotel is not to far from the airport plus they do offer a free shuttle there. A movie theater and Cracker Barrel is about a mile up the road. The hotel also has a bar area where you can hang out and chill late during the evening hours. A pool, pool table, computer area and gym is there for the guest as well. The only negative thing I have to say is the wifi is kinda weak....took awhile to get on it and there is no ice machine. You have to go to the service desk to get ice. Other than that I must say it was a great choice for us...will go there again real soon!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Chaka D,
Thank you for choosing Aloft Hotels and we're happy you gave us an opportunity to host you. We are glad you enjoyed the value you received here and was able to take advantage of many of our perks and amenities including our convenient location to the airport, free shuttle, indoor pool and gym, pool table, computer terminals, W XYZ bar. We will take a look into our WiFi connection to improve those services; thank you for letting us know. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The main reason we stayed here is that it is dog-friendly, with no pet fee.

To our pleasant surprise, this hotel was awesome, and very inexpensive. Very modern rooms, clean, and very comfortable. Also, the room had a refrigerator and 2 free bottles of water. Breakfast was not expensive, and was decent. The louge area in the hotel is nice, and has a pool table, fireplace, and a full bar.

Only bad things were that the wifi didn't really work well in our room, and I couldn't figure out how to adjust the heater -- always too hot or too cold. I suppose I could have complained, but neither was all taht important.

Wou

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear USA_Super_Traveler,
Thank you for your rave review. We're glad you enjoyed our pet-friendly hotel and enjoyed all the perks we had to offer - free bottled water, re:mix lounge, W XYZ Bar, and room amenities. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I'm also a regular at Aloft properties, but this one was something special - on Friday night they had a live DJ in the lobby and it was quiet happening, not your average hotel property. The party wound down by 10:30p so there were no issues sleeping and I was back on the road in due course with a good night's sleep.

The rooms were comfy and well designed - however, housekeeping could do a little more work on the upkeep - not dirty by any means, but there was tape on the wall from a previous guest and a hair pin on the floor.

All in all, I'd really recommend this property - the staff was great - the place was hopping - and the rooms were nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Jig1600,
Thank you for your kind words. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a blast during our Live at Aloft Hotel events. We have taken your comments regarding housekeeping and forwarded to the team so we can address these issues. Otherwise, we're glad you experienced great service and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is not our first time staying at an Aloft Hotel by The W hotel but they are always built the same. This Aloft was abot 4-5 minutes from the BWI airport. The vibe in the hotel lobby is relaxing. They have a nice bar, small breakfast area, and snack area. The staff are really friendly and readily eager to help you. Comfortable seating in this area. This one had a full pool table. A table that seemingly to be for laptop or electronic gadgets to be connected or plugged into electricity. I didn't use it for that reason. I ate my breakfast on the table. Get this! It had a 6 feet deep inside heated pool! That is totally different for it to go that deep. A lifeguard was there all the hours that the pool was opened. We had a king size bed. It was very comfortable. It was a spacious room with 2 desk. A small night stand next to each side of the bed which provided electrical sockets for charging your cell, IPad, etc. There was different setting of lightening so that it doesn't bother the one that's sleeping. Lobby, hallway, elevator and room was very clean. It doesn't look like a typical hotel. It's different. I enjoy change in my life that gives me some extra fun. Try it! I know I enjoyed it! Yes, it has an fitness center. I will definitely stay at this hotel again and other Alofts when available in the areas that we travel. This Aloft was unusually quiet. We've stayed in some that the younger crowd on first floor can be a little loud but it is all in enjoyment and it doesn't interrupt our sleep at all. Let the younger people enjoy their nite out. My husband & I certainly enjoy our travels and nights out and nights in.

Room Tip: This Aloft was close to the airport but you may have to drive 10 minutes or more depending where you...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Aloft had recycle bends around inside the lobby and also some in our from.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Grace_Baby,
We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Baltimore area. We're glad you enjoyed the amenities of the hotel and guest room and appreciate all your positive feedback. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport

Address: 1741 West Nursery Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Baltimore-Washington International Airport Hotel offers something bold and new to the culture-conscious traveler alienated by cookie-cutter, one size fits all experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft - Baltimore Washington International Airport Hotel Linthicum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.