We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, modern, clean, dog-friendly w/no fee!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport

Save Saved
You added Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 West Nursery Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
GreenLeadersGold level
USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, modern, clean, dog-friendly w/no fee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The main reason we stayed here is that it is dog-friendly, with no pet fee.

To our pleasant surprise, this hotel was awesome, and very inexpensive. Very modern rooms, clean, and very comfortable. Also, the room had a refrigerator and 2 free bottles of water. Breakfast was not expensive, and was decent. The louge area in the hotel is nice, and has a pool table, fireplace, and a full bar.

Only bad things were that the wifi didn't really work well in our room, and I couldn't figure out how to adjust the heater -- always too hot or too cold. I suppose I could have complained, but neither was all taht important.

Wou

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear USA_Super_Traveler,
Thank you for your rave review. We're glad you enjoyed our pet-friendly hotel and enjoyed all the perks we had to offer - free bottled water, re:mix lounge, W XYZ Bar, and room amenities. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    163
    85
    59
    49
See reviews for
88
118
72
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I'm also a regular at Aloft properties, but this one was something special - on Friday night they had a live DJ in the lobby and it was quiet happening, not your average hotel property. The party wound down by 10:30p so there were no issues sleeping and I was back on the road in due course with a good night's sleep.

The rooms were comfy and well designed - however, housekeeping could do a little more work on the upkeep - not dirty by any means, but there was tape on the wall from a previous guest and a hair pin on the floor.

All in all, I'd really recommend this property - the staff was great - the place was hopping - and the rooms were nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Jig1600,
Thank you for your kind words. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a blast during our Live at Aloft Hotel events. We have taken your comments regarding housekeeping and forwarded to the team so we can address these issues. Otherwise, we're glad you experienced great service and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is not our first time staying at an Aloft Hotel by The W hotel but they are always built the same. This Aloft was abot 4-5 minutes from the BWI airport. The vibe in the hotel lobby is relaxing. They have a nice bar, small breakfast area, and snack area. The staff are really friendly and readily eager to help you. Comfortable seating in this area. This one had a full pool table. A table that seemingly to be for laptop or electronic gadgets to be connected or plugged into electricity. I didn't use it for that reason. I ate my breakfast on the table. Get this! It had a 6 feet deep inside heated pool! That is totally different for it to go that deep. A lifeguard was there all the hours that the pool was opened. We had a king size bed. It was very comfortable. It was a spacious room with 2 desk. A small night stand next to each side of the bed which provided electrical sockets for charging your cell, IPad, etc. There was different setting of lightening so that it doesn't bother the one that's sleeping. Lobby, hallway, elevator and room was very clean. It doesn't look like a typical hotel. It's different. I enjoy change in my life that gives me some extra fun. Try it! I know I enjoyed it! Yes, it has an fitness center. I will definitely stay at this hotel again and other Alofts when available in the areas that we travel. This Aloft was unusually quiet. We've stayed in some that the younger crowd on first floor can be a little loud but it is all in enjoyment and it doesn't interrupt our sleep at all. Let the younger people enjoy their nite out. My husband & I certainly enjoy our travels and nights out and nights in.

Room Tip: This Aloft was close to the airport but you may have to drive 10 minutes or more depending where you...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Aloft had recycle bends around inside the lobby and also some in our from.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Grace_Baby,
We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay in the Baltimore area. We're glad you enjoyed the amenities of the hotel and guest room and appreciate all your positive feedback. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

very nice and clean upscale motel to stay near the airport without high prices. We got some kind of discount that brought our rooms to the $80 range and made the one-night stay even nicer. We had a very early flight out of BWI and Aloft let us park our two cars in their lot for free for 10 days AND shuttled us to the airport which is about 2 miles away.
The decor is Japanese influenced and very well done. Food downstairs is very good.
Great place for a middle-price bill.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the airport if you like watching planes
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear 2005-travel-lover,
Thank you for choosing Aloft Hotels. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and happy to hear you took advantage of our Parking package and convenient shuttle to the airport. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Neat, attractive and contemporary facility, but service was mediocre. No one at the front desk or bistro consistently. Parking lot was poorly lit and icy. Room was adequate and quiet. Location near BWI is convenient.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This location is awesome. Perfect in the summer. Near good restaurants/bars and shops. If you are taking a trip to Washington, D.C. Definitely consider this place.

Their brand seems to strike a good balance, providing great value. They also have a pool and great gym. Their bar is not too shabby either :).

Good stuff, definitely will be back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear shiz_mac,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay in the Baltimore area. We're thrilled to hear you enjoy our convenient location, indoor pool and fitness center, and W XYZ Bar. Thanks for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was my first stay at an aloft. Kind of disappointing- the place is all design with no function. The desks in my room don't have any light source at all- sheer insanity for a hotel room. The desk chair is uncomfortable and the desk is too high. Mattresses with no box springs. WIres hanging from the TV. I see some kind of wire over my bed also. The wireless was so slow it was unusable- but the wired connection is fast. No door to the commode. Plenty of hotels down here- no reason to stay in this place. My room has a lovely view of dumpsters with no lids.

I won't be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear mattybaugh,
Thank you for your honest feedback. We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Our beds are platform beds, so if you're used to mattress and box spring, it does take some adjusting to get used to it. We take your feedback seriously as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our product and ensure our guests have a comfortable stay. I have forwarded your comments to management. Thanks for sharing and we hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport

Address: 1741 West Nursery Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Baltimore-Washington International Airport Hotel offers something bold and new to the culture-conscious traveler alienated by cookie-cutter, one size fits all experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft - Baltimore Washington International Airport Hotel Linthicum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.