We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport

Save Saved
You added Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 West Nursery Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #23 of 29 hotels in Linthicum Heights
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The best thing about Aloft is the website, it does a great job of giving the illusion that they have all the services a 4 or 5 star hotel has.

When we arrived we discovered the bar only served appetizers, and there is no room service. We really like morning coffee delivered when we are getting up early to catch a flight. There was no coffee service, this was a disappointment. However, the rooms do have coffee makers.

Room Tip: Go to the 4 points on the airport grounds, same price and much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear JeffandCarla2013,
We apologize for any misunderstanding of what Aloft Hotels offers. By no means are we considered a "full service" hotel as we do not have an on-site restaurant or room service. We are 1 of Starwood's 3 Specialty Select Brands. We don't have coffee service, but each guest room offers a coffee maker and we provide free regular coffee in Re:fuel for our guests. We hope this experience does not deter you from staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    159
    84
    57
    47
See reviews for
85
114
69
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Indiana
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Such a hip and fun place. Amazingly helpful and friendly staff and always look forward to coming here! Clean rooms with fun amenities and a modern twist. Van schedule can be an issue sometimes, they were sharing a van with the hotel next door last time I was here so there was a bit of a wait, but the hotel is worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Ashley Y,
Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to your return the next time your travels bring you to the BWI/Baltimore area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Aloft is such a predictable spot - I have stayed at these hotels in many different cities and enjoyed the firm mattresses, soft sheets, in room coffee, high design, friendly staff and groovy music every time. This was my first stay at Aloft BWI and I immediately noticed that all of the staff seemed really friendly and happy - so that is a plus! I was a bit sad to learn that the shuttle would not take me to "nearby" Arundel Mills as I had planned, but I spent a happy couple of hours relaxing at the hotel instead. I love the vibe at Aloft and find it a very peaceful place to be. A few notes to the management for some minor improvements - when your guests call for the shuttle - give them an accurate estimate - even if it is a wide range - between 5 and 20 minutes would be fair. I used the shuttle service 4 times in 2 days and was always dramatically surprised at how fast (under 1 minute) to how slow (over 30 minutes) my wait would be. I know this is not an exact science and difficult to predict, but try to give a somewhat accurate guess in terms of minutes. Also, it was really, really painful to wake up on my second morning to realize that the cleaning service had failed to replenish the tea and cream. This might seem minor, but having to get dressed and presentable to go down to the lobby on Sunday morning is points off....... Were they mad that I did not leave a Saturday tip???? I didn't have any change until Sunday and then I definitely did NOT leave a tip - nor a mess. Otherwise, a happy and peaceful stay and I thank you. I hope my comments are helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear phloxMaryland,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay in the BWI area. We appreciate you being loyal to the Aloft Hotels brand and definitely feel honored that you stayed with us while in the area. We're sorry we disappointed you with the beverage refresh miss and the unpredictable shuttle. We have forwarded your comments to our appropriate teams and look to make improvements. Thanks so much for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed at this Aloft several times over the past couple of years. The staff is by far the friendliest and most helpful you will find! The rooms and decor are modern and fresh. The rooms are simple, but very usable. The walk in shower is far better than any room with a tub that seldom, if ever, gets used. The bar is well stocked and the sitting area is nicely designed. The in-door-pool is great for kids and adults alike. A very pleasant place to stay!

Room Tip: Any room is great!!
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling is encouraged! Very eco green! The review presented is very true of Aloft.
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Lyonsden249,
Thank you for your continued loyalty. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the service our team provided along with the additional amenities we offer. Thanks again for your kind thoughts and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I spent about 3 hrs here after our wedding but evening though we spent so little time here the staff was definitely helpful. My only two detractors would be that you have to pay for breakfast and also that the shuttle is not the most reliable. The room was clean and prepared for us after a long day after our wedding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just finished our stay at Aloft BWI. We enjoyed our stay very much. Room was very clean and well appointed. Check in was also very easy and the clerk was extremely helpful and friendly. The only negative we experienced was that the safe in the room wasn't secured or bolted to anything. I was able to pick up the safe and could've walked out of the room with it if I was a "bad guy." They also provided free parking and a free shuttle to the airport. This was huge bonus to us as long term hotel parking would've cost around $70. So the stay was well worth it. We will surely stay at Aloft again if we ever fly out of BWI in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Davisctd,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay in the BWI. We have forwarded your comment regarding the safe and will look to secure this. Thanks again for sharing and we hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My teenage daughter chose this hotel based on the appearance. If Ikea built a hotel, this is what it would look like. We checked in very late, wish we had gotten in earlier so I could check out the bar in the lobby, it has a great design with LED lights imbedded in the black top. The décor continued into the room, with a big screen TV and minimalistic décor. The bed was a bit uncomfortable, a little too hard, but we were so tired, it did not really matter. Really liked the arrangement of the bathroom area. Very updated bowl sink, with boutique soup, and free bottled water. The enclosed glass shower was wonderful with a large shower head with good water pressure. Also included dispensers for soap and shampoo (okay if you do not need separate conditioner). Grab and go breakfast in the lobby, but the coffee/espresso maker was broken, and that was all I really wanted. Settled for the in room coffee, which was better than most hotel room coffee. Would request a room on one of the upper floors just because I would have liked to open the blinds in the morning, and felt a bit exposed on the first floor with them open.

Room Tip: Not on the first floor if you like to open the blinds.
See more room tips
Green Features: If you decline fresh towels and bedding, you get a $5 bar credit. Like the soap dispensers instead of individual small toiletry bottles.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear ellemom,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to the BWI area. We're happy to hear you and your family enjoyed the hotel and the decor. We hope to host you and your family here again and definitely call us ahead of time to request a room on a higher floor. Thanks again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport

Address: 1741 West Nursery Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Baltimore-Washington International Airport Hotel offers something bold and new to the culture-conscious traveler alienated by cookie-cutter, one size fits all experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft - Baltimore Washington International Airport Hotel Linthicum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.