We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love staying at this trendy hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport to your Saves list
Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 West Nursery Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BWI Parking Package
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Linthicum Heights
GreenLeadersGold level
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Love staying at this trendy hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Such a hip and fun place. Amazingly helpful and friendly staff and always look forward to coming here! Clean rooms with fun amenities and a modern twist. Van schedule can be an issue sometimes, they were sharing a van with the hotel next door last time I was here so there was a bit of a wait, but the hotel is worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Ashley Y,
Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to your return the next time your travels bring you to the BWI/Baltimore area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Aloft is such a predictable spot - I have stayed at these hotels in many different cities and enjoyed the firm mattresses, soft sheets, in room coffee, high design, friendly staff and groovy music every time. This was my first stay at Aloft BWI and I immediately noticed that all of the staff seemed really friendly and happy - so that is a plus! I was a bit sad to learn that the shuttle would not take me to "nearby" Arundel Mills as I had planned, but I spent a happy couple of hours relaxing at the hotel instead. I love the vibe at Aloft and find it a very peaceful place to be. A few notes to the management for some minor improvements - when your guests call for the shuttle - give them an accurate estimate - even if it is a wide range - between 5 and 20 minutes would be fair. I used the shuttle service 4 times in 2 days and was always dramatically surprised at how fast (under 1 minute) to how slow (over 30 minutes) my wait would be. I know this is not an exact science and difficult to predict, but try to give a somewhat accurate guess in terms of minutes. Also, it was really, really painful to wake up on my second morning to realize that the cleaning service had failed to replenish the tea and cream. This might seem minor, but having to get dressed and presentable to go down to the lobby on Sunday morning is points off....... Were they mad that I did not leave a Saturday tip???? I didn't have any change until Sunday and then I definitely did NOT leave a tip - nor a mess. Otherwise, a happy and peaceful stay and I thank you. I hope my comments are helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phloxMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear phloxMaryland,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay in the BWI area. We appreciate you being loyal to the Aloft Hotels brand and definitely feel honored that you stayed with us while in the area. We're sorry we disappointed you with the beverage refresh miss and the unpredictable shuttle. We have forwarded your comments to our appropriate teams and look to make improvements. Thanks so much for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed at this Aloft several times over the past couple of years. The staff is by far the friendliest and most helpful you will find! The rooms and decor are modern and fresh. The rooms are simple, but very usable. The walk in shower is far better than any room with a tub that seldom, if ever, gets used. The bar is well stocked and the sitting area is nicely designed. The in-door-pool is great for kids and adults alike. A very pleasant place to stay!

Room Tip: Any room is great!!
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling is encouraged! Very eco green! The review presented is very true of Aloft.
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyonsden249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Lyonsden249,
Thank you for your continued loyalty. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the service our team provided along with the additional amenities we offer. Thanks again for your kind thoughts and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I spent about 3 hrs here after our wedding but evening though we spent so little time here the staff was definitely helpful. My only two detractors would be that you have to pay for breakfast and also that the shuttle is not the most reliable. The room was clean and prepared for us after a long day after our wedding.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jab810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Just finished our stay at Aloft BWI. We enjoyed our stay very much. Room was very clean and well appointed. Check in was also very easy and the clerk was extremely helpful and friendly. The only negative we experienced was that the safe in the room wasn't secured or bolted to anything. I was able to pick up the safe and could've walked out of the room with it if I was a "bad guy." They also provided free parking and a free shuttle to the airport. This was huge bonus to us as long term hotel parking would've cost around $70. So the stay was well worth it. We will surely stay at Aloft again if we ever fly out of BWI in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davisctd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Davisctd,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay in the BWI. We have forwarded your comment regarding the safe and will look to secure this. Thanks again for sharing and we hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My teenage daughter chose this hotel based on the appearance. If Ikea built a hotel, this is what it would look like. We checked in very late, wish we had gotten in earlier so I could check out the bar in the lobby, it has a great design with LED lights imbedded in the black top. The décor continued into the room, with a big screen TV and minimalistic décor. The bed was a bit uncomfortable, a little too hard, but we were so tired, it did not really matter. Really liked the arrangement of the bathroom area. Very updated bowl sink, with boutique soup, and free bottled water. The enclosed glass shower was wonderful with a large shower head with good water pressure. Also included dispensers for soap and shampoo (okay if you do not need separate conditioner). Grab and go breakfast in the lobby, but the coffee/espresso maker was broken, and that was all I really wanted. Settled for the in room coffee, which was better than most hotel room coffee. Would request a room on one of the upper floors just because I would have liked to open the blinds in the morning, and felt a bit exposed on the first floor with them open.

Room Tip: Not on the first floor if you like to open the blinds.
See more room tips
Green Features: If you decline fresh towels and bedding, you get a $5 bar credit. Like the soap dispensers instead of individual small toiletry bottles.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear ellemom,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to the BWI area. We're happy to hear you and your family enjoyed the hotel and the decor. We hope to host you and your family here again and definitely call us ahead of time to request a room on a higher floor. Thanks again for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have used this hotel twice in the last two years to park and fly out of BWI. We consider this to be a solid choice in the area for this service.

The staff has been helpful, and friendly enough. There's a modern lobby, with a lounge. There is a quick service (grab and go) area, but no full service restaurant. While a downside, it is very close to several dining options near by.

We have found the room to be a highlight of this property. As the name suggests, it's much like a loft. Modern, clean, comfortable. An open design with a nice flatscreen TV mounted on the wall. We have found the rooms to be more than adequate.

The hotel is about a 5 minute drive by shuttle. The shuttle was attentive, but we found that the hotel (at least the times when we were there) shared its early morning shuttle service with the hotel next door. We waited at that hotel for several minutes as well, which made it more of a 15-20 minute drive to the airport between waiting at Aloft and the adjacent hotel. Keep this in mind to give yourself adequate time to get to the airport.

Upon our return, we called the hotel and the shuttle arrived pretty quickly each time. We just jumped into the car and left.

All in all, we recommend Aloft for a park and fly option. What my wife and I tend to do is compare parking/room rates between this hotel and Four Points BWI and we will go with whomever is cheaper (frankly). If the cost is the same, we tend to select Four Points given its closer proximity to the airport, shuttle attentiveness and on-property restaurant (see our reviews of the Four Points and its restaurant Michener's for more information). However, we would use Aloft again without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_and_Mrs_Smith2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mr_and_Mrs_Smith2011,
Thank you for your online review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay during your most recent visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Linthicum Heights
0.1 mi away
Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport
Hilton Baltimore BWI Airport
#16 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn BWI Airport
Holiday Inn BWI Airport
#4 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn BWI Airport
Hilton Garden Inn BWI Airport
#3 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, BWI Airport (Baltimore)
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#1 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Westin Baltimore Washington Airport - BWI
The Westin Baltimore Washington ...
#13 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Baltimore Washington Airport - BWI
Sheraton Baltimore Washington Ai...
#19 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport

Address: 1741 West Nursery Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport is a fresh, fun, forward-thinking alternative to ordinary BWI Airport hotels. With a loft-inspired design a mere five minutes from BWI Airport, we offer vibrant boutique accommodations near the most compelling attractions in two major metropolitan areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Starwood so you can book your Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft - Baltimore Washington International Airport Hotel Linthicum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing