We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good... But Only if You Need to be Near BWI” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport

Save Saved
You added Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aloft.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1741 West Nursery Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good... But Only if You Need to be Near BWI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is your typical Aloft so you know exactly what you are getting with the layout and room amenities. Overall, I give the hotel a 5, but the location earns it a 1 in my opinion.

The hotel was clean. The staff was great. The workout facility was standard. The food at the bar was good even with the limited selection. They even let you order carryout and sit at the bar if you want. I thought that was a nice touch admiitting that their menu was limited. I settled for a pre-made salad that was suprisingly fresh. The bar also had a nice offering of hard to find craft beers.

I know so much about the bar and food because that was all that was nearby. Unless you need to be near BWI... and I mean really need to be near the airport, then stay somewhere else. The "hotel district" at BWI appears to be far from civilization and any restaurants worth eating at. That is unless you want to join Michael Scott over at Chili's. For any extended stay (longer than 1 night), find an Aloft in a different part of town. I spent two long nights at the Aloft twiddling my thumbs wishing I was in DC or a more hip part of Baltimore.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our Aloft BWI Airport hotel. There are many reasons why guests should stay with our hotel. Close proximity to BWI airport, complimentary shuttle service within a 5 mile radius that will take you to many restaurants and movie theatre in the area. We take pride in delivering the great service that you have grown to expect. See you soon and have a happy and safe ney year.

Michael Harold
General Manager
Aloft BWI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    152
    78
    53
    46
See reviews for
83
107
69
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had a lot of troubles making my reservation as I called several times with a Groupon coupon and left my phone number as they asked for and nobody got back to me. I then called and spoke to a person who shall remain nameless who said i could not use it but they'd have someone get back to me in 72 hours. Nobody called after 76 hours so i called again. I reached Natalie who made everything good very quickly and also because of the issues I had with nobody calling me back made it good by taking away the upgrade charge for going from a King to two Queens so I was grateful for her understanding.

The rest of the staff was very nice anytime I saw them and despite little things like a super small pool and gym, it is a 3 star hotel and hotels are not resorts so while this was the 1st 3 star I stayed in we decided we wanted less amenities so we would not be so comfy staying in the hotel and we'd actually get up early and go out so in the future I think 3 star hotels are the way to go as they had comfy beds, although the sheets were stained...not cool even if it was coffee, which was the story I had in my head and was sticking to...

Overall for the price paid it was fine, good staff, decent location and if Natalie had not fixed my issues I would have given this experience 2 stars.

Last bad note and no fault of the hotel but everytime you travel anywhere not local you have to pay either $4 or $5.50 to jump on the highway in tolls which in 3 days adds up quickly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vstanley, General Manager at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We appreciate your positive comments and constructiverecommendations! Thank you! I am delighted that we were able to meet your expectations on the level of service. I will certainly share your feedback with my Team.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Stanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodward, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Our family stayed at the Aloft 2 nights; one night before we flew out and a second night upon our (very late) return. Checking in and out was very easy, and for the most part the staff were helpful (the night desk clerk left something to be desired, but maybe she was a new hire?) When we found the car battery dead, one of the managers(?) not only checked his hotel but walked across to the Hilton to see if they had jumper cables. The rooms are nicely appointed, the beds comfy. Will definitely stay at the Aloft again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vstanley, General Manager at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience with us. It is always nice to hear such wonderful comments about our team and the hotel. I will make sure to share this with my team members.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Stanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, MA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was my second stay and didnt disappoint. In and out on a quick one night stay. Clean, comfortable room, with decent breakfast offerings. Cooked to order eggs/omelettes worked well for me. I like this concept and the design and decor is more interesting than plain vanilla Courtyards or Hamptons. WiFi coverage was so-so. Service was very good.

Room Tip: Join SPG if you are not already and the hotel will give you a credit towards breakfast/snacks/bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vstanley, General Manager at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time out to write to us. This really means a lot to me as well as my staff. We are exultant that you really like our hotel. Please come back soon and see us.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Stanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Excellent stay with extremely helpful staff. I travel a lot and its nice to stay somewhere that looks different. The Aloft has a nice modern feel and keeps the Hilton values you expect. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vstanley, General Manager at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience with us. It is always nice to hear such wonderful comments about our team and the hotel. I will make sure to share this with my team members.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Stanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the hotel one night celebrating my Godson's 21st birthday. The Front Desk staff members are some of the most accomodating, friendly, customer service oriented individuals I have encountered in a hotel in a long time.
Special "shout out" to Kierrah (sorry if I spelled her name incorrectly). Dealing with her was refreshing and she made our stay a treat !
The other staff members were just as nice but Keirrah tried her best to ensure that everyone in our party was happy all the time !

Additional kudoos needs to go out to the bartender :-) He stayed on shift an hour longer to accomodate the small crowd at the bar. We were extra happy ! After having dinner at the Inner Harbor (which is less than minutes away) we came back to the hotel where we cracked jokes and got our drink on !

All in all a really good experience all around ! No to mention free parking, an excellent price point and beautiful room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vstanley, General Manager at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We appreciate your positive comments. Thank you! I am delighted that we were able to meet your expectations on the level of service and accommodations. I will certainly share your feedback with my Team and Kierra.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Stanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I am a regular at this hotel. Excellent location, The hotel shuttles are fast and it only takes 3 to 5 minutes to get to the hotel.

I stayed at the hotel this week. Arrived late on Sunday night. The night manager had the key ready for me as I walked into the hotel. After a long day of flying this made a difference.

Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vstanley, General Manager at Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
You can always count on us! Thank you for your positive review. I am glad to hear that my Team has made your stay memorable. We appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to your next visit soon.

Sincerely,
Vanessa Stanley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport

Also Known As:
Aloft - Baltimore Washington International Airport Hotel Linthicum
Aloft - Baltimore Washington International Airport Hotel
Address: 1741 West Nursery Road, Linthicum Heights, MD 21090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Linthicum Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Linthicum Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Baltimore-Washington International Airport Hotel offers something bold and new to the culture-conscious traveler alienated by cookie-cutter, one size fits all experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloft BWI Baltimore Washington International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.