We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Accommodating!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1216 National Highway, LaVale, MD 21502   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in LaVale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fairfax, va
1 review
“Very Accommodating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A group of six of us were staying here the night before a big race. We had to be at the race by 5:45am the next morning, well before breakfast is usually served. There were other groups in the same boat and when we asked if breakfast could be served early, we were told that they would try very hard to make that happen. Came down at 5:20am to see a whole slew of people enjoying the food/beverages that had been set out bright and early! Thanks Comfort Inn! We appreciate the special service!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback, others planning on visiting the area do as well. I'm happy we were able to better serve participants in the marathon by bending the rules and starting our breakfast earlier. When customer service is a high priority, you may have to bend the rules. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    39
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
36
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
N.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel over one weekend in September, 2013. Our room with two queen beds was roomy and the beds were comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was average as far as taste goes (scrambled eggs weren't very good), but it certainly had plenty of hot and cold choices. Our room had several features which impressed me; I wish all hotel rooms had these features: (1) There were plenty of electrical outlets and they were easily accessible; not hidden behind beds or end tables. (2) There was a direct plug-in connection to the Internet. Most hotels have Wifi in the rooms and it often doesn't work or goes down frequently. (3) Besides a luggage rack, there was a low shelf to hold another suitcase and it had a large storage drawer underneath. (4) In addition to the desk chair, there were two comfortable chairs, one with an ottoman. (5) My favorite feature: The bathroom sink was in the corner, so there were 3 angled mirrors above the sink. In addition, there was a full length mirror on the bathroom door, so it was easy to arrange the mirrors to see both sides and the back of your head when using the hairdryer. We also enjoyed the complimentary warm chocolate chip cookies in the afternoons. The staff was friendly and helpful. Will stay here again if we are back in the Cumberland area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will be shared with all of our staff. I'm glad your guestroom provided you with features that many hotels lack. It is always nice to have easily accessed electrical outlets as well as having an option for wired or wireless Internet. I'm sorry you didn't like the taste of our scrambled eggs, but I'm certainly glad we had plenty of other breakfast items for you to choose from. I do appreciate you choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed here with my husband on the night of 9/27. While the hotel is good, the staff is outstanding. They allowed me to park my car at the property the night before we checked in (ended up with 2 cars because husband and I came from two different places) and allowed me to keep parking it there until late on 9/28, there merely asked me to park it in a remote corner of their lot (a very reasonable request). Then when we checked in the front desk staff even remembered me from the night before and were as friendly as could be.

The public areas of the hotel are in excellent shape and very comfortable. I was immediately impressed by the lobby area of the hotel. This is where breakfast is served and the breakfast is definitely a home run! They had a variety of cold items and a few hot items. I'm sure even the pickiest person could find something to suit them here.

Husband and I stayed in, I believe, room 227. It was a whirlpool room. The room felt cavernous, it seemed empty. The whirlpool was fabulous. The bed didn't do much for me, I woke up stiff several times during the night. Beds are pretty subjective so your mileage may differ, my husband didn't have the same trouble I did and we were using the same bed at the same time. We also found the room to be on the warm side and couldn't get the A/C unit to really, really cool it down. To be fair, I always seem to be warm.

Overall, a very nice hotel and definitely lives up to the good reviews it receives. Certainly worth staying at if you're passing through or choosing to visit the Cumberland area.

Room Tip: Smaller room numbers on each floor are further away from the elevators and are thus quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to review your stay on Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important to us as well as other folks planning on visiting our area.
I appreciate the compliment you gave our staff and will share your review with them. We always try to go above and beyond when it comes to customer service and satisfaction. We've recently remodeled our lobby and breakfast areas to reflect a more contemporary atmosphere and I'm glad you found these areas to be clean and comfortable. We hope you come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a trip to western Maryland (to visit Cumberland MD) and really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel was clean, quiet, and comfortable. We stayed in a first floor room. The rooms were spacious, the ceilings were very high (higher than any other first floor room hotel we've stayed at, which was so nice) and the rooms were clean, tidy, and neat. Our bathroom was equally clean and spacious. The bathroom was a corner bathroom so the vanity was on an angle, it was very cool. Ample mirrors and supplies for the bathroom. The décor was a bit of an older style, but in good shape and clean. We had an adjoining room with our family so it was convenient to be able to go between the two rooms.
The hotel breakfast was the typical assortment of muffins, pastries, toast, eggs, sausage, etc. The breakfast area was in the lobby area, the décor was very modern, and the staff cleaned up nicely and the staff at the front desk was very friendly. Two thumbs up! Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose a 1st floor room if you want space and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I must say, you have quite an eye for detail.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

we arrived late and without reservation, the only room available was Executive Suite...for $159.

The suite was HUGE and truthfully we spent most of the time in the bedroom area, didn't go into the main living room area much at all. The bed was gigantic, the desk space was spacious and there were (2) bathrooms as well as an "in-room" hot tub too.

The complimentary breakfast in the morning was a FULL BREAKFAST with anything & everything a traveler could ask for: eggs, sausage, waffles, french toast, juices, coffees, toast cereal, yogurts, pastries, etc....

The monster-huge TV was satellite & HD (amazing picture quality). The hotel Wi-Fi was free and very snappy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. This is an inspiration to my staff as well as other travelers visiting the area.

Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

It is easy to see why this is not only the best rated hotel in the area, but one of the best in the overall Comfort chain. The fact that it is a clean, comfortable, well-maintained hotel with a decent hot breakfast is basically expected. But it is the little "extras" that make this place exceptional - the warm freshly-baked tollhouse cookies at the front desk to greet you every time you enter; the staff member out picking up stray cigarette butts in the parking lot at 6AM before most guests are even awake; the fact that EVERY staff member greets you warmly whenever they see you; the generous breakfast area with seats for everyone, even during the morning "rush"; etc. The hotel is conveniently located along a commercial strip just off the interstate, and just "over the hill" from Cumberland. Prices may be a few dollars higher than average for this class of hotel, but the "guest experience" will make you glad you stayed here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fred L, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to give such a glowing review of our hotel. Thanks for noticing that we go above and beyond to provide our guests with much more than just a hotel room.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 1216 National Highway, LaVale, MD 21502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > LaVale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in LaVale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Lavale
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Lavale
Lavale Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.