We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15101 Sweitzer Lane, Laurel, MD 20707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Laurel
Rosemount, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I chose this hotel because it was halfway between Baltimore and Washington DC and I wanted to visit both cities. It's not close to a whole lot- there is an Outback connected to the hotel and a gas station next door. The room was clean. The staff was the best part- really friendly and helpful with information about the area. Fresh baked cookies in the afternoons- and breakfast was free, which I wasn't expecting so that was a nice surprise. Overall for the rate that I paid (which was an advance purchase rate) it was well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Good afternoon Jenny B, first of all, thank you so much for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Laurel West!! We know you have many choices in the area, and we certainly appreciate you choosing to stay with us!! Secondly, thank you for the kind words and great review of our property. Our staff works very hard to make every guests' experience one that will bring them back again and again - and we do hope so see you again on your next trip to Laurel Maryland!! Have an excellent week!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    63
    40
    19
    11
See reviews for
45
26
13
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel is fine, not much not to like, although it probably is overdue for updates in some of the hallways and rooms - carpet, AC units etc. My room was roomy, quiet, and comfortable. Strange layout for this type of hotel with a prominent indoor atrium which features a smallish pool. I imagine this could get noisy at times so I wouldn't want an atrium room since I like to go to bed early.

Anyway I was amazed by the free breakfast buffet in the morning, really really good especially compared to the, excuse me, powdered-egg crap you get with most free hotel-chain breakfasts.

Room Tip: avoid the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Good day, I wanted to take a moment and thank you for sharing your recent experience while here at the Holiday Inn Laurel! It sounds as though you would certainly return, but I also wanted to let you know that I have shared your comments with our staff in order to keep them constantly focused on providing a "hassle free" and accommodating stay!

I want to thank you again for the great feedback you gave our hotel and I hope you will choose our property the next time your travels bring you to Laurel Maryland!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Specifically chose the hotel for the indoor pool. The day we arrived the heater in the pool had been out for at least 2 days and when we inquired on repair we were told up to 10 days more! The hospitality was completely lacking. Literally only one staff member initiated a "hello". When I asked the front desk what was available to do in the area, her response was "there's nothing here". Breakfast way overpriced. Not even an in room safe. I found out the last day of my stay that you could have access to a fridge and microwave in a STORAGE room down the hall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Good day, I wanted to thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Laurel. I make it a point to review all guest comments and responses in order to keep our staff always trying to improve our service and our property. Let me start out by apologizing for the pool and service you received while staying here.

Normally, we have no issues with our pool but unfortunately the heating element did shut down and the replacement part took 6 days to receive. I know that this does not change your experience, but I can assure you that this issue has been addressed. I hope that you will forgive us as this is most certainly an isolated incident.

Again, thank you for your response. I do hope that you will choose our property the next time your travels bring you to Laurel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very quiet stay with a great nights sleep and rest. The rooms and the property were well kept and very clean. The pool was being serviced during our stay which was not an inconvenience for us, but certainly could have been for families. The complimentary breakfast was very adequate, but it was very disappointing to see the property pass out to go boxes that folks completely overfilled. I even hesitate to report what it looked like.....Others in the breakfast room also made the same observation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Good day, thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Laurel West. We strive to make every guests' experience one in which they will come back again and again - as well as recommend us to others. Based on your comments, you did enjoy your stay except for your F&B experience. Let me start by apologizing for not meeting your expectations. I have shared your comments with our F&B Director so he can take this opportunity to share your comments with the entire team - this way they can hear first hand what can happen when they lose focus.

Thank you again for your comments and choosing to stay with us, we hope to see you again soon, have a glorious week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nice Holiday Inn but the internet service was horrible! I could not get any work done whatsoever on my laptop. Took forever to load a page. Last day there, saw a baby roach crawling around. Uggghhhhh....this is why I never put my stuff on the floor!

Anyway, Outback is attached to the hotel so that was convenient and the food was good. Breakfast is highly overpriced, especially if all you want is fruit and coffee. You would do better going elsewhere unless you want the convenience of going downstairs.

Free parking and internet so you can't beat that these days!

Housekeeping staff were extremely friendly and nice. This was the first time I left a tip for housekeeping. She kept my room spotless and she had a lot to work around (I bring a lot of fitness stuff when traveling). Front desk staff was blah. I think the manager didn't even bother to speak to me, nor smile, but the other lady did and she smiled, too.

Would I recommend? Yep, for business. Nothing romantic whatsoever. It's not close to much of anything. You WILL have to drive at least 5 miles to get to major shopping areas BUT it's right off the interstate.

Room Tip: Ask to get a room close to the wireless routers for the internet service. Otherwise, you can kiss in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Good day, let me start by thanking you for choosing to stay with us, as there are many options available in the Laurel area - we sincerely appreciate your business. We also appreciate any and all feedback we get from our guests - both positive and constructive - as we want to always be striving to improve. I want to apologize for the apparent lack of internet connectivity during your stay here at the hotel. I have taken this opportunity to share your comments with our internet provider to ensure they review the necessary steps to ensure we meet our expectations and exceed our guests' expectations.

Again, I do apologize for not providing our commitment of a hassle free stay. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you what great service we do provide the next time your travels bring you to Laurel, MD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Could be a good choice if you are traveling on business, but not particularly suited for casual or family travelers with children. Room was fairly comfortable but no fridge or microwave in room. Very little choice for breakfast or morning coffee unless you go for the full breakfast in the dining room. In either case it is a bit expensive unless you are on a business expense account.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Good afternoon, thank you for your response regarding your recent stay here in Laurel, MD. I make it a point to review all guest comments and responses in order to keep our staff always trying to improve our service and our property. We strive for "Excellent" service and want every guest to leave us "Extremely Satisfied"!! Based on your comments I see we did not exceed your expectations of our property and for that I am sincerely apologetic. I have shared your comments with our entire management staff to ensure they take this opportunity to coach, focus, and mentor their team on what we could have done to be more proactive and anticipate your needs better.

Again, thank you for your response. I do hope that you will choose our property the next time your travels bring you to Maryland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Good bargain with clean and neat room. I like the small swimming pool inside the hotel which is good for child. Free coffee inside room. Helpful frontdesk staff. Convenient from highway. No good that have no fridge inside the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Good day, thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Laurel West for your traveling needs and thank you for the kind words about our staff and property. We strive for excellence in service and want every guest to leave extremely satisfied. I would also ask if there is anything we could have done to make your stay better because the best way we can improve what we do is with feedback from our guests. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to the Laurel Maryland area!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area

Address: 15101 Sweitzer Lane, Laurel, MD 20707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Laurel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Laurel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Laurel-West hotel a 2007 Intercontinental Hotels Group Renovation Award winner. This full service Laurel, MD hotel is conveniently located at I-95/Rt 198W, exit 33B. Whether you are going to Washington DC or Baltimore, we are centrally located to both locations with easy access. Great amenities corporate guests expect, including complimentary high-speed Internet, business center, and newly refreshed fitness center. Take refreshing dip in our indoor heated pool in our spacious atrium. Begin your day at Atrium Café with a great breakfast, kids 12 and under eat free. Coming 1st quarter 2009 all Platinum and Gold Priority Club members will have access to the 6th floor Executive Club Lounge. A relaxing upscale space, the club level lounge offers complimentary breakfast, d oeuvres and variety of beverage options. End your busy day with a spectacular dinner onsite at Outback Steakhouse. Cheer on local sports teams including the Washington Redskins at FedEx Field, Baltimore Orioles at Camden Yards or the Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium. Other local attractions include Laurel horse racing track, Gardens Ice House and Fairlands Athletic Complex. Area business include: UPS, Verizon, Fort Meade, Dreyer s Ice Cream, John Hopkins Applied Physics/Kossiakoff and Lockheed Martin. Local business parks include Sweitzer Lane and Tech Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laurel West-i-95/Rt 198w Hotel Laurel
Laurel Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.