We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tweaking could make it 4” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15101 Sweitzer Lane, Laurel, MD 20707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Laurel
McDonough, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A little tweaking could make it 4”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Nice Holiday Inn but the internet service was horrible! I could not get any work done whatsoever on my laptop. Took forever to load a page. Last day there, saw a baby roach crawling around. Uggghhhhh....this is why I never put my stuff on the floor!

Anyway, Outback is attached to the hotel so that was convenient and the food was good. Breakfast is highly overpriced, especially if all you want is fruit and coffee. You would do better going elsewhere unless you want the convenience of going downstairs.

Free parking and internet so you can't beat that these days!

Housekeeping staff were extremely friendly and nice. This was the first time I left a tip for housekeeping. She kept my room spotless and she had a lot to work around (I bring a lot of fitness stuff when traveling). Front desk staff was blah. I think the manager didn't even bother to speak to me, nor smile, but the other lady did and she smiled, too.

Would I recommend? Yep, for business. Nothing romantic whatsoever. It's not close to much of anything. You WILL have to drive at least 5 miles to get to major shopping areas BUT it's right off the interstate.

Room Tip: Ask to get a room close to the wireless routers for the internet service. Otherwise, you can kiss in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Good day, let me start by thanking you for choosing to stay with us, as there are many options available in the Laurel area - we sincerely appreciate your business. We also appreciate any and all feedback we get from our guests - both positive and constructive - as we want to always be striving to improve. I want to apologize for the apparent lack of internet connectivity during your stay here at the hotel. I have taken this opportunity to share your comments with our internet provider to ensure they review the necessary steps to ensure we meet our expectations and exceed our guests' expectations.

Again, I do apologize for not providing our commitment of a hassle free stay. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you what great service we do provide the next time your travels bring you to Laurel, MD.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    63
    40
    19
    11
See reviews for
45
26
13
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Could be a good choice if you are traveling on business, but not particularly suited for casual or family travelers with children. Room was fairly comfortable but no fridge or microwave in room. Very little choice for breakfast or morning coffee unless you go for the full breakfast in the dining room. In either case it is a bit expensive unless you are on a business expense account.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Good afternoon, thank you for your response regarding your recent stay here in Laurel, MD. I make it a point to review all guest comments and responses in order to keep our staff always trying to improve our service and our property. We strive for "Excellent" service and want every guest to leave us "Extremely Satisfied"!! Based on your comments I see we did not exceed your expectations of our property and for that I am sincerely apologetic. I have shared your comments with our entire management staff to ensure they take this opportunity to coach, focus, and mentor their team on what we could have done to be more proactive and anticipate your needs better.

Again, thank you for your response. I do hope that you will choose our property the next time your travels bring you to Maryland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Good bargain with clean and neat room. I like the small swimming pool inside the hotel which is good for child. Free coffee inside room. Helpful frontdesk staff. Convenient from highway. No good that have no fridge inside the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Good day, thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Laurel West for your traveling needs and thank you for the kind words about our staff and property. We strive for excellence in service and want every guest to leave extremely satisfied. I would also ask if there is anything we could have done to make your stay better because the best way we can improve what we do is with feedback from our guests. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to the Laurel Maryland area!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I travel alot ! This Hilton was exceptional. King room was large and very clean. Memory foam mattress was great and the shower head had my husband writing down what it was so we can buy one . All of the staff from Frances at the front desk to housekeeping were wonderful.Value was Excellant ask for vouchers for their real breakfast the eggs are real and the fruit was sweet.We travel 95 back and forth from new Jersey to Florida and will stay here again. (And there's an Outback next door)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear LCS1016,

I wanted to thank you for choosing to stay with us, as well as sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Laurel West. I make it a point to review all guest comments and reviews in order to keep our staff always trying to improve our service and our property. I want to thank you for the kind words about the property, breakfast, and our staff, but also ask if there is anything we could have done to make your stay better. The best way we can improve what we do is with feedback from our guests!!

We cant wait to "WOW" you again the next time your travels bring you to the Holiday Inn Laurel West!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albion Park, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

his was a stop over as part of a 3 day bus trip before we moved onto Washington DC the next morning. The cost was part of the package so I cannot comment on the value.
The room was dirty, we found food under a lounge chair and food hand prints on the furniture. The rest of the room and furniture was clean.
The room and bathroom was a good size and the bedding comfortable.
There was a Steak House on the grounds of the hotel, but we did not get a chance to try the food.
If looking for and overnight stay you could give this one a try.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Good day,

First of all, thank you for staying with us on your recent trip to Laurel Maryland. But, also let me apologize for not meeting your expectations. We have a very clean and well maintained property with an outstanding staff that truly cares about each and every guests' experience. I have shared your comments with our Director of Housekeeping to ensure we take this opportunity to coach and focus our teams on the importance of attention to detail, exceeding expectations, and following our service first culture. We hope your travels bring you back to our property the next time you are in the Laurel area, have a fantastic day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south river, nj
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Front desk was polite. Rooms were ok, small but clean decent size doubles. Tv didn't work so well. Lifeguard was very rude. Pool is only open 2-8. And you don't want a room that opens to pool too noisy. Breakfast was eh so so. Price was a little high for the amenities.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Zanyce,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and sharing your recent experience. I like to review all of our guest comments and we sincerely appreciate feedback anytime we can get it, both positive and constructive, as it keeps us focused on what we need to do better to continually improve our facilities and service. I will certainly share your comments with our staff and with our pool company to ensure all of our guest have a pleasant experience when staying with us.

Again, thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to Laurel!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The lobby of this hotel has recently been refurbished and the front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. The room is clean and fine. The pillows are horrible. They are way too big/fluffy for a normal person. The air conditioner was a bit loud, but acceptable and cool. My big complaint is that I called down with the light over my sink out. Maintenance did come right away but said they would have to return later since they would have to take off the light fixture to replace the light bulb. I told them I needed it right away since I was checking out later and needed the light to brush my teeth, put on make-up... They did not come back. I had to drag the floor lamp over and plug it in as close to the area as possible. There is not a lot of room in that area and the lamp casts shadows all over. I was really disappointed. Is it really that hard to change a light bulb???

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the indoor pool can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Good day,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We sincerely appreciate your business and loyalty as a Holiday Inn guest!! We strive for excellence in service and we certainly hope that is what you received. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations in regards to your light but I wanted to ensure you it wasn't from a lack of trying. Upon further investigation we had to replace the ballast in your light fixture, this process can take a little time and create a little bit of a mess. This was the reason our engineer didn't return until after you had left. I sincerely apologize for you having to use the standing lamp for your light source and we hope that you will come back to visit us the next time your travels bring you to Laurel, MD. Have a great day and thank you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area

Address: 15101 Sweitzer Lane, Laurel, MD 20707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Laurel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Laurel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Laurel-West hotel a 2007 Intercontinental Hotels Group Renovation Award winner. This full service Laurel, MD hotel is conveniently located at I-95/Rt 198W, exit 33B. Whether you are going to Washington DC or Baltimore, we are centrally located to both locations with easy access. Great amenities corporate guests expect, including complimentary high-speed Internet, business center, and newly refreshed fitness center. Take refreshing dip in our indoor heated pool in our spacious atrium. Begin your day at Atrium Café with a great breakfast, kids 12 and under eat free. Coming 1st quarter 2009 all Platinum and Gold Priority Club members will have access to the 6th floor Executive Club Lounge. A relaxing upscale space, the club level lounge offers complimentary breakfast, d oeuvres and variety of beverage options. End your busy day with a spectacular dinner onsite at Outback Steakhouse. Cheer on local sports teams including the Washington Redskins at FedEx Field, Baltimore Orioles at Camden Yards or the Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium. Other local attractions include Laurel horse racing track, Gardens Ice House and Fairlands Athletic Complex. Area business include: UPS, Verizon, Fort Meade, Dreyer s Ice Cream, John Hopkins Applied Physics/Kossiakoff and Lockheed Martin. Local business parks include Sweitzer Lane and Tech Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laurel West-i-95/Rt 198w Hotel Laurel
Laurel Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.