We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad, but kind of lacking in housekeeping” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15101 Sweitzer Lane, Laurel, MD 20707   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Laurel
pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“not bad, but kind of lacking in housekeeping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

stayed recently for a soccer tournament event. every person in our group had a comment about the lack of effort put into the housekeeping. my son found a slim jim under my bed and there were crumbs and candy under the chair. you can tell an effort was made, but half hearted at best. free wifi was good, but spotty. nice to have the outback there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Good day, first I would like to thank you for staying with us. Secondly, let me sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. We strive to provide a clean, well maintained hotel with a staff that offers outstanding service in a hassle free environment - and from your comments, it certainly sounds as if we did not achieve our goal. I have shared your comments with our Director of Housekeeping to ensure that she takes this opportunity to coach and focus her team on the importance of attention to detail and meeting the expectations of our guests. I do hope that this experience does not deter you from trying our hotel again the next time you are in the Laurel area, have a wonderful week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    63
    40
    19
    11
See reviews for
45
26
13
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Let me preface this by saying I stay at a lot of hotels, but not a lot of Holiday Inns. There was nothing intrinsically wrong with this property - the front desk staff was helpful, the room was clean, the bed was okay. There was nothing great about the property either. Inside it felt a little dark. There's an Outback connected to the property, which is really convenient. We had a small luncheon there for about 20 people and the staff did not adequately set up the room, Fortunately we showed up early to get things squared away and our event took place without issue.

There really is nothing around this hotel - it's not in the best area, but not knowing Laurel I cannot say for sure there are better options, but my gut says there are.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Good day, thank you for sharing your experience and comments, and thank you for staying with us. I make it a point to review all guest comments in order to keep our staff always trying to improve our service and our property. We strive for excellence in service and want every guest to leave extremely satisfied! Based on your comments, we fell short of our goal, and I would like to apologize. I have shared your comments with all of my department managers to ensure they take action on your comments. We hope the next time you are in the Laurel, MD area you will consider giving us another chance to "WOW" you! Have a pleasant week and thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

From the warm, helpful and professional check in (Thanks Bryan). To the outstanding daily room service. The beds are absolutely dreamy. The shower head (whatever it was) delicious. I could have stayed in there all day. The rooms, the hotel, the property was always very clean. The hotel staff couldn't be nicer. Thanks to Joel for the help with the room key. Safety first!! It's an easy on and off to 95. Breakfast was quick and convenient. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Get the king size bed. =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Good day and thank you so much for sharing your experience from your recent stay here with us at the Holiday Inn Laurel. Out team strives to have every guest leave our hotel wanting to return, as well as recommend us whenever they know someone may be traveling to the Laurel, Maryland area. I will be sure to share all of your comments with our staff - as I know they ALL love to hear that their efforts have made a difference!! We hope to see you soon and wish you a wonderful day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Front desk staff were awesome (Natacha)!!!!! My room stayed fresh and clean everyday thanks (Rosy). The food was awsome (Helder) and so was the kitchen and dining room staff. Great hotel.....Thanks guys.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Laurel!!! In addition, thank you for sharing the great experiences you have had here. The best recommendations we can get are from guests who take the time to express how their experience went - unsolicited. As we strive to provide the best guest service possible, it is nice for our staff to hear when they do their absolute best!! I will be sure to share your comments with everyone here at the hotel. We hope to see you again soon and have a great day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Everything was great. The front desk was GREAT. very very helpful with everything all your needs. And the beds was the best went home and looking to buy the same bed. Love the weight room able to hit all areas. If I'm back up this way I know where I'm going to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Good day, I wanted to thank you for your response and sharing your experience regarding your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Laurel hotel. I make it a point to review all guest comments and responses in order to keep our staff always trying to improve our service culture and our property. We strive for "Excellence" in service and want every guest to leave "Extremely Satisfied"!!! I want to thank you for the great review you gave our hotel and our staff, but also ask if there is anything we could have done to make your stay better. The best way we can improve what we do is with feedback from our guests!! We are extremely pleased that you will return to see us, have a wonderful day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasbury-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We've stayed here several times in order to visit with elderly relatives in Laurel. So now it's like coming home. From Natascha on the front desk, who always has a welcoming smile, to Marta and her colleahues who provide the breakfasts, we find all the staff friendly and make us feel welcome.
The bed was very comfortable and the room cleaning excellent.

Room Tip: We always have to ask for a room close to an elevator for mobility reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Laurel West and sharing your experience. We sincerely appreciate all of your wonderful comments. As you mentioned, our staff is very friendly and focuses on making each guest experience a great one!! I will be sure to pass your comments on to Natacha, Marta and the entire staff for a job well done. We hope to see you soon, have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had meeting nearby so stopped here to do some work. As it turned out, the restaurant was closed but the staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful, providing me with a coffee, helping me get wifi set up etc. Cannot comment on rooms as did not stay but very impressed by the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyrod H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Good day, thank you for the wonderful comments about our staff here at the Holiday Inn Laurel West. We truly take pride in going above and beyond for all of our guest. Whether staying with us or stopping by for a quick meeting, you are considered family as soon as you step through our doors. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff as they will be very delighted to hear they made someone's day! Thank you again for the great accolades and have a excellent day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area

Address: 15101 Sweitzer Lane, Laurel, MD 20707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Laurel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Laurel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area 3*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Laurel-West hotel a 2007 Intercontinental Hotels Group Renovation Award winner. This full service Laurel, MD hotel is conveniently located at I-95/Rt 198W, exit 33B. Whether you are going to Washington DC or Baltimore, we are centrally located to both locations with easy access. Great amenities corporate guests expect, including complimentary high-speed Internet, business center, and newly refreshed fitness center. Take refreshing dip in our indoor heated pool in our spacious atrium. Begin your day at Atrium Café with a great breakfast, kids 12 and under eat free. Coming 1st quarter 2009 all Platinum and Gold Priority Club members will have access to the 6th floor Executive Club Lounge. A relaxing upscale space, the club level lounge offers complimentary breakfast, d oeuvres and variety of beverage options. End your busy day with a spectacular dinner onsite at Outback Steakhouse. Cheer on local sports teams including the Washington Redskins at FedEx Field, Baltimore Orioles at Camden Yards or the Baltimore Ravens at M&T Bank Stadium. Other local attractions include Laurel horse racing track, Gardens Ice House and Fairlands Athletic Complex. Area business include: UPS, Verizon, Fort Meade, Dreyer s Ice Cream, John Hopkins Applied Physics/Kossiakoff and Lockheed Martin. Local business parks include Sweitzer Lane and Tech Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laurel West-i-95/Rt 198w Hotel Laurel
Laurel Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Laurel West - Washington DC Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.