We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only the exterior is of interest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montpelier Mansion

Montpelier Mansion
9650 Muirkirk Road, Laurel, MD 20708
301-953-1376
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 attractions in Laurel
Type: Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Only the exterior is of interest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

There is not much to see on the interior. The exterior of the house and the grounds are very attractive

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Historical oasis, well done exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

As a kid growing up nearby, I had heard about Montpelier Mansion, but now I'm sorry I never made the time to visit. Montpelier Mansion may be surrounded by busy streets and strip malls, but once you are on the property it's like a trip back in time. My first thought was that Montpelier was reminiscent of Jefferson's Monticello, but on a much smaller scale. The house had very few owners and has been faithfully restored to what it would have looked like in 1800-1830. There are unusual rectangular sheets of wallpaper, original moulding, and lots of family furniture. The staff outfits the rooms as the family would have for each season, changing the draperies and even the fireplace accessories. I'd never seen a historic dining room complete with crumb cloths and dish basins. My children always chafed at tours of historic homes, but Montpelier would be a great one for kids. There's a hands on room with toys of the time and dress up clothes. Doing the self-guided tour with its informative booklet lets you go at your own pace to review the detailed information, which is repeated on displays in each room. The facility seems to be thriving with room rentals for events and weddings,and the Arts Center on the 70 acre site. We really enjoyed walking around the grounds, imagining the views down to the river, or carriages arriving at the door. There's an herb garden with picket fence, an ancient boxwood maze, and an octagonal playhouse, all great for taking photos.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Preservation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is another hidden jewel where you don't expect it. Granted, the tour fee is a little high, but I'm sure there's not a lot of grant money pouring in. Tour fees are what keeps the doors open. Although the architecture is interesting and the history of great interest, we enjoyed the tour of the kitchen facility (hardly up to our standards, of course), the primitive cooking tools which were probably the state of the art in those days. There's also an exhibit of the timeline of the area which is also quite interesting.

Combine this with Pasta Plus in Laurel right around the corner and it's a great time.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Va
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

It was a lovely tour but way overpriced. Staff was very well informed and interesting.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edgewater, maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Montpelier Mansion - A Must See Historic Site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Montpelier is a beautiful Georgian mansion built by Thomas Snowden for his wife Ann Ridgely Snowden, approximately 1781-1783.
The architecture is a wonderful example of the Georgian style, with it's symmetry. The house is built with brick produced on the property and laid in a Flemish Bond pattern.
The inside of the house has been been beautifully maintained and restored. The rooms that were "public" rooms in the house have amazing moulding, dental work, and cornice detail completed in both wood and plaster.
Most all of the rooms in the house on the first and second floor are open to visitors and are furnished with pieces of the period in time when the house would have been occupied by the Snowdens. Even the floor coverings, drapes, and wall colors are true to the period.
If you get an opportunity to go on a Sunday, as we did, there are guided tours and our docent was very knowledable about the Snowden family, details of the construction of the house, furnishings, and the full history of the house to the current time.
Unfortunaely there was a thunder storm while we were visiting so we did not get an opportunity to explore the grounds, and garden, or get a good view of the front of the house. We will be going back to see the things we missed.
There is also a series of displays in the "carriage house": one is a room set up as a colonial kitchen, but we missed the rest of the display because of the rain.
There is a small fee for touring the house - $3 for adults, $2 for students and seniors. A bargain.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montpelier Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Montpelier Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montpelier Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Montpelier Mansion to your Saves list