We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel on a weekend with storm-caused power failure.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Sleep Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10127 Washington Blvd, Laurel, MD 20723   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Laurel
Staunton, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel on a weekend with storm-caused power failure.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Fortunately I had called in a reservation at the Sleep Inn & Suites, planning to stay Saturday night while visiting family near Ft Meade, MD. Fortunate especially because of a big storm which led to power failures all over Virginia and Maryland on the Friday night before, and when I arrived at the hotel in the afternoon they were inundated with people without electricity in the stifling heat, trying to find rooms to sleep in comfort. The hotel had just regained electricity on Saturday afternoon and as soon as they had their computer up and running, they got me checked into a very nice clean room. They were helping as many folks as they could in trying circumstances. The price was reasonable and the breakfast available had good fresh choices and an excellent staff who kept supplies topped up. All in all, they coped well with the power outage, the crowds and the hot weather. The only downside was that the internet never did function in my room before I left on Sunday morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
18
16
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Many construction vehicles in the parking lot, but the staff was super friendly, any location was ideal for my business. My room is very spacious and clean, almost unexpected. I will return I am in this area again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

Our gps kept pointing us to the Velencia, and we were getting nervous, but behind the Valencia across the street we found it! The rooms wee clean w microwave & fridge, indoor pool w handicapped chair lift! Lovely , clean, neat and accommodating. Near restaurants. Short ways to the park n ride metro station. We were able to go to DC Convention center pretty easily ( not knowing anything about mass transit ) with directions from the front desk , cost for 3 was 14.80 (round trip) including parking which was free that day but is usually 4.25 for all day.
The continental breakfast is really a spread with fresh hot Belgium waffles, cereal, 2 kinds of juice, a variety of toast or bagels or doughnuts, and coffee or tea or even cocoa. The staff is super accommodating & helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
418 reviews 418 reviews
202 hotel reviews
Reviews in 205 cities Reviews in 205 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012 via mobile

I was delight with my stay at this hotel... Great customer service; free room upgrade being a Diamond member, great fitness center and pool, good breakfast and good wifi Internet... Very reasonable price... Nothing to complaint about!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

After reading the mixed reviews here, we decided to go ahead and take a chance on this place because of its location (close to friends in College Park) and reasonable prices. It was fine, mostly, but the combination of problems we had - ants in our room, various other small room problems, and a ridiculous fee tacked on at the end - have pretty much guaranteed that I'm not going to stay there again.

The first room we were given was supposedly a nonsmoking room, but it reeked of smoke and some kind of awful air freshener that I guess was supposed to cover up the smokey smell. We opened the window and settled in anyway. Then, in the bathroom, I discovered a bunch of ants swarming on the floor. We went to the front desk, told them about the ants, and requested a new room. The gentleman at the front desk apologized and upgraded us to a king suite free of charge, and this was a much nicer room - no ants, cleaner, and better smelling. Hooray!

But then there were other irritating things - little things, really, but irritating, you know? We couldn't get the internet (wireless or wired) to work. One of the lamps was burned out. The vending machine gave me a 16-oz bottle of crappy water instead of the 20-oz bottle of Aquafina that it advertised. None of this would be a big deal on its own, but together with the Ant Room episode, it didn't really contribute to my good feelings about the hotel.

And then it came time to check out. An invoice had been slid under our door the morning of our departure, and I noticed a new charge on the bill: 99 cents per day for a "safe charge." There was a safe in our room, but we didn't use it, and no one had mentioned this charge before. Here's how the conversation went when we went to check out:

Me: Hi, we're here to check out, room XYZ.
Front Desk Guy: Ok. [doing stuff on his computer]
Me: Say, can I ask you what this "safe charge" is? [Showing him the bill.]
FDG: Oh, yes, that's for the safe in the room.
Me: Even though we didn't use it?
FDG: Yes. If you had asked me about it before, I could have taken the charge off the bill, but I've already checked you out, so now I can't do anything about it. Next time you come, you should ask about it in advance and then we won't charge you for it.

Heh. "Next time I come." Right. This was really the icing on the cake of ridiculousness - a charge for something I didn't use, that you didn't tell me about in advance, and which you *could have* removed if only I had posed the question thirty seconds earlier? Really? Really?

Individually, I could have overlooked any of these problems (except maybe the ants, which sound like they're a persistent problem at this place, if the earlier review on here is correct). All together, though, they're just too much. I'll spend the extra $20/night and stay someplace else next time I'm visiting D.C.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GamerGirl-STL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I stayed here one night while passing through. The room was extremely large, with lots of floor space. Mostly clean, with appliances, though it was somewhat stuffy. There was an odd smell in the room like someone had gone overboard with the air freshener. Other than that things were fine. There is an indoor pool, and I saw many families with children. Breakfast was good, with many kinds of bread, a wafflemaker, and juice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayette, Alabama
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

I do not have a complaint about staying here.

I got what I paid for and I was very pleased with everything including the staff, except the room. Time for the old bedspreads to go. Clean the carpets.

But otherwise you will find this hotel a solid place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 10127 Washington Blvd, Laurel, MD 20723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Laurel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Laurel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Laurel
Sleep Inn Laurel
Laurel Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.