We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a dump!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Toucan Taco

Toucan Taco
315 Gorman Avenue, Laurel, MD 20707
301 498 9833
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 156 Restaurants in Laurel
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's a dump!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife sometimes thinks that places are good because they've got character. This place had character. The atmosphere shows they've got some sort of hispanic heritage going on.

And that's about all they've got going for them. The food was spicy but not in a good way. The beef tasted like it was deep fried? Really? Deep fried beef? Ugh, just a disgusting experience overall.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    0
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Small, cramped, and just unappealing food. They make an ok Taco and have some decent service. Just cold and not very friendly.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“An unexpected pleasure (3.5 of 5)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Toucan Taco was a great surprise. From the outside, you may shy away. Don't. The menu offerings were many. I went with my Mom. She has taco's and chili con carne and I had a burrito (chicken and bean) in spicy sauce. Tasted very good. The service was good. While having lunch, there were many who came in for take out. Many regulars were identified by the staff.

I'd return....not sure when I will be in Laurel again, but I'd stop here again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, very fast service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We go here often for lunch during the work week because the food is very tasty and the service is very fast. You won't find the entrees smothered in melted cheese like some Mexican places. It's just enough to complement the dish, not overwhelm it. This is a family run restaurant. Support your local establishment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worst Idea Ever!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I had driven by this place multiple times and always wondered how it was still in business. It's disgusting on the outside, as well as on the inside.

My husband and I like to try new places, and I usually go off of reviews on here. Most of the time people are right... but this time, they were wrong! Really wrong!!! Even some of my husband's friend's suggested this place to him. I have no idea why!!

IGNORE ALL GOOD REVIEWS ABOUT THIS PLACE!!!!

First off, the place is nasty! Dirty and gross with really bad furniture.
They use paper plates, plastic utensils, and tins to serve the food. The queso was ok, but probably came from a jar.
The menu is SMALL and is printed on a plain piece of paper.

My husband ordered the sunken beef burrito, which was about 9 dollars. I ordered the chicken quesadilla. My quesadilla came out on a paper plate, and it was actually beef, not chicken. I decided to just suck it up and try it anyways. HORRIBLE! It was dry and too spicy. It tasted like something you could get at 711... not even THAT good!

My husbands burrito resembled something like a frozen burrito you could get at the grocery store. Except smaller. And soaked in grease! Horrible.

It was WAY over priced for disgusting food and horrible service. The people who worked there looked like they just got released from prison!

Take my advice and NEVER go here... EVER!!!!

  • Visited December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toucan Taco also viewed

 

Been to Toucan Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toucan Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.