We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Tasty and Affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Hot & Blue

Red Hot & Blue
677 Main St, Laurel, MD 20707-4068
301-953-1943
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 156 Restaurants in Laurel
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue, Bar, Chicken Wings, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Delivery
Description: Red Hot and Blue is a full-service, casual-themed restaurant chain and caterer featuring delicious award-winning ribs, Memphis-style barbeque, smoked wings, and Southern sides and desserts. The atmosphere is steeped in legendary and contemporary blues music and delivers a large dose of Southern hospitality in a fun and entertaining dining environment. History: The first Red Hot and Blue restaurant opened in Arlington, Virginia in 1988, started by Lee Atwater, Don Sundquist and friends. Don Sundquist was from Memphis and served in the House of Representatives and as governor of Tennessee. The late Lee Atwater was an amateur blues musician and political figure that managed George H.W. Bush's successful race for the presidency. These men were friends who longed for authentic Memphis-style barbeque and great blues music. Unable to find that combination anywhere in the Washington, DC area they decided the only way to get it done was to open a restaurant of their own. The Memphis-style barbeque chain celebrated its 25th Anniversary in 2013 by partnering with a charitable organization at 24 different restaurant locations. The yearlong celebration culminated in the presentation of thousands of dollars in donations to local charities. The Name: The name, "Red Hot and Blue" is taken from the title of D.J. Dewey Phillip's radio show that that aired on WHBQ-AM in Memphis, Tennessee in the 1950s. This radio show launched the careers of Elvis Presley, Jerry Lee Lewis and Johnny Cash and broadened the audience for artists such as BB King, Muddy Waters, Robert Cray and Rufus Thomas. Red Hot & Blue Dine-In, Take-Out and Catering. Hickory-smoked Memphis-style BBQ, Ribs, Wings, Beef Brisket, Smoked Chicken, Seafood, Full-service Bar, in a Family-friendly atmosphere with a heapin' helpin' of Southern Hospitality!
Laurel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Super Tasty and Affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

this is a very family friendly place that serves delicious bbq and a lively atmosphere. If you are like me and care more about the bread at restaurants than the actual food, you will go bonkers over the breadrolls here. Mmmm so good. The bbq is not bad either;)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    28
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bernardsville, NJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is definitely a family place. Lots of kids the night I was there; TV's were on with auto racing featured. Our waitress was lovely, and the service was very good. Good beers on tap (I recommend the Heavy Seas Loose Cannon.) St. Louis style ribs were good (note: I am not a rib expert!) and the baked beans and coleslaw were delish too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We've eaten here on several occasions over the past 5+ years, and have never had a bad meal here. The family (4 of us) stopped for dinner last night on our way home from DC, and had their pulled pork, smoked sausage, and southwestern salad. Everyone was happy with the food, which was all really good. The salads were fresh and had a nice assortment of veggies (cucumber, carrot, etc...), and the chicken on top was really delicious (nice sauce). The dressing for the salad seemed like it was a spicy bbq sauce mixed with vinegar or something, but my daughters really liked their salads. They went light on the dressing (it was zesty), but it added plenty of flavor. The smoked sausages are really good here. I think every time we come here I have to get a menu option that includes at least 1 smoked sausage. And the pulled pork was perfect - falling apart and tender. On the table they always have a mild bbq sauce, as well as a dark vinegar bbq sauce (very good), and their spicy bbq sauce (also a family favorite). Our waitress was very attentive, refilling beverages and making sure everything was fine. We will continue to come back for really good BBQ.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing impressive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I went here to see If it was worth the visit and it wasn't. It was my first and last.it wasn't real bad but it definitely was real great either.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Almost wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is a great place. The ribs were fantastic and everyone's meals were very good. The drinks were extremely well made and our waitress was great. The only thing keeping this from being the best - they don't have fried okra - I love the fried okra at Red Hot & Blues and this one doesn't have it!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Hot & Blue also viewed

 

Been to Red Hot & Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Hot & Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.