We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Italian Restaurant with an Unfortunate Name” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pasta Plus

Pasta Plus
209 Gorman Ave, Laurel, MD 20707-4601
(301) 498-5100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 153 Restaurants in Laurel
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Highland, Maryland
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian Restaurant with an Unfortunate Name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a great Italian restaurant. Don't be fooled by its name or its location (strip mall in unsophisticated Laurel). Pasta dishes are the piece-de-resistance, with their great marinara sauce. Clams and linguini is great. I ordered last time half a lobster over linguini and red sauce, with clams, mussels, shrimp and scallops that was enough to feed a small family. Desserts are great particularly eclairs and cannoli. They have a market next door where we always buy, to go, fresh pasta, Pecorino Romano grated cheese and marinara sauce. Makes for an easy and delicious meal at home.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    55
    11
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This is what Italian should be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Authentic Italian family owned. They share their story and they should. I visited with friends, and can say the salad, bread, pizza and two different pasta dishes were very satisfying. This is now my Italian restaurant of choice.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangor, me
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great food, ok service, weird atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

First - we ate lunch on the takeout side and it was cramped and unorganized. Perhaps the restaurant side is different. The waiter was a bit gruff and we saw him address a couple rather rudely regarding seating. The waiter did end up appologizing and the whole situation was just a miscommunication between the waiter and the busboy so I wouldn't hold it against them but the waiter did sort of remind me of the soup guy from Seinfeld.

I would like to add that the gruff waiter actually treated our party (including our two small children) very well and he took very good care of us.

The food is great. We had pizza and pasta. Everything was very good.

I probably would not go and eat on the takeout side again but I would most definitely get takeout or try the restaurant side.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Family run business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

From the delicious food to the excellent service and moderately priced entrees, this place never lets us down!! My partner and I have been dining there for 15yrs and have always been happy with the food and service. Both of us are professional and have traveled the world extensively and have tried many different restaurants in many differently countries but we keep coming back to the casual Pasta Plus as one of our fav's. Keep it UP Pasta Plus!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Family owned restaurant located in a strip mall off of Rt. 1. Service is good and the entrees are perfectly done and flavorful. I especially enjoy the seafood pasta dishes

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasta Plus also viewed

 

Been to Pasta Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasta Plus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.