We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother checking in with a service animal” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express I-95 Beltway-Largo

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express I-95 Beltway-Largo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express I-95 Beltway-Largo
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9101 Basil Ct, Largo, MD 20774   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Largo
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Don't bother checking in with a service animal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I tried to check in with a service animal at 7pm on 5/17/13and was refused check-in by the person at the front desk. His name tag stated the name was Imrun. He told me he was the manager and that no service animals were allowed without official paperwork. He refused to communicate further and told me to call the 1-800 number if I had a problem with the hotel's policy. I finally got through to customer service and they thanked me for calling and told me this would be a good "coaching" lesson for this employee with respect to company policies. By the time we got to that point I'd already checked into the Sheraton down the road. The lack of professionalism and refusal to communicate upon check-in with a service animal was incomprehensible. My advice to people with service animals is to avoid this hotel. Stay at the Radisson next door or just continue up the highway a bit to the Sheraton. They will be much more welcoming and professional

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express I-95 Beltway-Largo, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Ed L,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    36
    6
    7
    7
See reviews for
42
11
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed 5 nights. The staff was very pleasant. The breakfast was good, a lot of choices. Housekeeping was very efficient. We will definitely stay here in the future. The location was perfect since it was 10 minutes from my Mother-in-law's home. There are a lot of good restaurants in the area to choose from. I believe it's close to a mall as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel for cherry blossom festival and we had a great time my two year old daughter feels like home the staff are friendly and helpfull there indoor swimming pool just as we needed after a long day of sightseeing the room is clean with 42 inch flat screen tv there's a microwave small refrigerator and coffe maker but our room has no coffee pot we ask the cleaner bit she told us that they don't have it but still it's a great hotel to stay for everybody and we will stay here against next time

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Fear, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

It's customer service outRanks any hotel in this area "very welcoming"
The hotel is nice fresh appealing to any weary headed traveler in need of a Rest and some Pool Time
Just as any Holiday Inn Express should be but better. I am making this a frequent stop when Im in the Upper Marlboro Largo District Heights. It's always nice to feel safe in any environment. THANKS AGAIN

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I cannot say enough about the professionalism and downright friendliness of the staff. Whatever you need is handled promptly and without any issues. The hotel's exterior has great curb appeal and is quite convent to the beltway. The lobby is clean, open and always smells good - not quite sure what it is but it does.

With all that said the rooms are quite another matter. The rooms while clean are SCREAMING to be renovated. I can't help thinking the Brady Bunch may have stayed there while on vacation. I've probaby stayed there three times within the last six months. If it weren't for the staff and the convenience of the location I would look elsewhere. Each time I get a "suite" and I've had to call about the room each time for either a blown light bulb, to replace a sofa with a huge dip, a bathroom fan that won't quit running etc. The rooms remind me of being in a military-style barracks. Guys the 70s style rooms have got to go.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilargo, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express I-95 Beltway-Largo, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Eddie F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your valued feedback. I would also like to thank you for your words of encouragement to me and my staff who are very eager to make your stay enjoyable.

We are very excited to inform you that we have started our preliminary renovation process; we are currently in the design process. It is going to be a long, but exciting journey and a much updated look as you would expect.

Once again, thank you for your loyalty and giving us your valued feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Beautiful hotel! Clean and friendly atmosphere. The hotel manager, Steve is exceptional and knows how to take care of his guests. He is a pleasure to deal with!! The hotel staff are polite and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stay in this holiday inn express because it is close to FedEx field. We also have a ton of points with holiday inn but paid $177 for a Saturday night. The place was a big disappointment. The sheets did not fit the bed. The blanket had a big burn mark. The pillows were terrible and the toilet had no water and would not flush. The hall had a bad smell and the furniture was worn out. It was so bad we checked out early and drove to Baltimore after the game. Never again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilargo, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express I-95 Beltway-Largo, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Henry V,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the level of service.

The rates for that weekend were high due to the redskin’s playoff game after so many years and our close proximity to the FedEx Field. I am terribly embarrassed and disappointed on the quality of service you received at our hotel. We have already taken extra steps to prevent this from happening in the future. As you can tell from the surveys on this or any other website, this is not how we like to do business and take care of our guests.

I would strongly urge you to please give me a phone call and I will do everything to make it right for you. My contact # is 301 636 6090 X707.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at the hotel, I would like to thank you for providing your feedback. And I sincerely hope that I hear back from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express I-95 Beltway-Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express I-95 Beltway-Largo

Address: 9101 Basil Ct, Largo, MD 20774
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Largo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express I-95 Beltway-Largo 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites I-95 Capitol Beltway-Largo, conveniently located near Washington, DC, Baltimore, Maryland, and Annapolis, Maryland. The Holiday Inn Express hotel in Largo features free shuttle service (limited hours) to the Largo Town Center, Metro Station, area businesses, shopping and restaurants. Guests will enjoy our complimentary hot Express Start breakfast bar.When it s time to get connected we know what you need - high-speed Internet, cable, sports and movie channels. And when you need to burn some energy our fully equipped fitness center or indoor heated pool will help melt your stress away.This beautiful hotel in Largo, Maryland is located minutes away from FedEx Field, home of the Washington Redskins; and is convenient to the University of Maryland, Six Flags Great America, Show Place Arena and Prince George s Equestrian Center, and the Prince George s County Sports & Learning Complex. Nearby corporate and government offices include: Verizon, Aetna, Harris Corporation, NASA, Boeing, Lockheed Martin, USDA, FUJI, Raytheon, Andrews Air Force Base, CSC, Prince George s County offices, and the IRS Training Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express I-95 Beltway-Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express i-95 Beltway-Largo Hotel Largo
Holiday Inn Express Largo
Holiday Inn Largo
Largo Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express I-95 Beltway-Largo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.