We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In DC, You Get What You Pay For...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5910 Princess Garden Parkway, Lanham, MD 20706   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lanham
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“In DC, You Get What You Pay For...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Best Western in Lanham, Maryland is an excellent choice for those who want a clean, quality hotel without the Washington DC expense. The Best Western is located just off the beltway, which makes it easy to see and easy to navigate to (for those who are visiting and not that familiar with the ins-and-outs of beltway traffic). First impressions however, leave a bit to be desired. This is due to the location of the hotel, and there is not much that BW can do about it. To get to the hotel you get off Princess Garden Parkway and cut through a large -and mostly deserted - parking lot that was intended to service a now, for the most part, empty office building. The 'front' of the hotel actually faces the beltway; so in essence, you enter from the rear of the property.

The hotel is, as is often the case, starting to show its age. When I was there, the maintenance staff was constantly working on one or both elevators. The drink machine in the elevator foyer was out of service (which needs to be addressed, given that it is summer in Washington: heat wave!). The second floor drink machine was also out both days. The lobby is furnished with comfortable reading chairs and tables. It also houses a gift shop that is open a few hours per day. My room was very nice, aged, but spotless clean. It had a nice television but lacked, again – this being summer – a room size refrigerator! I have just become used to (Vegas aside) picking up some supplies for the room and using the fridge. The AC worked very well - almost too well - as I was used to a cool room and had to hit the baking streets. The view...well, again it is a question of what you want to spend. My room opened onto the roof area that housed a lot of heating and air conditioning equipment. It does not bother me, because I am not staying in Lanham, Maryland for the scenery, but for those who spend considerable time in the room, and for whom the view matters, this should be awareness.

BW has a complimentary breakfast, which was well apportioned with different breakfast items each day. The staff at the Lanham Best Western was exceptional. I asked for an early check in, having arrived around 10:30 in the morning, and I was in the room in less than ten minutes. They are always friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. Another plus of the Lanham BW is that it runs a shuttle from 09:00 to 23:00 to the New Carrolton Metro station, so if you would rather navigate via the Metro, this is a huge benefit. However, be aware that the only food/store within walking distance is the “Goodies Chinese American Take Out” on the opposite side of the vast deserted parking lot (http://www.yelp.com/biz/goodies-restaurant-and-carryout-lanham). If you would prefer to dine in, there is a room service menu available which I assume is contracted out locally. I assume there's delivery around the area, but anything other than "Goodies", you're gonna need a car.

Overall, I gave it a four star rating based on overall interior appearance, quality staff efficiency, complimentary breakfast, shuttle to the Metro and strategic location (not in DC, but close enough). Again, if you are just in and out, the Best Western in Lanham, Maryland beats paying DC prices while still having access to all that's entertaining in the district.

Room Tip: Be aware that looks can be deceiving! The outside of the facility is starting to show its age, and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGeneralManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

Best regards,

Helen Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    103
    77
    52
    69
See reviews for
151
65
23
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Donna, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Staff was great. It was clean, but needed updating. Breakfast was adequate, though had to wait for some things to be refilled. Not enough fruit for the people that were there. Coffee was slow in coming out. Pool needed cleaning and life guard was asleep most of the time we were in the pool. good thing we didn't need him to watch our grandchildren. We had two rooms which adjoined so this was a good thing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poncedar J, Manager at BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Thank you very much for bring your concerns to my attention regarding the breakfast, I can assure you that we are diligently working to resolve this problem. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 301-459-1000 .


Sincerely,

Poncedar Johnson
Assistant General Manager
BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The staff, lobby, and laundry services were exceptional at this hotel. The room was dated and there was a smell that I couldn't quite discern in the room. The smell was eliminated the following day by the generous tip I left on the bed along with a note for the housekeeping staff. The hotel does provide a breakfast, but my family resorted to the cold cereal based on the mess that was left around the hot food line each of the four mornings we visited. The trash was over flowing into the floors on two separate mornings when we visit the breakfast room. I noted that the attendant spent much time running to get refills on juice, milk, and coffee when this time could be better spent tending to the food and patrons.
Do not keep valuables in your car at this or any hotel. We were fortunate to not have any issues, but observed a broken car window in the parking lot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poncedar J, Manager at BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team I would like to thank you for the compliment of the staff. I would also like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Thank you very much for bring your concerns to my attention regarding the breakfast, I can assure you that we are diligently working to resolve this problem. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 301-459-1000 .


Sincerely,

Poncedar Johnson
Assistant General Manager
BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Booked this hotel for my family on our six flags trip. We arrived at 11:30pm and I was disgusted by the outside. It was clean but I could not even drag my children through the sea of drunk people out front throwing beer cans and yelling. Didn't think this was going to be safe due to that and the bouncers standing outside what they call their lounge but is actually a nightclub. This is all at the only entrance. I also noticed 3 state police standing by. The front desk did offer to upgrade me but I kindly declined as I had to quickly exit the area due to a group of men with drinks trying to talk to my 12 yr old daughter. If you are an adult couple this may be a nice hotel but definitely not for a family. I was very surprised as I have never had an Issue with a Best Western. Maybe it should be advertised differently.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poncedar J, Manager at BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Thank you very much for bring your concerns to my attention regarding our Night Club. Please except my sincere apologies for not providing you with that information upon receipt of your booking. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 301-459-1000 .


Sincerely,

Poncedar Johnson
Assistant General Manager
BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The location of the hotel was pretty ok and since the hotel shuttle dropped us to the station and picked us up back it was convenient.we stayed for 3 nights and were pretty comfortable.Inspite of the night club in the hotel we didnt face any issues. The breakfast was ok and the chef cum shuttle driver was very helpful and warm.The rooms were clean and big and same wih the washrooms. As such an average hotel wnd we spent are 3nights here without any hassles.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGeneralManager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Your feedback is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

Best regards,

Helen Hayes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hotel staff was great; really nice... except for one shuttle driver in the evening who neither spoke nor opened any doors for us, also flipped another driver off.

But everyone else was soooooo nice!
Room was great except for shower curtain which slips to middle, leaving water on the floor on both sides.
Breakfast was great and coffee was good (which I really appreciate).
Really hard to find first time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poncedar J, Manager at BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
To our valued guest:

Thank you so very much for your kind words and compliments; and thank you for taking the time to complete the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 301-459-1000 .

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Poncedar Johnson

Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Pros: Great location, room is clean, breakfast is good, smoke free
Cons: poor wireless signal, pool has a strong smell of bleach.
Overall will come again. There are restaurants nearby such as Goodies or Red Lobster.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poncedar J, Manager at BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
To our valued guest:

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 301-459-1000 .

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Poncedar Johnson
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanham
0.4 mi away
Metro Points Hotel - Washington North
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Lanham
Days Inn Lanham
#2 of 4 in Lanham
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Washington, DC - Lanham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
1.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New Carrollton Landover
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway

Address: 5910 Princess Garden Parkway, Lanham, MD 20706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Lanham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lanham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and BookIt.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Capital Beltway Hotel Lanham
Best Western Hotel Lanham
Best Western Lanham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Capital Beltway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.