We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Might be different for NFL but overall a major disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fed Ex Field

Fed Ex Field
Redskin Way, Landover, MD
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Attractions in Landover
Type: Sports Complexes, Sports
Attraction details
East Norriton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Might be different for NFL but overall a major disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I attended an international friendly soccer match between Man United and Inter Milan at FedEx. I was shocked this stadium was built in the last 20 years.

Pros: the new jumbo led screens are nice but just about every stadium has them now.

Cons: Parking is horrible. $40 to park about a half mile walk from the stadium; the entrances are not at all efficient. Got there 1.5 hours before game time and not much of a crowd was there yet (because of horrendous traffic to get there) but security had a hard time letting people in because there were only a few lanes open to let people in. Once inside the concourses are very narrow and the lack of mens rooms causes all kinds of congestion in the concourse. At halftime I got my son a beverage and it took us literally 10 minutes to go about twenty feet to the entrance to our section because it was wall to wall people who couldn't move. (And they didn't sell the top ring that they normally sell for NFL). the seats felt like they were made by the Little Tikes company, cheap hollow plastic, no cup holders, not a lot of leg or elbow room. The stands are not steep enough to view the field. Granted, the stadium wasn't made for soccer but I can't imagine you can see the NFL field either in its entirety because the stands aren't very sloped, people were constantly having to stand up to see which was annoying for me and made it impossible for my 10 year old to see anything. Our seats were 14th row a little right of mid field, so I intentionally chose 14 rows up because in most stadiums that ensures a full view but it was far from it. The concessions were weak choices, all fast food style no local flavors or anything unusual or appealing (burgers dogs, pizza). Very little beer selection and prices were just as high as other stadiums that offer a lot more.

Getting out of there was a nightmare because of the narrow concourses and lack of open gates again. Can't imagine the traffic, we walked the 2+ miles to the hotel. For a modern stadium, FedEx is awful. I can see why ESPN ranked it 32nd (dead last) among NFL stadiums. It is the poorest modern stadium I have been in. Might be more fun for an NFL game but that would be because of the team and the atmosphere, ranking just this building, it's not worth the ticket prices by any stretch.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    12
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia,Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“WEEK 16 DAL-WAS GAME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Remarried better 1/2 after 25yrs of separation and took her to her 1st game. She loved it and I loved it even more for that reason. Loved the atmosphere. Sat 2 rows from the field at the endzone. The WAS fans were great! BIG D FOR LIFE BABY! Didn't like the fact that her pouch had to be thrown away (only see-thru zip-loc bags) or that I paid for parking in both tix (Snyder has this added into the tix) even though we didn't use parking (would have to pay double).

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groove City
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice Stadium”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Redskins-vs-49ers. We were treated to box office seats (club level-lofe or lobe - one of the two). They were excellent seats. The food was okay and then again I am a little of a picky eater. Drinks were good and they took care of you. The level was clean. Get there early enough for parking.

Getting to the club level taking the escalators was crazy. Take the elevator although there is a wait because you can't operate the elevator, an attendant does all the work. That part I didn't really care for, however it's better than the escalators.

If you are a true redskins fan, you would like this stadium.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A brilliant, exciting evening out with terrific atmosphere and great great fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I went with my two kids (21 & 18) during our two week holiday in Washington to see the Redskins vs Philadelphia Eagles. For three 'Brits' who've only seen American Football occasionally on TV, this was a really exciting event. The atmosphere was brilliant and although the rivalry between the teams was intense, the mood was ever congenial. The FedEx stadium staff were very helpful and friendly. Despite being in the upper tier (block 425) the view was excellent. Public transport (Meteo) to and from the game was very good. A real highlight of our holiday. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Redskins v Steelers Pregame”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Attended Redskins v Steelers pregame in August 2013. This was my first visit to Fed Ex Field. We had 50 yard line seats in the 6th row. 50% of our group supported the Steelers and 50% supported the Redskins. The fans were fairly well-behaved (not too many obnoxious drunks in our section) and the seating arrangement puts the fans fairly close to the action. It was interesting to see so many couples divided in their loyalty between the teams. The food was good, but why won't anyone serve chili with their hot dogs?

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fed Ex Field also viewed

Been to Fed Ex Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fed Ex Field, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.