We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical clean and comfortable Courtyard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott New Carrollton Landover

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott New Carrollton Landover to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott New Carrollton Landover
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8330 Corporate Drive, Landover, MD 20785   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Landover
Hudson Valley
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Typical clean and comfortable Courtyard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Stayed here in a King room for about 8 days. The rooms were well kept, clean and comfortable. The wireless internet access was quick and easy.

I didn't east breakfast here so I cannot say, but it was not cheap, though you could spend as much at say a local IHOP.


The bathroom was clean and comfortable, with good towels and always restocked with the small toiletries.

My only problem was that these rooms do not have a microwave. I called in advance to have one made available (as it says you can), but when I arrived, there was not to have. I was told I would have one placed in my room when it was available, but it didn't happen until I called the front desk a few days later.

But, I would recommend this place as a reasonable priced, clean and comfortable place with a friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    38
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
32
29
9
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NEW YORK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Excellent hotel with friendly and very helpfull staff . Located close to Metro Station for tripping into DC. Security is good. Can't say a bad thing about this hotel. A good base for sightseeing in DC.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

This hotel is very easy to get to by car. Just follow the "New Carrollton Station" exit signs on I-95 or US 50 and then turn onto Corporate Drive. The free parking combined with the proximity of the Metro station were the main reasons why l selected this hotel for my visit to DC.

Check in was efficient. Check out was fast too, to the point that I suppose I could've just left the keys in the room, but I saw nothing to indicate as such. The invoice was slipped under my door during the final night of my stay. I think my total interaction with the staff here was about two minutes for my entire stay, and that was fine with me.

The room was very clean. The bed was soft; I prefer a firmer one but I think I'm maybe in the minority here. Pillows were plentiful but not very supportive of my big head. They deformed into a useless wedge shape too easily. Wired internet access is available for free, but bring your own ethernet cable. They supply one in the closet but it's only a couple of feet long. I did a couple of speed tests and maxed out at about 300kbps download and 300kbps upload. It is sufficient for light web browsing and email.

The place was generally pretty quiet. I could hear guests in the hall and in the parking lot, but never heard any people or TVs in rooms beside me. There were rare instances of train whistles, helicopters, and highway noise (e.g. truck engine brake or loud tires) sometimes audible in the room. The fridge had a "snooze" mode in it which shut off the compressor for eight hours at the press of a button. This is a great idea, though the cabinet that the fridge was in deadened much of the noise already.

The TV is of the CRT variety and it had a decent selection of channels, though I thought its volume control had too big of a gap between notches, especially 0 and 1 (too loud). The desk and table didn't seem well suited to the chair that was provided. I'm over 6' tall but I could not get the chair up high enough to make using the desk or table comfortable with a laptop.

I make a habit of leaving the "do not disturb" sign on my door since I do not need service during a stay that is less than a week. This prompted housekeeping to leave a bag of clean towels and toiletries hanging on my door for a couple of days. A nice gesture, but not needed. I heard housekeeping knocking on doors as early as 8 am.

The attraction of this hotel is the short walk to the New Carrollton Metro Station. It is a mostly flat walk with sidewalks that are in good shape and crosswalks with signals. If you're visiting DC then you'll be walking a lot anyway, so just plan on that ten minute walk to and from the Metro. They will operate the hotel shuttle van to the station, but it's not going to be much faster than walking.

The ride on the Orange Line train from New Carrollton to Federal Triangle station in DC is about a half hour. I specifically made a point to avoid Metro during rush hour (left after 9 and returned after 6) and never had a hard time finding a seat.

There is nothing in the immediate area but some low rise office buildings, the Metro station, and a Subway restaurant in one of the office buildings across the street. The Subway doesn't appear to be terribly inviting from its location in the office building, but it is open to the public. The neighborhood is walled in on the east and south by highways and by train tracks on the north and west. If you don't have a car on your trip then this hotel might not be a good choice for you. Annapolis Road is close by which has a bunch of fast food restaurants, gas stations, a supermarket, and a CVS. Take US Route 50 east off of Garden City Dr, take the immediate exit onto MD 410, then take the second right onto MD 450/Annapolis Rd.

If you are driving down to the DC area (or perhaps flying into Baltimore Airport and renting a car) and want a place to spend a few nights with close access to the Metro without being gouged on parking fees, this is an excellent location to consider.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington KY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

We stayed in this Courtyard by Marriott in June 2009 - purpose was vacationing to tour Washington DC- This hotel had several plusses:
1. Close to metro station (New Carrollton) - healthy people can walk it- maybe 10 minutes) or hotel provides free shuttle service - also appreciated!
2. Rooms were excellent- bedding super comfortable! Clean and always neat each day when we returned- no complaints here.. amenities fine- linens, coffeemaker, hair dryer, iron and board- etc. all great! Also free papers -USA TODAY & Wall ST. Journal daily.
3. Staff very pleasant and helpful- all good so far... now for the areas needing improvement! - Dining room was the big disappointment- terribly understaffed- We ate dinner there 2 nights due to bad weather and not willing to metro back in to DC- in a dining room seeting right at 50 people- ONE SERVER on duty to cover the whole room! I felt very sorry for this woman- she did the very best she could given the circumstances- i hold the management responsible for the slow service- and the breakfast buffet could have been better- the food was good - just not hot! and we did not arrive at the very end of the breakfast time either!
4. SUGGESTION- increase the size and choices of food/other pharmacy items of the "Market shop" given that there is nothing close to this hotel- no grocery, restaraunt or pharmacy in close walking distance. It is right in the middle of many office buildings-

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

My wife and I stayed here Valentines day for 3 days, to spend in DC. If you are driving, to visit DC, Its excellent. If you are taking train also great, cause the Metro and Amtrak is nearby. If you are flying in, well, its abit our of the way of the airports, Dulles and Reagan but also well worth it because of the reasonable rates.
Only 10 mins away from the Heart of DC. I booked a 2 day tour of DC through the Old Trolley, which was great. We drove into Union Station, parked there for $17 for the day, and hopped on the Trolly for the day. Tony, one of our tour drivers, was fantastic. But thats for another review..Ample parking at the hotel, buffet breakfast, we spent $25 for two and well worth it, I thought. The first night after coming back, we wanted some midnight snacks and ordered from a local deli. They have some good recomendations... and menus.. They didnt serve dinner in the dining room during the weekend, but you could order food in. We went out for a nice dinner at Mar de Plata, in Dupont Circle...

The hotel is very clean, the rooms are nice, and very clean, the beds real comfortable, we had king size, plush seally... tv, and free internet access, they provide everything.

The room had a small refrig, iron, blowdryer.. The staff was really nice, friendly and we had no problems. After this I was going to stay again, on our way back from Florida, but because of the some unexpected things that needed our attention, we went back straight home. I would definately stay there again, I joined the Marriott rewards and look forward to staying at the marriott from now on....

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

We stayed here for 4 days during the inauguration of President Obama. The price was steep $519.00 per night.... but less than those in the city of DC. It is a shame all the hotels used the opportunity during this awful economy to take advantage of the public on such an historic occasion. The address of the hotel comes up Hyattsville MD in the Garmin GPS so that was bit confusing since the Marriott Hotel Website gave the city as Landover MD. We called the hotel for clairification. The staff was friendly and the hotel was modern and very clean. It did not have the Plasma TV and the rooms were tight . The hotel is located very close to the New Carrolton Metro train station and the Hotel staff dropped us off and picked us up from the station very timely and was very courteous. This made it easy to get around the crowded city of more than 2 million during this event. There is a charge for Breakfast at this location although I thought $519.00 should have included breakfast. I would stay again and recommend to family and friend.

  • Liked — Very good location to Metro Station.
  • Disliked — The price.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

The good: The hotel is very reasonable. It is close to the Metro and the Amtrack station plus it has a shuttle which is nice. The rooms are clean and I didn't sniff an odor like the other reviewer. The bad: The staff was either great or horrible. There are no restaurants within walking distance so make sure you have a car. Also the "free breakfast" is $10.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott New Carrollton Landover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott New Carrollton Landover

Address: 8330 Corporate Drive, Landover, MD 20785
Location: United States > Maryland > Landover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Landover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott New Carrollton Landover 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard New Carrollton Landover Hotel provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. This hotel in Landover, Maryland features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. providing guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Visit the Washington Convention Center, Six Flags America and FedEx Field while staying at our Washington DC area hotel. We also offer a well-equipped fitness center, indoor pool, 24-hour business center and a boarding pass printing service. For business meetings and events, the Courtyard Landover hotel offers 3 meeting rooms, 1250 sq. feet of space and on-site exhibition space. Find room to roam at the Courtyard New Carrollton Landover hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott New Carrollton Landover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott New Carrollton Landover Hotel Landover
Courtyard Landover
Landover Courtyard
Landover Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott New Carrollton Landover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.