We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, The Great, and Why You'd Avoid"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express La Plata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express La Plata to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express La Plata
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6860 Crain Highway, La Plata, MD 20646 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Plata
D.C. Metro (Maryland side)
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“The Good, The Great, and Why You'd Avoid"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Let me start by saying that with hotels there are two things that mkae a hotel a hit or a miss, Service and cleanliness! This hotel was a big hit with both.

The Good - The cleanliness. Overall it was a clean hotel, nothing dirty, everything in it's place, and a pleasant atmosphere. It is not a place you walk into and say OMG look how new and shiny this place is, but it is definitely good. The rooms were stocked nicely, the sheets were clean, and I got 6 pillows instead of my usualy request for 8.

The Great - The Service. The entire staff seemed dedicated to making sure that every need or desire (appropriate ones) were met if within their power. Despite the hotel being completley booked, they were able to make me feel like my wife and I were the only people there. We also got the room with the jaccuzzi right in the bedroom! Seriously, a holday inn express that has a jaccuzzi right in the bedroom so you can bath and watch tv to your hearts content! I will make sure whenever I am in this area I stay at this hotel! Definitely a place worth going to for enjoyment.

Why You'd Avoid - Location Location Location. The Hotel is right across the street from a sheriff station and a jail. While it is true most criminals want to be as far away from cops as they can, it still creates a slightly uneasy feeling. Don't get me wrong, I am definitely going to stay at this hotel again, but I think if this makes you uneasy, you should know.

Overall a great experience. The staff was amazing, was willing to give great recomendations on what to do, or eat, or whatever. Thank you for renewing my faith in small town Holiday inn expresses. Gosh I love the pancake makers!

Room Tip: Get the Jaccuzzi room! SOOOOOO worht it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    9
    4
    9
See reviews for
21
4
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westbrook, Connecticut
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This holiday inn express is a great place to stay. We stayed here this past weekend attending a wedding in the area. It is in a good location with plenty of places to eat around it. The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms were spotless.We asked for a room with 2 queen size beds and not only did we get that the room also had a couch with a pull out. For just an ordinary hotel we were very pleased with our stay here. they also offer a good breakfast in the morning with plenty of choices complimentary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel was very easy to find on what seems to be a main strip and is located among many shopping malls. It was recently renovated. The front desk staff is very nice, friendly and helpful, both the evening and morning person. Breakfast was hot, plentiful and varied. Very pleased and will definitely be back. The room was comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The Holiday Inn Express in La Plata, MD is just off the main road through the county (301/Crain Road) which, if going south, goes all the way to the toll bridge into Virginia (maybe a 20 minute drive), and if going north, will take you up to the routes towards the beltway around Washington, DC (probably a 45 min drive).

The hotel is nice and looks like most well kept Holiday Inn Expresses. Large lobby, small pool and gym, and meeting areas. It isn't as large as other HIE's we have stayed in, but even so, the rooms were amazingly large. We had a king room, which came with a sleeper sofa. The bathroom had a walk-in shower (no door, you just step in and walk a few steps to the shower), which might be ideal for anyone who has trouble getting in and out of a shower.

The hotel is near all kinds of shopping, restaurants, and a short ride to historic La Plata. It is good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Finally there is a HIE in this area. I stayed here on business in mid-August and was pleasantly surprised how nice the property was. This hotel is $20-$25 less expensive than the hotels that are in Waldorf, plus the hotel is brand new and everything looks nice and fresh. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

They have completed a top notch renovation at this location. Our rooms were beautiful. Slept awesome! Quiet air conditioner. White fluffy towels & plenty of them. Good shower head. Cookies in the lobby & 24 hour coffee (good coffee too, not that weak hotel coffee) & tea service. Military discount too! There are plenty of restaurants on Crain Highway. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manheim, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in May 2012 while we were in the area for the Warrior Dash. Excellent customer service at the front desk. The room was larger and more comfortable than we expected! We stayed in the room with another couple, and felt like there was more than enough room. The pool was refreshing and when the hot tub was working, it was relaxing. The only frustrating part of our stay was when we were returning from the Warrior Dash there was NO Parking since 2 wedding receptions were taking place. The girl at the front desk actually offered to move her own car since we were paying guests. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express La Plata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express La Plata

Address: 6860 Crain Highway, La Plata, MD 20646 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > La Plata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in La Plata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express La Plata 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express La Plata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn La Plata
La Plata Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express La Plata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.