We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little dumpy looking but the food was great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marie's Diner

Marie's Diner
6325 Crain Hwy, La Plata, MD
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 52 Restaurants in La Plata
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A little dumpy looking but the food was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The place needs a face lift both inside and out. However, it was clean and comfortable. The service was good and the food was excellent.

The portions are huge. The pancakes are the size of a hubcap but good. Also get a biscuoit. I am not a biscut person and I loved them. Also my omlete was fantastic so get one of those as well.

Totally worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Little place big on taste.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I've only ever eaten here for breakfast, and it's my favorite place for their "fill the plate" blueberry pancakes. They literally fill the place. I can only ever eat one because these pancakes are mammoth! The are also delicious. Their chipped beef is very tasty, the country ham is delicious and their french toast is very filling. If you want a good breakfast and don't want to break the bank, visit Maries! I need to try them for dinner soon!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“I always thought breakfast was impossible to screw up..but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I now know the impossible is actually possible. Found the eggs tasted odd and the grits watery (must be Instant). Not a good experience. Decent coffee. The one good quality was the friendly and good attitude of the server.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, Maryland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Portion size Unbelievable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Based on a friends recommendation, We went after church one Sunday. The wait was horrific and we need to it back n a less busy day! The food was classic diner food including the largest pancakes ever! Even had perfectly cooked grits, eggs and sausage which I enjoyed but my wife found too "greasy"! Only negative was that the place was loaded with flies and that was a turnoff.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, WV
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really good Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Looks rough on the outside, but we had a great breakfast. Chipped Beef Gravy! Just fine for a diner. We are going to come back for lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marie's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Marie's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marie's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.