We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Dorado Restaurant

El Dorado Restaurant
316 E. Charles Street, La Plata, MD 20646
301.934.3970
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 52 restaurants in La Plata
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

El Dorado in LaPlata, Maryland is a great restaurant with the most friendly staff. Never had anything I did 't like and the staff is always welcoming and attentive.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    24
    8
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good not excellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Great service! Monday night was not busy, food was just good. Everything covered in cheese. Store bought taco shell not hand fried fresh. The chili relleno and the marg. were perfect. Everything else was salty.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Based on a recommendation from a local relative, we tried the Spanish dishes: they were delicious and more satisfying than any Mexican or Tex-Mex we have eaten in CA or TX. Competent and friendly waiter, white tablecloth, and well-prepared food. This is a hidden gem, we will return when in the area.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food near the Port Tobacco Players theater.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Good Mexica/Spanish food at reasonable prices. Nice atmosphere. Service can be a little slow at times, depending on how many staff took the day off.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandywine, Md
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“La Plata's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I read the previous reviews and took the plunge. What a wonderful restaurant. The food is excellent. Far beyond the standard Mexican fare. The Spanish dishes are superb. The restaurant was practically empty when we went, but the service was fabulous. I cannot urge everyone in the Washington Metro area enough to come and check out this place. I know everyone in our party will definitely return.
-Outstanding Chicken Quesadillas for an appetizer.
-Salmon stuffed with Crabmeat - delicious!!!
-Seafood Paella - to die for!!!!
-Chicken Breast stuffed with Spinach, Mushrooms, Green & Red Peppers - OMG

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Dorado Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Dorado Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Dorado Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.