We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Day on the River” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River & Trail Outfitters

River & Trail Outfitters
604 Valley Road, Knoxville, MD 21758
888-446-7529
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 attractions in Knoxville
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: River and Trail Outfitters of Knoxville, Maryland has been family owned and operated since 1972. River and Trail offers guided and unguided white water and mellow water rafting, tubing, kayaking, canoeing trips as well as biking hiking, climbing and cross-country skiing in the historic and scenic Harpers Ferry, WV area. We also sell new and used canoes, kayaks and paddling accessories located in our shop. Check out our website for details on our various trips, ranging from our Paddle N Wine Tour to our Team Building
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Great Day on the River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We took our four children out for a day tubing on the Shenandoah River. Setting up the outing was easy and we had no problems. The day was a little bit overcast, so the crowds may have been lower than for a sunny day. A bus runs all day (10 AM to 5 PM) to take you to the river entry from which you drift 1.5 miles back to the lace where you park. We also did a combo deal where you can kayak or canoe. If you come there are not many picnic tables, so plan on bringing you own food and chairs, tables, etc. to use for picnicking. The changing areas and bathrooms are also primitive, so be prepared. The changing area is a tent separated into two areas by a wooden wall with benches and the bathrooms are port-a-johns. We made a reservation, but they are very loose about it. You can show up most anytime and get on the bus with your tube. Not fancy, but a lot of fun.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverTrailManager, Manager at River & Trail Outfitters, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Slenker,

Thanks for the helpful feedback! I'm glad you had a great day on the river. I hope you are able to bring your family back soon!
-John Gonano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    22
    7
    2
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Bumping down the river”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Antietam Creek tubing: We drove over 200 miles for this adventure and would not do it again. First we were told they leave at 1015am. we did not leave the pick up until almost 1130am. The wait was not to horrible if you stayed in your car, so bring a book! The directions to the field are spot on. However, the bugs are unbearable. There is about 6 porta potties at the field. the ride is uneventful to the put in place but it is a difficult entry steep, slippery and on an embankment. The "guide" will help you in and another will get you into the water. However, the level was so low we were spending as much time getting"unstuck" from the rocks and trees. NOTE* there are cup holders on the tubs that will hold the 20oz bottle size and does not have a hole; it is all canvas, but no worries the first bump you will have a seat full of water to sit in the whole time. Wish they had a family tour and no family tour some kids enjoyed screaming and fighting four hours. Another negative was that they held us up at one point to wait for everyone. with about 72 tubes on the river about 8 feet wide it got very crowded and felt like bumper boats. the exit place is even worse then the put in spot. the guide was there to help with the final steep part. The lunch was good and they were efficient in getting everyone served. Another thing I wish they would incorporate is the guides talk about the area, river or other things throughout the adventure. we did get one interesting fact on one of the bridges. The "guides" are only there to assist in entrance, exit, getting unstuck and lunch. That is the extent of the guide portion. The main guide did have a sense of humor when we were around him. I think the company should give a notice on their webpage about how low the river was. It was VERY slow and LONG day we got back to cars about 530pm and there is no place to change out of wet clothes. Would be nice if they offered a tent for changing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverTrailManager, Manager at River & Trail Outfitters, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Tere,

Thanks for all the constructive comments. We will certainly use them to improve our product. One correction- the advertized trip time is 10:45- not 10:15. We ask customers to arrive at 10:15 for check in. Please come back and we will do our best to earn 5 stars!
-John Gonano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellport, New York
1 review
“The Guides make all the difference!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great trip with great guides. Allison, the tour guide was the best, and so funny. I wish I could remember our raft guide's name but he was young and so experienced. He managed to give us a thrill that I don't think we would have gotten on any other rafting trip. The owner of this place must take great pride having this kind of talent working for the company. I recommend this tirp for sure and it's 4 hours of non stopy fun!!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverTrailManager, Manager at River & Trail Outfitters, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We are so pleased you had a great trip! It sounds like the guide did everything we ask them to do with 1 exception: make sure the customer knows your name!

Please come back and see us!
John Gonano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, New York
1 review
“Great Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Went last week with my 2 boys. First time white water rafting for us. We all enjoyed it immensely. The day was picture perfect. teh river and surrounding natural scenery were beautiful and we had the best guide, Jake R., who was very knowledgeable on local history and animal life which was very interesting for me but more importantly, he knows like no one else how to manuever the raft which made it a blast for my boys.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverTrailManager, Manager at River & Trail Outfitters, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Nathan,

You are right , Jake is a great guide and super asset to our company! Glad you had a good time. Please come again. -John Gonano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great hosts for a bachelorette party!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I was part of a group of 10 girls who went to Harper's Ferry for a bachelorette weekend, where the main event was whitewater rafting with RTO. We all had an awesome time, not simply because it was a fun adventure, but more so because our guides were so personable and fun to spend a few hours with rafting down the Shenandoah. We all couldn't stop talking about how fun everyone we came into contact with was. Our driver, who provided transport to and from our hotel, recommended that we ask for Johnnie and Jason to guide out rafts for the trip. That ended up being fantastic advice because these 2 guys were so much fun. They took great care of us, and were super professional, leaving us with no reason to worry about the adventure we were on. We definitely wish we were staying to do more!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverTrailManager, Manager at River & Trail Outfitters, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I heard about this group! Our company motto is, "It's their (the customer's) day!" It sounds like you had a good one! Thanks for commenting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River & Trail Outfitters also viewed

Harpers Ferry, WV
Purcellville, Loudoun County
 

Been to River & Trail Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River & Trail Outfitters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added River & Trail Outfitters to your Saves list