We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a must to stay at, but be prepared to climb a half mile up hill if on a bike.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry to your Saves list
HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry
19123 Sandy Hook Road, Knoxville, MD 21758   |  
Hotel amenities
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“This is a must to stay at, but be prepared to climb a half mile up hill if on a bike.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

The front desk was fantastic and super helpful. We booked a private room for the night, and were coming off of the Great Allgheny Passage after quite a day of riding from Williamsport, MD.

The hostel was clean and quiet. No tv that I could see. Internet available in the common area. Breakfast was included in the cost as was the linens and bath towels.

The standout for this property is the peace and quiet. They offer camping, but for the price pay the extra and get a bed.

LOVE this place! We ride the Great allegheny Passage and the C & O Towpath each year and have heard of this hostel. This was our first time to try it out and we will be back next year. O! Checkout time is 11am where as other hostels are before 9am for checkout.

BTW, I got a better night's sleep here than at the hotel the night before.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
3
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
baltimore usa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

I have stayed at this hostel twice.Once while hiking part of the Appalachian Trail.And once while bicycling down the C&O Canal Towpath. Both times the HI Harpers Ferry Hostel provided a great place for a well deserved rest.

Since many of the guests are hikers or bikers , its a great place to exchange information about the trails.Especially if they are going the oppisite way as you .Its also conveniently accessable to both trails.

Its basicly a clean and comfortable no frills hostel with friendly staff.My only complaint is that there is a "lock out" period during the day. But i understand that they must do this since they do have a tight budget .And at $20 a night it is a bargin.I have been to 22 other hostels and this one was one of the cheapest.

It also has a computer with free internet access.This is rare . In most hostels they charge for internet time.

I defintly will stay here on my next bike trip on the C&O Canal.

If you are staying there my best advice is to hike up Maryland Hieghts.Its Marylands highest mountain and offers a great view of Harpers Ferry.It also has the remains of a Civil War fort on top of it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

This place is comfortable and roomy and management is helpful. The full kitchen is good and well marked on the cupboards for finding utensils and condiments. The included breakfast consists of pancakes, coffee and juice. It makes an affordable and sensible alternative to the expensive places actually in Harpers Ferry, especially to hikers and bikers on the C&O Canal. .

Location: Another fellow and I shared the high price ($3.49) of a dozen eggs at the super expensive mini-store around the corner for a non-pancake breakfast. Other nearby businesses are a liquor store and gas stations. There is also one restaurant, called Cindy Dee's, where I choked down a pretty awful fish sandwich for lunch. Supper was somewhat better with the overdone pork chop for supper.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

This international hostel does not photograph well so I was not expecting much. But it was excellent. It was homey throughout with many unexpected niceities such as toiletries and hair dryer in the women's room, plenty of towels and a made up bed. The women's rest room is in the dorm room so there is no going down the hall to use the facilities. There were hooks where needed, bureau drawers available. The living, dining, kitchen combo was large and a nice gathering place for guests to visit and share travel tips. Travel literature was available. The hostel is built on a bluff overlooking the Potomac River, 2 miles from Harpers Ferry National Park and the train station. There is a commuter train to Washington DC so this hostel is in an especially good location to visit many places other than Harpers Ferry. It would be easy to spend several nights here and travel to many sites. Antietam Battlefield is an easy day trip. The hostel manager lives on site and was very welcoming. Steve helps out and his suggestions on routes made my visit richer. I stayed three nights going one day to Washington DC, but could easily have used this hostel as a destination for a week. Very reasonable rates. You do have to be out during the day.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry

Address: 19123 Sandy Hook Road, Knoxville, MD 21758
Location: United States > Maryland > Knoxville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.