We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOSTEL IN THE AREA!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry

Save Saved
You added HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry
19123 Sandy Hook Road, Knoxville, MD 21758   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“BEST HOSTEL IN THE AREA!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at the HI Harpers Ferry Hostel recently with over 100 scouts and a dozen counselors. We had the whole place all to ourselves and it was a great experience for all. We set up 15 ten man tents for the kids in the yard and had a great view of the Potomack river from the hostel's location in high ground.

In addition to the location, the one thing that makes this hostel special if the attentive and personal service of Manager Loretta. Although we were such a large group she was there 24/7 to make sure all of our needs were being met.

If you are in the area or hiking on the trail, make it a point to stay here at least one night. You will not regret it, rather you will enjoy it. Free food, free wi-fi and a small convenience store on property for any snacks or drinks.

Room Tip: If you want privacy ask for one of the two private rooms. If you are setting up a tent, pick a locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
2
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I went to Harper's Ferry for the weekend with my friend and we stayed at the HI- Harper's Ferry hostel for all three days we were there. We got a private room for a great price! The hostel was clean, and the staff was fantastic and very friendly! They treated us just like family! Loretta cooked us a wonderful meal in the evenings and even stayed up a little later to let us in after the ghost tour. (They close their doors at 10pm) The only negative of this place is that the fastest way there from town is walking down a road with no sidewalk at night. We were told though that there is a hiking path that connects to the canal trail so we could have had that option if we chose to hike a bit longer. I would stay at this place again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We had a private room near the kitchen. (It's the family room) If you choose this room and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Chose to get away from DC with my girlfriend for the weekend and needed a cheap place to stay. The Harpers Ferry Hostel was a great place for our short stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. I called and was able to reserve a private room for only $40.00 which is a great price. The Hostel is clean with a friendly atmosphere and perfectly located on the C&O Canal and close by to the Maryland Heights Trail and other Harpers Ferry trials and attractions. They had a free pancake breakfast in the mornings, offered dinner options (for a small $5 donation), free internet and a relaxing common area that felt just like your living room. Only negative is since they don't staff the Hostel 24/7 they do close their doors at 10:00 so if you do go out to another town for dinner or a drink make sure to be back before they 10:00. Overall a great, cheap, friendly and comfortable stay that will be visited again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

drove from Dulles to here at 11pm Thursday night.Easy with GPS. Driveway entry is ( from Dulles) upward left turn through gates. Large flat car park at rear , with grassed flat yard. Can see the rivers from the rear property boundary. Very clean inside, great modern sperate toilets. Good kitchen & lounge. Twin bunked room was sufficient for 2 people. Short drive to Harpers Ferry village

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I'm surprised to see that others enjoyed this hostel--I was treated like a second class citizen during a stay here as a camper and it was the worst treatment I've ever received. I highly recommend you go to the Brunswick Family Campground instead (http://www.brunswickmd.gov/campground.htm) which seemed lovely and was much closer to the C&O trail! I had to pay $5 to use "bathroom facilities", but in reality this meant I could take one shower. Every time I tried to use the facilities afterwards, a staff member essentially guarded the door and questioned me. Their rationale was that it was too crowded, but the bathroom was empty! We were forced to use a disgusting port-a-potty that had no hand sanitizer and smelled awful, and a garden hose was our sink/water supply. The sanitary conditions were definitely questionable. The worst part about the whole place was how poorly we were treated--the staff was rude and refused to let us come in despite a mixed message on the door. As someone who respects the place they stay in, I was horrified.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Beware camping at this hostel. You are not welcome generally. You can pay for bathroom access, but soon after doing this the staff decided that they would only allow us to use the bathroom once, although we were not previously informed of this policy. Apparently this is their new policy because they changed their signs the next morning to say that you only get to use the bathroom once. We were a clean group of middle-aged cyclists. Otherwise you have to use a port-a-john outside, with no sink. So you are not getting your money's worth when you pay for the bathroom. Overall the staff were rude. Getting to the hostel walking or biking is dangerous because it is at the top of a steep hill and is on a busy, winding road with fast driving trucks and cars. The yard also has a ton of no-see-ums. Generally very unpleasant place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

I've stayed in quite a few hostels in various parts of the world and this is one of the ones that seems to have remained true to the original hostel spirit. .

1) ,The manager is very welcoming and helpful. (can't mention her name to give credit since you aren't allowed to mention names onTripAdvisor, unfortunately)
2) , it is in a rural setting and very quiet.
3) It has a very nice kitchen/common area. You can cook your own dinner here. There is only a small convenience store nearby with no much in it so you might want to bring things to cook if you're going to eat there. If you didn't bring any food the hostel does have a few items for sale such as mac & cheese & ramen soup.
4) Free pancake breakfast in the morning. -- if you like pancakes, that is.
5) Free WiFi and internet computer.
6) No TV! -- This is a huge plus. (Sadly, some hostels have put in a television and it generally completely ruins the atmosphere. A hostel is all about meeting other travelers, but once a TV is on, all conversation stops. ) Hats off to the hostel management for saying NO to television!

You can walk to the Harper's Ferry National Historic Park, a town that is sort of an indoor/outdoor museum of the revolutionary war / civil war era. It is two miles down the Appalachian trail.

There is also tent camping at the hostel. BUT, if you camp there you are not allowed to use the hostel facilities. This seems strange to me since the whole point of staying there is being able to enjoy the hostel and meet other travelers staying at the hostel.

We stayed in a private room which cost $45 (plus $5 extra for non-members). This seems like quite a lot for a hostel. But it is still worth it since it's a completely different experience than an impersonal motel.

The dorm, priced at $18 (member rate) is quite reasonable if you're a single traveler and don't mind sharing a room.

Although the focus of hostels has traditionally been young people, people of all ages are welcome.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry

Address: 19123 Sandy Hook Road, Knoxville, MD 21758
Location: United States > Maryland > Knoxville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Knoxville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI Knoxville Harpers Ferry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.