We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B! Relaxing, nice ambiance, pleasant, host, owner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antietam Overlook Farm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Antietam Overlook Farm to your Saves list
Antietam Overlook Farm
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4812 Porterstown Rd, PO Box 30, Keedysville, MD 21756   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Keedysville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Elkridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Outstanding B&B! Relaxing, nice ambiance, pleasant, host, owner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is one of the best B&B we ever stayed - 5 stars all around, fireplaces in room/dining room, country room, tub, nice/delicious breakfast, breathtaking view, nice owner/innkeeper. We enjoyed watching football championship with the owner, Mark, his friends and the guests. It was like a happy family and football party even though we just met everyone. We plan to return!

Room Tip: My daughter and I stayed in the Gardenview room with king bed, fireplace, and tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    15
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
82
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had a wonderful weekend here. Michelle, Mark And Tina are terrific people who make you feel like old friends. Breakfast was 3 courses of wholesome comfort food complete with dessert! The room was comfy with a screened porch n soaking tub. The sunset view from the main porch off the common room was stunning. Fridge is stocked with drinks and wine. Coffee bar was nice in the morning. Peaceful, relaxing getaway. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

From the moment we entered the gate and drove up the driveway, then saw the view, we could feel ourselves begin to relax. Then we met Michelle, the innkeeper, and felt even better. She is so outgoing and friendly and immediately makes you feel like a longtime friend. She showed us around the lovely home, which was beautifully decorated for the fall season. Tina, the gal responsible for keeping the place clean, was as busy as ever tidying up our room since we arrived early to take advantage of the gorgeous day. It's all about having a good time here and that we did. There were ten of us staying the last night, all different ages and backgrounds. We sat around the fire that Michelle had built, some sipping wine which is graciously provided, along with beer, soda (or pop if you're from Pittsburgh!) cider, coffee,or tea. We had a blast laughing, sharing funny stories, and just kicking back and relaxing. It was the most fun we've ever had at a bed and breakfast.

Some previous guests were put off by the stinkbugs that were quite prolific upstairs because of the warm fall weather. These guys just wanted to come in and enjoy the ambience, too. This is no fault of the innkeepers because they did everything they could to get rid of them. Once the weather gets cooler, they'll be long gone much to everyone's relief.

Michelle and Tina work very hard to prepare and serve a hearty breakfast and see that everyone is satisfied. That speaks volumes to couples like us who stay at B&Bs because they usually are so much friendlier than a hotel. Anything we needed, we just had to ask. Our room was always very clean and tidy. The towels were thick and plentiful, and the sheets soft and comfy. We both enjoyed a soak in the tub after a long day of sightseeing. Michelle's recommendations for restaurants in the area were spot on. We totally enjoyed Bistro 112 and the Press Room in Shepherdstown along with Dan's Restaurant and Tap Room in Boonsboro. Visiting Antietam Battlefield is a must and for wine lovers, Breaux Winery was very nice. Nutter's Ice Cream shop in Sharpsburg serves up the biggest cones we've ever had. Yum!

We had a lovely two-night stay in the Overlook Room. We walked around the beautiful grounds, sat in the Adirondack chairs looking out on the magnificent views, and enjoyed the company of Michelle, Tina, and the other guests. We came to relax and unwind and this B&B totally fit the bill.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Park, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Good:
We were accepted "off the street" when another reservation elsewhere went awry, the owners showing a degree of trust not often found in today's world. Free access to drinks, snacks and coffee, etc. available 'round the clock. Great views of the battlefield in the valley down below seen through that particular day's rain and fog. A nice wood fire to ward off the day's and evening's chill. Adequate, but overly herbed breakfast (to my taste preferences, anyway, and not offered a choice of preparation)

Bad:
Way too much owner/innkeeper interaction with guests that lasted into the early morning hours. No advice to some guests to tone down their long and raucous game play which lasted until we chose to retire when sound levels diminished by their moving farther from the sleeping area. I had the feeling that the owner/innkeeper overslept the next morning, as our anticipated 9:00 breakfast was finally served around 10:00, far too late if guests would happen to have plans for excursions that day. We had anticipated a quiet evening which was not to be. Our lumpy bed and low quality linens made for a restless night's sleep, as did a lack of heat through what was a chilly night and morning. (Did not want the in-room gas fireplace running through the night) No closet available in this particular room.

Ugly:
The owner asked if we had noted an odor in our room which had been noticed the past couple of days. I stated that I was aware of it. He came in, sniffed around the drains and under the tub, declared he didn't think it was septic field odor as none was found in other rooms, and then stated "It might be something dead in the walls," a non-reassuring thought from any point of view. If they were aware of this odor, the room should not have been assigned until the cause was known and removed. This was an absolute turn-off to thought of ever returning to this inn. Conversation through the evening included accounts of the owner's cat catching and crunching cardinals and rabbits, with no thought being given to the sensibilities of their guests. We were quite taken aback while realistic of animal behavior. It just seemed a subject that would be better off avoided. A final note: their decor included a toy bunny with its foot caught in a mousetrap found at the end of the couch in the great room.

The cost of all this: $230.00 including tax, money that would have been better spent elsewhere.

It was an unusual B&B experience by any standard, certainly not up toe Select Registry expectations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
202 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Nice place, good location, nice rooms. But 2 issues. I agree with one of the other reviews about the timing of breakfast. 9AM is a little late for those that would get going a little earlier. I prefer an earlier time and/or a range of times. And it didn't get started until 9:15. The bigger problem was an issue they were having with bugs. They mentioned, but downplayed it. It was a bigger issue. And bugs are one thing I am not interested in dealing with when staying in an inn or hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I had stayed here once while dating and chose to return and spend our 1st anniversary here as well. Best decision we could have made! This place has it all: breathtaking views for miles, delicious/creative breakfasts, charming rooms, romantic sunsets (from the outdoor hot tub or garden-side benches), and -- best of all -- a staff that will leave you feeling COMPLETELY taken care of. Michelle, Tina and Mark provide the perfect balance of world-class service, down-to-earth warmth and friendliness and that all-important "they've thought of everything" feeling. Their attention to detail is impeccable -- handwritten notes, tailored breakfast ingredients, hand-ironed bed sheets, big fluffy towels, a huge selection of complimentary beverages (alcoholic and non-), flashlights to explore the property or simply make your way to the hot tub at 3am, thoughtful suggestions for what to do in the area, manicured landscaping, and the list goes on...

You really should stay 2 or more nights to fully enjoy everything offered by this B&B and what surrounds it. If you choose to stay on-property the entire time, there's plenty to do and it doesn't get any more calm, peaceful or relaxing than this. If you venture out, you can do like us and enjoy biking along the C&O canal and through charming little towns, touring historic Antietam, Shephardstown and Haper's Ferry, visiting local shops (where the shop owners are all super friendly), and dining at some fun and tasty spots.

We had an amazing weekend here and their long list of favorable reviews are well-deserved. Thanks Michelle, Tina and Mark, for making our 1st anniversary so fun and memorable. We'll see you again and look forward to sending more friends and family up your way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Antietam Overlook Farm is a luxurious way-station for you and your loved ones to stay, sigh at the view and just get away from whatever is ailing you.

We came in a family group and stayed in three of the rooms. We were catered to and pampered. We were treated like family. They even let us cook in their kitchen and serve a meal we procured from the farmer's market.

Our youngest stayed in the hot tub most of the time. Other enjoyed chess and other games in the large living room.

Breakfast was generous and tasty. The rooms were wonderfully appointed and comfortable.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we are already contemplating a return. We liked it that much.

Room Tip: Talk to the innkeepers about what's important to you. A view? A bathtub? Then have them choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keedysville
5.3 mi away
Bavarian Inn
Bavarian Inn
#1 of 3 in Shepherdstown
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
6.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Shepherdstown
Comfort Inn Shepherdstown
#3 of 3 in Shepherdstown
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
Econo Lodge Harpers Ferry
#1 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Charles Town
12.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charles Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antietam Overlook Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antietam Overlook Farm

Address: 4812 Porterstown Rd, PO Box 30, Keedysville, MD 21756
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Keedysville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Keedysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Antietam Overlook Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Antietam Overlook Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antietam Overlook Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.