We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On top of the world in a loving embrace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antietam Overlook Farm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Antietam Overlook Farm to your Saves list
Antietam Overlook Farm
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4812 Porterstown Rd, PO Box 30, Keedysville, MD 21756   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Keedysville B&B and Inns
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“On top of the world in a loving embrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Antietam Overlook Farm is a luxurious way-station for you and your loved ones to stay, sigh at the view and just get away from whatever is ailing you.

We came in a family group and stayed in three of the rooms. We were catered to and pampered. We were treated like family. They even let us cook in their kitchen and serve a meal we procured from the farmer's market.

Our youngest stayed in the hot tub most of the time. Other enjoyed chess and other games in the large living room.

Breakfast was generous and tasty. The rooms were wonderfully appointed and comfortable.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we are already contemplating a return. We liked it that much.

Room Tip: Talk to the innkeepers about what's important to you. A view? A bathtub? Then have them choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    13
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
63
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bergen County NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Antietam Overlook Farm is everything the previous reviews said...Great location, rustic charm, comfortable,friendly staff and generous amenities, but a couple of things leave a sour taste in my mouth. The first is the breakfast. We were told 9ish, which is late for those of us who like to get up early and go, but we could live with that except by 9:30 there wasn't any indication that we would have breakfast anytime soon.All the guests were left waiting in the great room. We were finally served and breakfast service was over about an hour later. Way too late.
The second thing really bothers me. I have been to inns and b&bs where there is an envelope discreetly left if one wishes to leave a gratuity and I do so if I feel the service is exceptional. Here there was an envelope which asks us to remember the housekeeper, breakfast server and chefs/innkeeper. It says that gratuities are a substantial part of their income. Really? Shouldn't the innkeeper pay them a decent wage so that they do not have to ask their guests for money? Include a service charge if you must, but don't ask me to provide for their income.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and greatly enjoyed the great breakfast, views, and location of this most beautiful farm. I would have given a higher grade but a few things needed to be corrected. First they have free drinks but the gin was empty and I reminded them about it and it was not filled for 2 days. The abundant bird feeders were also empty and the windows in our room would not stay up. I tried to get something to keep the windows open and failed. The screened in porch was a great hit and it let in fresh air so we did not need the AC. I would try to get the upstairs room because if your below; you can hear foot steps.

Room Tip: Get the upstairs room if you do not like to hear people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Loved this place! Everything about it. Location and views in beautiful part of Maryland are exceptional. Accomodations were also exceptional. Very roomy and most comfortable. Great breakfast served in outdoor screened porch...also with great views. Very helpful staff. Close to historic Antietam battlefields. Would definitely go back...am already looking forward to doing so.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful farm for just one night. We wish we could have stayed for a week. Warm and friendly staff and great rooms. The house is yours. Make yourself at home. Bountiful breakfast. Just love this place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a beautiful B&B in a beautiful landscape. Shepherdstown is a great nearby town for restaurants and the arts. The Overlook room was large but cozy, with a great porch and tub. The rest of the inn is also inviting, and you can ask for assistance but also see to your own snack, drink, reading, and entertainment needs if you wish. Michelle and Tiny are great conversationalists and the property is perfectly maintained. We loved our stay and hope someday to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Words can not express how delighted my husband and I were! Mark, Michele and Tina were very accommodating! The breakfasts served every morning were very ample and relaxed. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The sunsets were breathtaking and the grounds are great for bird watching. The inn is so close to many site and restaurants.

Room Tip: The garden room has a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Antietam Overlook Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antietam Overlook Farm

Address: 4812 Porterstown Rd, PO Box 30, Keedysville, MD 21756
Location: United States > Maryland > Keedysville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Keedysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Antietam Overlook Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Antietam Overlook Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antietam Overlook Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.