We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antietam Overlook Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Antietam Overlook Farm to your Saves list
Antietam Overlook Farm
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4812 Porterstown Rd, PO Box 30, Keedysville, MD 21756   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Keedysville B&B and Inns
Durham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights and greatly enjoyed the great breakfast, views, and location of this most beautiful farm. I would have given a higher grade but a few things needed to be corrected. First they have free drinks but the gin was empty and I reminded them about it and it was not filled for 2 days. The abundant bird feeders were also empty and the windows in our room would not stay up. I tried to get something to keep the windows open and failed. The screened in porch was a great hit and it let in fresh air so we did not need the AC. I would try to get the upstairs room because if your below; you can hear foot steps.

Room Tip: Get the upstairs room if you do not like to hear people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    13
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
4
63
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Loved this place! Everything about it. Location and views in beautiful part of Maryland are exceptional. Accomodations were also exceptional. Very roomy and most comfortable. Great breakfast served in outdoor screened porch...also with great views. Very helpful staff. Close to historic Antietam battlefields. Would definitely go back...am already looking forward to doing so.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful farm for just one night. We wish we could have stayed for a week. Warm and friendly staff and great rooms. The house is yours. Make yourself at home. Bountiful breakfast. Just love this place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a beautiful B&B in a beautiful landscape. Shepherdstown is a great nearby town for restaurants and the arts. The Overlook room was large but cozy, with a great porch and tub. The rest of the inn is also inviting, and you can ask for assistance but also see to your own snack, drink, reading, and entertainment needs if you wish. Michelle and Tiny are great conversationalists and the property is perfectly maintained. We loved our stay and hope someday to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Words can not express how delighted my husband and I were! Mark, Michele and Tina were very accommodating! The breakfasts served every morning were very ample and relaxed. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The sunsets were breathtaking and the grounds are great for bird watching. The inn is so close to many site and restaurants.

Room Tip: The garden room has a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

The place is idealic,and so restful. The bed was really comfortable (something important for those of us with bad backs). Food was fabulous and it was especially nice to be able to sit out on either our room porch or the common porch with a glass of wine or some brandy in the evening. Loved the company and the cat who loved to be petted even though he wasn't allowed inside. Location was close enough to town and the battle grounds but still far enough away that you were out in the country way far away from tour groups and crowds. It really made our Antietam experience wonderful and I would stay there again in a heart beat!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Antietam Overlook Farm does just that: overlook the battlefield that was Antietam. The view is spectacular, even if you are looking down at the site of a bloody skirmish over 150 years ago. We didn't tour the site as it was very hot that week.
But the inn was wonderfully peaceful. Once we got off the main highway it took us about half an hour to reach it, and the roads made us question, "what did we sign up for?" It was pretty out in farm country.
But once we got there we were very surprised and pleased. Our innkeepers made us feel quite at home, and our room was well-appointed, even if it didn't have television (which we didn't miss). In fact, none of the rooms had televisions. There was a parlor with games, books, magazines, coffee and complimentary alcoholic beverages. Yes, that's correct. We had beer and liquor at our disposal (found a great beer called Top Hat that way).
Anyway, the room was right by the main entrance, but it was quiet, as the first two nights we had the ten-room place to ourselves. More people arrived by mid- and week's end, but they were quiet as well.
The breakfasts were delicious, and we could eat them in the main dining room, on the rear porch, or even our room's patio.
There's also a resident cat called "Mr. Meowsers," who has a really throaty meow. We were warned not to let him in, as he has his own little "room" outside. And there were hummingbird feeders with the little creatures hovering about everywhere!
For a wonderful restaurant try "The Press Room" in Shepherdstown just 20 minutes away. Great brick-wall atmosphere, cozy tables by the front windows, and Ingling beer (my new favorite). Seafood and Italian dishes are great. The town is home to Shepherds College. Nice coffee houses and shops. Harper's Ferry is another 20 minutes away, and is a world unto itself, brimming with Early American history.
If you want a lot to do, try Baltimore. If you want to do some introspective musing with Mr. Meowsers, I heartily recommend Antietam Overlook Farm.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antietam Overlook Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antietam Overlook Farm

Address: 4812 Porterstown Rd, PO Box 30, Keedysville, MD 21756
Location: United States > Maryland > Keedysville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Keedysville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Antietam Overlook Farm 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Antietam Overlook Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antietam Overlook Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.