We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst stays ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8000 Washington Boulevard, Jessup, MD 20794   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Jessup
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the worst stays ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I echo the sentiments of other reviewers concerning safety. I stayed here a week and noticed trailor park types hanging outside, staring at customers and their cars.

I decided to park out front. I was amazed at the stories I heard about non customers hanging in the stairwells near elevators. Some homeless people hung out near the front parking lot and this was early morning.

My own experience--I was assigned a room on the third floor in the back. I heard (and when I looked outside my door, saw) the police come to the 3rd floor twice because of two drunk white men being loud, had his big tan dog scare people and run amuck without a leash (red roof supposed to have a weight limit to allowed pets--I will contact corporate); yelling swear words, telling details of his stories that no one wants to hear though you can hear through your wall. My room was near a stairwell near some out of place diner and I could hear these dirty drunkards from the other length of the floor. The front desk staff doesnt do any thing because they're scared of half the customers.

If you do stay here do not stay on the 1st or 3rd floor; your sleep will be disturbed nearly every night and your safety threatened by trailor park who mark the floors with foul behavior like its gang territory. I think the other reviewers are right these people live here because they ACT like it---the hotel is THEIR home and other guests don't have any rights to safety or peace and quiet after payong hard earned money for a service. This is totally unacceptable. You can tell the manager ONLY cares about money. This location severely tarnished Red Roof Inn's brand image. Do not stay here. If you have to use some points go to the BWI Red Roof or the one in Laurel between Cherry Hill lane and the exits to 295 south.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingTheorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI187MGR, Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your response. I am sorry to hear that you did not have the experience that our guests have come to expect from our hotel. The safety of our guests are our top priority and I will investigate to find out what happened to cause you to be checked into an occupied room and will ensure that this is corrected for the future. I will also be sure to share the rest of your comments with our front desk staff as a training tool to improve our service. We appreciate you choosing us and hope that you will give us an opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Thank you,

Raneeka B.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bryan, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Originally I booked a stay here for a whole week based on the reviews of other travelers -- it looked decent enough. When I checked in there was someone paying their "rent" in the lobby. The first floor had a couple of units where the people were milling around outside with several small kids -- one had a tricycle and some outside toys. Overall, I had the impression that people lived here. The room itself was recently remodeled but smelled heavily of cigarette smoke and alcohol. It smelled like someone had spilled a bottle or two of cheap wine though I could not find any evidence of it. We had requested a fridge and a microwave that were both in the room. They were clean but very small. There was not a coffee pot or a hair dryer in the room. I'm not sure if this is typical of this chain or not. The morning we checked out, there was a man lingering in the walkway who approached us about buying a GPS from him -- when told no, he asked for money -- when told no, he moved on to another person leaving the hotel. When I checked in, I paid for 6 nights -- stayed 1. When I checked out, the office staff did not give me any grief about refunding the nights I did not use. This experience may be due to the area of Jessup, MD -- I am not sure as this was my first trip to the area; however, based on this experience, I most likely will not stay at this chain again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrs_bdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI187MGR, Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your response. I am sorry to hear that you did not have the experience that our guests have come to expect from our hotel. The safety of our guests are our top priority and I will investigate! We do have guest that stay long term at our property, most are very friendly and harmless, and this has come to be their temporary home. I will share your concerns and the rest of your comments with all my staff as a training tool to improve our service. We appreciate you choosing us and hope that you will give us an opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Thank you,

Raneeka Boulhassane
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jessup hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed here over one weekend. It was a terrible experience. She has an odd wide eyed crazy look and stares at each person as if she hates her job and doesn't want to wait on you. She was incompetent and had no answers for any questions regarding amenities, change for money, lack of supplies in the room. Her response was rude and condescending thinly veiled arrogance even though SHE was unorganized and ill-prepared for the guests. My stay would've been fine if she was NOT the front desk person.

Lots of ghetto men bothering random guests.

Prison on 175, how fitting.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelnihilist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI187MGR, Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
I appreciate your concerns, and I truly apologize for the experience you had here, I’m sure the front desk person may have meant well, but unfortunately it fell below your standards and for that I truly hope you except my apology on behalf of my entire staff.

It is always our number one priority to satisfy our customers and deliver exceptional customer service.

I have taken some additional training steps to avoid this from happening with you or any other valued guest that stay with us. I hope to not lose you as a guest.

If you would like to speak with me further about this situation please feel free to contact me via email or at the property.

Sincerely,


Raneeka B.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

After staing at the extended stay down the road and experienced the terrible service from Shazi we moved here.. I just love it. nice, clean, friendly staff but most of all quiet thanks to the concrete build its worth not having a kitchenette!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tkillas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI187MGR, Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Red Roof Inn, In Jessup, MD We always enjoy hearing about the positive experiences our guests have at our hotels.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, I hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Raneeka B.
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

i travel alot due to my profesion and this is the best redroof inn i stay in. My check in was nice and fast. Delmy was very pleasant and extremely profesionala lways had a smile on her face that could light up the whole lobby. Delmy walked me to the procces if checking in. The location of this hotel is great. The staff is very friendly i would stay here again the rooms a large and clean. Once againg thank you Delmy you are the best. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joquintanilla85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI187MGR, Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I am so glad to hear you had a great experience at our property. It's always a pleasure to hear when one of our staff is able to deliver exceptional customer service and really make a guest happy. I'll be sure to let Delmy know how much you appreciated her service.I sure this will encourage her to keep up the good work.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again the next time your travel plans bring you to our area!

Thank you,

From Management and Staff,
at Red Roof, Columbia / Jessup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I'm glad I read the reviews about this red roof . My check-in was nice and fast. I'm sorry I didn't get the young lady name who checked us in . Very pleasant young lady. I was pleased with my room. This is my first time staying at the newly renovated red roof. I traveled with 4 kids. The. Bed was very comfy. I would choose this inn again. I love the fact that there is not a carpet anymore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teadrinker64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI187MGR, Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay. As a brand, we have listened to our guests and designed our rooms to meet and exceed their needs.

I will be sure to share your feedback with the staff as encouragement them to keep up their good work. We look forward to you next stay with us so we can continue to meet and exceed your expectations.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I had a free pass to the Red Roof Inn for the evening. I stopped at several of thier properties several of which were highly non satisfactory! However, This property in Jessup had a wonderful staff ...as i was close to home i didnt really have to stay but they were so polite and accomodating that i was more then happy to spend the night at this location. Large rooms, clean, friendly and safe...One of the best hotel experiences I have had with this chain! And PET FRIENDLY!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI187MGR, Manager at Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post such a nice review about our hotel. I am glad you liked our nice, clean newly renovated rooms and the experience you had with our helpful staff.

By your kind words you are helping others to make a good decision about staying with us also during their travels.

Thank You,

Raneeka B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jessup
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Columbia Jessup
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Columbia Gateway
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbia East - Jessup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn Jessup
Sleep Inn Jessup
#2 of 8 in Jessup
4.0 of 5 stars 51 reviews
5.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore - Washington DC/BWI Airport
Red Roof PLUS+ Baltimore - Washi...
#10 of 29 in Linthicum Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn near Ft Meade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade

Address: 8000 Washington Boulevard, Jessup, MD 20794
Location: United States > Maryland > Jessup
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Jessup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Washington DC - Columbia / Fort Meade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Jessup
Jessup Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing